High CourtDivision BenchAppeal dismissed. The Court affirmed the Commis...

United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. M/s. Great Eastern Shipping Co. Ltd.

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No. 2319 of 2004
Neutral Citation:[2007] 8 S.C.R. 352

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • A. K. Mathur
  • Tarun Chatterjee
Judgment Date
2007-07-16
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal dismissed. The Supreme Court upheld the Commission’s order permitting the claim, with modification that interest should accrue from the date of the Commission’s order rather than from the date of the surveyor’s report.
Final Disposition
Appeal dismissed. The Court affirmed the Commission’s order, with modification on the rate of interest to run from the Commission’s order date rather than from the surveyor’s report date.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • United India Insurance Co. Ltd.

Respondents

  • M/s Great Eastern Shipping Co. Ltd.

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Vishnu Mehra
  • • S.N. Bhat

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Anil B. Divan
  • • Mahesh Agarwal
  • • Rishi Agarwal
  • • Gaurav Goel
  • • E.C. Agrawala
  • • Varun Mathur
  • • Neha Aggarwal

Case Synopsis & Summary

This is an appeal from a National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission order allowing a large insurance claim arising from a fire loss to sugar stored en route to up-country destinations. The respondent-importer obtained a marine insurance policy for 12,000 metric tons of sugar from Guangzhou to Calcutta, with an endorsement extending coverage to any place in India on a higher premium. After discharge at Calcutta Port, 82,237 bags were stored in Tsheds en route to up-country destinations, and a fire destroyed the stock. The insurer repudiated, contending that the extension covered transit risk only and not storage risk, and that storage losses were not recoverable absent a separate storage-risk policy. The Commission held that the extended coverage remained in force until delivery to a destination warehouse or place of storage within India, and thus the loss fell within coverage. The Supreme Court, while upholding the Commission’s quantum, modified the interest timing and dismissed the appeal. It held that the policy terms and the Institute Cargo Clauses, read in light of the parties’ evident intention and the higher premium, extend protection to storage risk until the goods reach any part of India, so long as the extension remains on the same terms as the original policy.

Provisions of Law Cited

Marine Insurance Act, 1963Institute Cargo Clause (A)Clauses 108, 102 and 2.1 of Institute Cargo Clause (A)Clause 9.1.3 (Transit clause)Extension to cover from Calcutta Port to any place in the Indian Republic (endorsement)

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Uberrimae fidei (uberrima fides)
  • Contra proferentem
  • Intention of the parties governs interpretation
  • When two reasonable interpretations exist, the one in favour of the policy-holder should be adopted
  • Extension vs renewal—meaning of ‘extend’ as enlargement/prolongation (Provash Chandra Dalui)

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The extension clause, granted on the same terms and conditions for up-country destinations, covered storage risk until goods reached any Indian destination. Reading the Institute Cargo Clause A with the endorsement, the policy was intended to protect the goods from port of loading to destination within India, including transit storage. Denial of coverage would render the higher premium meaningless. The interpretation should be pro-policyholder when two readings are possible, consistent with prior jurisprudence (Shashi Gupta, Rajgarhia).

Contentions of Respondents

Extension was for transit risk only; once goods were discharged at Calcutta Port, transit ended; storage in godowns after discharge was outside coverage unless a separate storage-risk policy existed; the Commission erred in extending coverage beyond transit.

