High Court of KeralaDivision BenchWrit Appeal dismissed.

V. Moidu v. State of Kerala

Case / Petition Number:WA No. 2992 of 2007

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • K. Balakrishnan Nair
  • P. N. Ravindran
Judgment Date
2008-01-08
Court Decision / Holding
Writ Appeal dismissed. The court held Rule 90(7)(a) valid and recoverable amounts must be repaid; there was no intervention against recovery given the statutory ineligibility and lack of mitigating circumstances.
Final Disposition
Writ Appeal dismissed.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • V. Moidu

Respondents

  • State of Kerala
  • The Accountant General, Indian Audit and Accounts Department, Office of the Accountant General (A & E), Thiruvananthapuram
  • The Accounts Officer, Indian Audit and Accounts Department, Office of the Accountant General (A & E), Thiruvananthapuram
  • The Branch Manager, Central Bank of India, Chombala Branch, Kozhikode

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri Kaleeswaram Raj

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri N. Manoj Kumar, Special Government Pleader
  • • Sri V. V. Sidharthan

Case Synopsis & Summary

This writ appeal concerns the constitutional validity of Rule 90(7)(a) of Part III, Kerala Service Rules, which bars family pension to a widow/widower if the employee has another living spouse. The appellant, a retired headmaster, had his first wife (Susheela) die in 1996; she had nominated him for family pension. After becoming eligible, he began receiving pension through the Central Bank of India. When the Accountant General objected in 2003, the pension payments were stopped; representations were lodged but the government later declared him ineligible to receive family pension. The petition challenged the rule as violative of Article 14, claiming it was arbitrary and discriminatory against Muslims who may have a second marriage under personal law. The petitioner argued that pension rights constitute property and cannot be denied except by valid law, and that recovery of already-paid pension should be avoided as paid in good faith. The learned Single Judge rejected the challenge and permitted recovery; the High Court, while noting the welfare basis for family pension and the procedural requirements for bigamous marriages under Rule 63, upheld the rule’s constitutionality. It ultimately held there are no special mitigating circumstances to prevent recovery, and the amount already paid (approximately Rs. 3,19,059) must be returned. The appeal was dismissed, preserving the restriction on pension and the recovery order.

Provisions of Law Cited

Rule 90(7)(a) of Part III, Kerala Service Rules (K.S.R.)Rule 63, Chapter XIV-C of the Kerala Education Rules (K.E.R.)Article 14 of the Constitution of IndiaArticle 300-A of the Constitution of India

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that he, as a Muslim, is entitled to a second wife, and Rule 90(7)(a) which bars family pension when a living spouse exists is arbitrary and discriminatory, violating Article 14 of the Constitution. He argues that pension is a property right conferred by the Rules and can only be deprived by valid law, not by an invalid rule. He asserts that the already-paid pension cannot be recovered since it was received in good faith; recovery would impose hardship given his age and health. He relies on AP Court judgments such as N.D. Namboodripad v. Union of India and Babulal Jain v. State of M.P. to argue against recovery, and cites Krishnakumar S.P. v. Guruvayoor Devaswom and Aleyamma Varghese to support limited recoveries, though contends that these cases do not justify withholding in this instance.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents defend Rule 90(7)(a) as a valid limitation on the payment of family pension, intended to prevent misallocation and preserve social welfare. They argue that pension is a creature of statutory rules and subject to their conditions; even if the rule causes inconvenience, Article 14 is not violated as the State may treat the living-spouse condition as a rational classification. They assert that the government’s permission regime (Rule 63) governs bigamous marriages and the recipient’s obligations, including recovery of amounts paid contrary to law when no entitlement exists, and that the decisions in Santhakumari v. State of Kerala support recovery of excess payments from public funds.