Cited Precedents (10)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Shashi Gupta (Smt.) v. Life Insurance Corporation of India and Anr.1995 Supp I SCC 754PositiveUsed to justify adopting interpretations that favor the policy-holder when two reasonable readings exist.
Life Insurance Corporation of India v. Raj Kumar Rajgarhia and Anr.1999 3 SCC 465PositiveSupports policy-holder friendly approach in interpretative disputes.
United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Pushpalaya Printers(2004) 3 SCC 694PositiveAffirms deriving meaning from policy terms and the parties’ intention; supports broader interpretation.
Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Sony Cheriyan(1999) 6 SCC 451PositiveReiterates strict, policy-limited interpretation of insured risk.
Mis Peacock Plywood Pvt. Ltd. v. The Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.JT (2007) 1 SC 191PositiveAffirms that higher premium justifies broader risk coverage within policy terms.
Polymat India (P) Ltd. and Anr. v. National Insurance Co. Ltd and Ors.(2005) 9 SCC 174PositiveDocuments must be construed in the context; negative responses to queries should be read in light of overall terms.
General Assurance Society Ltd. v. Chandumull Jain and Anr.(1966) 3 S.C.R. 500PositiveReinforces uberrima fidei and contra proferentem notions in insurance contracts.
John Martin of London, Ltd. v. Russell(1960) Vol. I Q.B. (Com.Cr.) 554PositiveEnglish law approach on extension vs. transit and final warehouse concept.
Bayview Motors Ltd. v. Mitsui Marine and Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. & Ors.(2003) 1 Lloyd's Law Reports 131PositiveSupports extended coverage to storage up to destination.
Provash Chandra Dalui and Anr. v. Biswanath Banerjee and Anr.(1989) Supp. I SCC 487PositiveDefines ‘extension’ vs ‘renewal’ and supports interpretation of policy extension.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against United India Insurance Co. Ltd. v. M/s. Great Eastern Shipping Co. Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