Cited Precedents (5)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
N. D. P. Namboodripad v. Union of India(2007) 4 SCC 502Mentioned OnlyCited to illustrate reliance on Supreme Court decisions; court did not adopt its holdings in the present case.
Babulal Jain v. State of M.P.(2007) 6 SCC 180DistinguishedAcknowledged as a guiding principle in some contexts; court distinguished the facts and allowed recovery in this case contrary to the broad rule in Babulal Jain.
Krishnakumar S.P. v. Guruvayoor DevaswomILR 2007(1) Kerala 699Partly Overruled / LimitedNoted that recovery may be allowed generally, but not on the particular facts of that case; the present court limits its application to its own facts.
Aleyamma Varghese v. Secretary, General Education Department(SC) 2007(3) KLT 700Mentioned OnlyCited as a Supreme Court decision on proportional recovery after many years; not applied to alter the outcome here.
Santhakumari v. State of Kerala(2005) 4 KLT 649PositiveCourt states that this decision supports recovery of excess payments from public funds.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against V. Moidu v. State of Kerala and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT : THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE K.BALAKRISHNAN NAIR & THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE P.N.RAVINDRAN TUESDAY, THE 8TH JANUARY 2008 / 18TH POUSHA 1929 WA.No. 2992 of 2007() --------------------AGAINST THE JUDGEMENT IN WPC.34879/2005 .................... APPELLANT: PETITIONER: ---------------------- V. MOIDU, RETIRED HEADMASTER, VEEROLI HOUSE, CHOMBALA P.O., KOZHIKODE, PIN-673308. BY ADV. SRI.KALEESWARAM RAJ RESPONDENTS: RESPONDENTS: ------------------------- 1. STATE OF KERALA, REPRESENTED BY SECRETARY TO GOVERNMENT, DEPARTMENT OF FINANCE, SECRETARIAT, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM. 2. THE ACCOUNTANT GENERAL, INDIAN AUDIT AND ACCOUNTS DEPARTMENT, OFFICE OF THE ACCOUNTANT GENERAL (A & E), M.G. ROAD, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM. 3. THE ACCOUNTS OFFICER, INDIAN AUDIT AND ACCOUNTS DEPARTMENT, OFFICE OF THE ACCOUNTANT GENERAL (A & E), M.G. ROAD, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM. 4. THE BRANCH MANAGER, CENTRAL BANK OF INDIA, CHOMBALA BRANCH,KOZHIKODE. - BY SRI.N.MANOJ KUMAR, SPL. GOVT. PLEADER. SRI.V.V.SIDHARTHAN. THIS WRIT APPEAL HAVING COME UP FOR ADMISSION ON 08/01/2008, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: ## K.BALAKRISHNAN NAIR & ## P.N.RAVINDRAN, JJ. ----------------------------------------- ## W.A. NO. 2992 OF 2007 ----------------------------------------- ## Dated 8[th] January, 2008. ## JUDGMENT ## Balakrishnan Nair, J. The main point that arises for decision in this writ appeal is the constitutional validity of Rule 90(7)(a) of Part III, Kerala Service Rules. 2. The facts of the case are the following: The appellant is the writ petitioner. He was a pensioner, who retired from service on 31.3.1990, while working as the Headmaster of an L.P.School. His second wife Smt.Susheela retired from service as the Headmistress of the very same school. While she was a pensioner, she died on 19.5.1996. She had nominated the petitioner, her husband as eligible for receiving family pension. On her death, the petitioner applied for family pension and the same was sanctioned to him. He was receiving the pension through the Central Bank of India. While so, the Branch Manager of the said Bank, by Ext.P2 communication dated 10.11.2003 informed him of the objection raised by the Accountant General regarding the payment of pension. This WA No. 2992/2007 2 was preceded by Ext.P3 communication issued by the Accountant General's office, informing the Branch Manager to stop the payment of pension to the appellant. The appellant, thereafter filed Ext.P5 representation before the Accountant General, detailing the circumstances under which he received the family pension. He prayed for payment of the pension, which was stopped from December, 2003. The appellant, thereafter moved this Court by filing W.P.(C) No.22516/2004. The said writ petition was disposed of by Ext.P6 judgment, directing the Accountant General, the respondent therein to consider his representation. Pursuant to the said judgment of this Court, the Accountant General's office informed the appellant that the payment of family pension was stopped, as he was having another wife living. He was also informed that the Government have been moved for further action in the matter. The Government by Ext.P9 order dated 27.12.2004, ordered that the appellant is ineligible for drawing family pension. The Accountant General forwarded a copy of that order and informed the appellant that the amount paid to him towards family pension between June, 1996 and November, 2003, which will come to Rs.3,19,059/-, is proposed to be recovered from him. He was asked to represent, if he has got any objection against the same. The Accountant General, later, overruling the objection of the petitioner, decided to recover the amount paid to him, as evident from WA No. 2992/2007 3 Ext.P10 communication addressed to the Branch Manager of the Bank. In the above background, the writ petition was filed, challenging the validity of Rule 90(7)(a) of Part III, Kerala Service Rules, which stood in his way of receiving the family pension. In the writ petition the petitioner, the appellant herein also prayed to quash Exts.P2, P3, P7, P8, P9 and P10 and also sought consequential reliefs. The learned single Judge who heard the writ petition, repelled the challenge of the writ petitioner against Rule 90(7) (a) of Part III, K.S.R. The learned Judge also declined to interfere with the impugned orders. Hence this Writ Appeal. 3. The learned counsel for the appellant firstly submitted that the appellant being a Muslim, is entitled to have a second wife. So, the Rule which provides that a living wife will stand in the way of getting family pension in respect of a deceased wife, is arbitrary and discriminatory. Therefore, the same violates his fundamental rights under Article 14 of the Constitution of India. So, the appellant prays for striking down the offending provision in the said Rule. Secondly, it was submitted that the right to receive pension is the right to receive property. The same can be deprived only by a valid law. The same cannot be deprived on the basis of the above invalid Rule. Thirdly, it was contended that in any view of the matter, the amount paid to him cannot be recovered. It was paid in good WA No. 2992/2007 4 faith and it was received in good faith. There is no fraud or misrepresentation from his part. Owing to the present physical condition of the appellant, it is impossible for him to repay the amount which was paid to him in monthly instalments. In support of this submission, the learned counsel for the appellant relied on the decision of the Apex Court in **N.D.P.Namboodripad v. Union of India** [(2007)4 SCC 502]. It was a case where the Apex Court interdicted the recovery of the excess amount paid to the deceased appellant from his legal heirs. The learned counsel also relied on the decision of the Apex Court in **Babulal Jain v. State of M.P.** [(2007) 6 SCC 180]. It was a case where excess payment was made while allowing higher pay to the appellant therein, on misconception of law and not due to any mistake, mis-representation or fraud from the part of the appellant. The Apex Court in the circumstances of the case, prohibited recovery of the excess amount paid to him. The learned counsel further referred to the decision of the Division Bench of this Court in **Krishnakumar S.P. v. Guruvayoor Devaswom** [I.L.R. 2007(1) Kerala 699]. In that case also, though this Court laid down that the excess amount paid can be recovered, did not permit recovery on the particular facts of that case. Lastly, the learned counsel relied on the decision of the Apex Court in **Aleyamma** WA No. 2992/2007 5 **Varghese v. Secretary, General Education Department** [2007(3) KLT 700 (SC)], where recovery was sought to be made of excess amount paid after the lapse of more than 15 years. The Apex Court prohibited the recovery. The learned counsel for the appellant submitted that there is no fraud or mis-representation from the part of the appellant. Even assuming by a mistake of law he applied for family pension, the same cannot be treated as a fraud. In support of the said submission, the learned counsel relied on the words of the learned author Kerr in his book “Law of Fraud and Mistake”. 4. The learned Government Pleader, on the other hand, relied on the decision of this Court in **Santhakumari v. State of Kerala** [2005(4) KLT 649], wherein it was held that if the employee has received any amount contrary to a statutory provision, the same is liable to be recovered. 5. Rule 90(7)(a) of Part III, K.S.R reads as follows: “(7) The contributory family pension will be admissible:-- (a) in the case of widow/widower upto the date of death or remarriage whichever is earlier and when the widow/widower has not another husband/wife living at the time of death of the employee.” The appellant is trying to condemn this condition imposed for receiving family pension, as grossly arbitrary and unjust and therefore, violative of WA No. 2992/2007 6 Article 14 of the Constitution of India. The burden is heavy on the person who attacks a statutory provision, as violative of Article 14 of the Constitution. It is true, it is causing some inconvenience to the appellant and disables him from receiving pension. Even assuming his second marriage is lawful in terms of the Family Law, the contraction of a second marriage is prohibited, unless permitted by the Government, by Rule 63 of Chapter XIV-C of the K.E.R. The said Rule reads as follows: “63. Bigamous Marriages:--(i) No teacher who has a wife living shall contract another marriage without first obtaining the permission of the Government, notwithstanding that such subsequent marriage is permissible under personal law for the time being applicable to him. (ii) No woman teacher shall marry any person who has a wife living without first obtaining the permission of the Government.” The appellant does not have a case that before contracting the second marriage, neither he or Smt.Susheela obtained permission of the Government as contemplated under Rule 63. Family pension to the dependent members of the family was introduced as a social welfare measure. The said benefit can be availed only subject to the stipulations in the Rules governing the grant of the same. Therefore, we find that the challenge made by the appellant that the said Rule is ultra vires of Article 14 of the Constitution of India, is plainly untenable. WA No. 2992/2007 7 6. Pension is a property at the hands of the pensioner. Pension due to a deceased pensioner may be property at the hands of his legal heirs, which they can claim as of right. But, the right to get family pension after the death of the pensioner, is a right conferred by the Rules, which has to be availed of subject to the conditions prescribed. The contention of the appellant that the family pension is a property at the hands of the family pensioner and therefore, the same cannot be denied to him, cannot be accepted. The Rules concerning family pension contain certain stipulations. The appellant can claim pension only subject to those conditions. The said conditions cannot be attacked relying on Article 300-A of the Constitution. 7. Finally, the point to be decided is whether the recovery of the amount already paid to the appellant should be interdicted. Going by the decisions cited by the appellant, we are of the view that they are decisions rendered on the special facts of the cases concerned. Further, going by the decision in **Babulal Jain'** s case (supra), it would appear that if, by the mistake of the appellant, excess amount was received, the same could be recovered. The appellant was the retired Headmaster of an L.P. School. He is presumed to know the provisions of Part III, K.S.R., as he has to clear a paper in K.S.R also for passing the Account Test (Lower), which is one of the mandatory qualifications for promotion to the post of Headmaster. Rule WA No. 2992/2007 8 90(7)(a) expressly says that the appellant is ineligible. In the face of the Rule, the appellant applied and obtained family pension. So, it is a mistake from the part of the appellant, even if it cannot be described as a fraud. Therefore, the payment received contrary to law from public funds, has to be returned by him. This view is supported by the decision of the Division Bench of this Court in **Santhakumari** 's case (supra). So, we are of the view that there are no special mitigating circumstances compelling this Court to interdict the recovery of the amount due from the appellant. He has no right to retain the public money he collected illegally. Therefore, he should return it. We find nothing illegal with the judgment of the learned single Judge, warranting interference in this appeal. Accordingly, the Writ Appeal fails and it is dismissed. ## **K.BALAKRISHNAN NAIR, JUDGE.** ## **P.N.RAVINDRAN, JUDGE.** Nm/