._,...- A ,• # UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. V.- # MIS. GREAT EASTERN SHIPPING CO. LTD. JULY 16, 2007 ## B [A.K. MA THUR AND T ARUN CHA ITERJEE, JJ _Insurance-Marine insurance policy-For import-Storage of the goods at the_ port~Extention _of policy for up-country destinations-Destruction of_ c _[the goods during storage-Claim for insurance-Repudiated by Insurance ] Company-Taking plea that extended policy covered_ on~v _transit risk and not storage risk-Consumer Commission decreed the claim-Held: In view of the extended coverage on higher premium, the policy also covered the storage risk till the goods reached its destination-Quantum of compensation upheld-However, commencement of payment of interest modified_ D _Interpretation of Documents-Interpretation of Policy-PrinciplesHeld: Jf'hile interpreting a policy, courts should keep in view intention of parties as well as words used in the policy._ _Words and Phrases- 'Extend'-Meaning of_ E Claimant-respondent, in connection with import of sugar from China to Calcutta, took a marine insur;rnce policy from the appellant-insurer. The policy was further extended for up-country destinations in India on payment of additional amount. The sugar was tern porarily stored in T-sheds at Calcutta F[port ][en-route up-country destinations. The ][sugar ][bags got destroyed as fire ] broke-out in the shed. Respondent claimed the insurance for the loss. Insurance company appointed two surveyors who computed the quantum o~ compensation. The claim was not settled. Respondent filed complaint before National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission. Insurance Company repudiated the claim on the ground that the claim was not maintainable as G the extenstion of the policy covered only the transit risk and not the storage risk. The Commission decreed the claim ori the ground that the insurance coverage was valid till the goods were delivered to the consignees' warehouse or other final warehouse or the place of storage at the destination. Commission quantified the amount of compensation accepting the report of the surveyor. ·- ·- _t_ _I_ _:I_ r H 350 35 J U1'1TED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LID. 1·. GREAT EASTER.'! SHIPPING CO LTD -.... _>_ It granted interest @ 9% from the date of report of Surveyor. Hence the present appeal. Dismissing the appeal, the Court HELD: 1.1. While interpreting the policy, the courts should keep in view the intention of the parties as well as the words used in the policy. If the B intention of the parties subserves the expression used therein then the expression used in that context should be given its full and extended meaning. In the present case, as is apparent on reading of the Institute Cargo clause and the coverage, terms of the policy and the extended coverage, the intention that appears from these terms and conditions that the goods were first covered C from port in China, destination in Calcutta port and thereafter extended coverage was sought and in that it was extended to any part of the Republic of India. If these two terms of the policy are read in conjunction then it clearly transpires that the goods are covered till they reach the destination in any part of India. If the extended cover would not be given the policy would extend to Calcutta port. If this extended coverage is not interpreted to mean that goods D' should reach the destination in any part of India, then the extended coverage on payment of higher premium would be meaningless. The coverage was sought because the final destination of the goods was not at Calcutta port. When the coverage was extended on same terms and conditions that would mean that the goods were covered till the same reached in any part of the country in India. Since the goods were covered from Calcutta port till the same reach its E destination and they were lying on storage, that would cover the goods by the extended policy and the insurer cannot defeat the claim of the claimant that the goods once reached the destination at Calcutta, the policy stood discharged. (Para 17) (363-A, 8, C, D, E, F] F _Shashi Gupta (Smt.)_ v. _Life Insurance Corporation of India and Anr.,_ (1995) Suppl. I SCC 754; _Life Insurance Corporation of India_ v. _Raj Kumar Rajgarhia and Anr.,_ f 1999) 3 SCC 465; _United India Insurance Co. Ltd_ v. _Pushpalaya Printers,_ (2004) 3 SCC 694; _Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd_ v. _Sony Cher(van,_ (1999) 6 SCC 451; _Mis. Peacock Plywood Pvt. Ltd._ v. _The Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd,_ JT (2007) 1 SC 191; _Polymat India (P) Ltd. and Anr._ v. G _National Insurance Co. Ltd. and Ors.,_ f 20051 9 SCC 174 and _General Assurance Society Ltd_ v. _Chandumull Jain and Anr .._ f 19661 3 S.C.R 500, relied on. _John Martin of London,_ - _Ltd_ v. _Russell,_ (1960) Vol. I Q.B. (Com.Cr.) 554 and _Bayview Motors Ltd._ v. _Mitsui Marine and Fire Insurance Co. Ltd_ [2007) 8 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 352 A _[and ][Ors., ]_[(2003) Vol. ][IC.A. ][131, referred to. ] ""' 1.2. To extend means to enlarge, expand, lengthen, prolong, to carry out further than its original limit. Extension, according to Black's Law Dictionary, means enlargement of the main body; addition of something smaller than that to which it is attached; to lengthen or prolong. Thus B extension ordinarily implies the continued existence of something to be extended. (Para 71 (356-F, GI ... _Provash Chandra Dalui and Anr._ v. _Biswanath Banerjee and Anr.,_ (1989) Supp. I SCC 487, relied on. c D _The Bayview Motors Ltd._ v. _Mitsui Marine and Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. and Ors.,_ (2003) 1 Lloyd's Law Reports 131 and _John Martin of London, ltd._ v. _Russell,_ (1960) 1 Lloyd's ListLaw Reports 554, referred to. _The law Lexicon; K.J. Aiyar 's Judicial Dictionary; Black's Dictionary of Law (Fifth Edition),_ referred to. 2. The compensation granted by the Commission, cannot be said to be in any manner bad as both the Surveyors were of the appellant company and the appellant company cannot possibly deny the amount of compensation arrived at by these surveyors. However, the order of the Commission with E[regard to interest ][is ][modified. The Commission has ][granted ][interest@ ][9% ] from the date of report of the Surveyor but the said order is modified and it is directed that the claimant will be entitled to interest at the same rate from the date of the order of the Commis.si~n instead_ofthe date of report of the Surveyor. lfara 181 j364-B, C, DI F CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION : Civil Appeal No. 2319 of2004. .. From the Judgment & Order dated 27 .1.2004 as corrected/modified by order dated 30.01.2004 of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi in Original Petition No. 53 of 1996. G Vishnu Mehra and S.N. Bhat for the Appellant. Anil B. Divan, Mahesh Agarwal, Rishi Agarwal, Gaurav Goel, E.C. Agrawala, Varun Mathur and Neha Aggarwal for the Respondent. _)I_ The Judgment of the Court was delivered by H ...... - - __, UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO. LTD. 1·. GREAT EASTERN SHIPPING CO. LTD. [A.K. MAlllUR,J.) 353 _)._ .. - '"' )( A.Jq. MATHUR, J. I. This appeal is directed against the order passed A by the .National Consumer. Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi (hereiQ'after referred to as 'the Commission') whereby the Commission has allowed the claim of the respondent to the tune of Rs. 4,94,22,000/- and directed.the appellant-Insurance Company to pay the said amount with interest at the rate of 9 % per annum from the date after two months of the survey B report by the Apex Surveyors Pvt. Ltd. i.e. from 1.3.1995 till its payment. Aggrieved_ against this order of the Commission, the present appeal has been filed by the appellant-Insurance Company. 2. Brief facts which are necessary for disposal of this appeal are that the claimanHespondent is engaged in import of sugar and other items and c in connection with import of 12,000 metric tons of sugar from China to Calcutta the respondent had taken an insurance policy for which cover note dated 9.6.1994 and policy was valid from 23.9.1994 i.e. from the date of issue. The policy was further extended by endorsement dated 28.9.1994 for upcountry destinations in India. It was alleged that after taking delivery of sugar, the bags could not be transported from the dock area because of Durga Puja D celebrations and as a result of which all activities ·including transportation facilities virtually came to a stand still from IO. l 0.1994. Therefore, in all 82,237 bags of sugar were temporarily stored in T-sheds at Calcutta Port area en route up-country destinations. On 21. I 0.1994 fire broke out in the godown and destroyed the entire stock of sugar bags. Hence, a First Information E Report was lodged and the appellant-Insurance Company was also informed by the respondent. The appellant appointed _Mis._ Apex Surveyors Pvt. Ltd. on 22.10.1994. On 24.10.1994 the Surveyors wrote to the respondent asking for the books of accounts and stock register and also took the spot inspection. The appellant appointed one N.V.P. Sharma Associates Pvt. Ltd. as another additional surveyor. Since the claim was not settled by the appellant-Insurance F Company, the respondent filed the present complaint before the Commission on 21.3.1996. The appellant on 6.5.1996 repudiated the claim of the respondent. The letter dated 6.5.1996 reads as under : "The unsc j remaining bags of sugar were taken to three different private godown outside the poi premises. The fire broke out on the G 26th day after the cargo was stored. This storage was general storage other than the "in the ordinary course of transit". The case falls under Clause 108, 102 & 2.1 of the Institute Cargo Clause (a) of the policy issued, as a consequence of which transit terminated upon storage, in the T-shed and before sale and disposal of the cargo. It was H 354 [2007} 8 S.C.R. ## SUPREME COURT REPORTS ## A destroyed by the fire after the cover under the policy ceased. The risk would have been covered, if you had obtained a "Storage Risk Policy". Such a policy would have covered a loss due to fire when the goods were stored. In the absence of such a policy, the loss which occurred due to fire to the stored goods, well after the voyage and transit terminated, cannot be claimed under the above. The claim, therefore, is not maintainable." ## B The plea of the appellant-Insurance company for repudiating the present claim was that the goods were destroyed in general storage other than in the ordinary course of transit and it was also observed that what was covered C was transit risk and not storage risk. Therefore, it was held that the claim was not maintainable. The Commission examined the relevant provisions and took the view that as per the Institute Cargo clause and extended coverage to the policy on payment of additional amount, the insurance cover of the goods would be till the delivery to the consignees at the destination named therein i.e. the insurance coverage was valid till the goods were delivered to the D consignees' warehouse or other final warehouse or the place of storage at the destination. Ultimately, the Commission decreed the claim of the respondent. Hence the present appeal. .._ 3. We have heard learned counsel for the parties and perused the records. A policy was taken out which is known as Marine Insurance Policy E for import of 12,000 metric tones of crystal sugar from Guangzhou, China to Calcutta;fndia Port for which a premium ofRs.13,57,450/- was paid. It w~ also mentioned that it was subject to the clauses attached which formed part of the policy, _inter alia,_ Institute Cargo Clause 'A' (21-A). As per this policy, the ship was supposed to take the cargo from Guangzhou, China to Calcutta _p_ Port. It was also not in disj.JUte that the goods safely reached Calcutta Port on 22.9.1994. The discharge of sugar commenced on 22.9.1994 and continued up to 13.10.1994. 1,39,000 bags of sugar were transported by 274 trucks from the port to private godowns. The transportation work started on 26.9 .1994 till 10.10.1994 and it was stored at different sheds. Thereafter on 27.9.1994 a request was made for extension of insurance coverage and extension of G insurance coverage was granted on 28.9.1994 which reads as under: H "At the request of the insured it is hereby declared and agreed to extend the cover under the within mentioned policy No.01/534/94 from Calcutta Port to any place oflndian Republic. All other terms and conditions of the policy remains unaltered." > ~' . vNTEO !XOIA IXSL'RA:-ICE CO LID •·.GREAT EASTER.\: SHIPP!~GCO LTD [AK. MATHL'R. l J 355 .....,. Unfortunately, fire broke out in T-shed on 21.10.1994. Therefore, the A respondent raised a claim for loss of sugar by fire in T-shed. Relevant provisions of Institute Cargo Clause, which deals with duration transit clause reads as under: "9.1.3. On the expiry of 60 days after completion of discharge overside of the goods hereby insured from the overseas vessel at the B final port of discharge, whichever shall first occur.'' ).. I" _,., _)<_ It further says that so far as law and practice is concerned this insurance was subject to English law and practices. As per this transit clause of the Institute Cargo clause, the policy covered on delivery to the consignee's or other final warehouse, or place of storage at the destination named. therein. c It further laid down the period, that on expiry of 60 days after completion of discharge overside of the goods insured from the overseas vessels at the final port of discharge, whichever shall first occur. As per the policy, the destination was Calcutta Port, India. This policy was extended by the subsequent cover note as mentioned above and it was mentioned that the policy was extended D to cover from Calcutta Port to any other place of destination in Indian Republic and the tenns and conditions of the policy remained unaltered. 4. The submission of Mr.Vishnu Mehra, learned counsel for the appellant was that since the destination was Calcutta Port and once the goods reached Calcutta Port and the same were discharged, then the policy stood discharged E and if the goods were kept in some other different sheds then that storage is not covered. Learned counsel for the appellant submitted if the goods had been taken out and had been destroyed in transit then perhaps the loss would have been covered. So far as the present case is concerned, the goods reached the Calcutta Port and they were discharged from the vessels and they F were taken out and kept in storage in different sheds and there it was destroyed because of fire, the storage in the godown is not covered as per the original policy. According to learned counsel for the appellant the destinatio!l in the original policy was Calcutta Port and the goods were discharged and kept in storage at the risk of the respondent. It was submitted that the policy which was extended was only for transit purpose and not for G storage purpose. Therefore, the appellant rightly repudiated the claim. 5. As against this, Mr. Divan. learned senior counsel for the respondentclaimant submitted that when the coverage stood extended on same tenns and conditions and it was clearly mentioned that it would cover to any part of the H 356 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2007) 8 S.C.R. A Indian Republic, that means that the goods in storage in transit from Calcutta Port to any part of the destination would cover the policy on same terms and conditions along with the original marine policy. Therefore, the limited question that arises for consideration is whether the coverage which has been extended would cover the goods till they reached the destination in any part of the B country or not. 6. Mr. Mehra, learned counsel for the appellant has very strenuously urged and took us through the Marine Insurance Act, 1963 and tried to impress upon us that as per the terms and conditions of the policy, once the goods reached the destination i.e. Calcutta Port, the policy stood discharged C and the extended coverage does not cover the storage but goods in transit till they reached any part of the country. 7. We have bestowed our best of consideration to the rival submissions of the parties. Mr. Divan, learned senior counsel for the resp~ndent submitted that as per ·the Institute Cargo Clause, the English law and practice covers D the dispute and in that connection, Mr. Divan invited our attention to a decision in _Bayview Motors Ltd._ v. _Mitsui Marine & Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. & Ors.,_ reported in (2003) 1 Lloyd's Law Reports 131 and in _John Martin of London, Ltd._ v. _Russel,_ reported in (1960) 1 Lloyd's List Law Reports 554. He has also referred to The Law Lexicon, so as to give the meaning of the words, 'extension' and 'renewal' and also invited our attention to various E interpretation of the word, 'extension' and in that connection, he has also invited our attention to a decision of this Court in _Provash Chandra Dalui & Anr._ v. _Bisv.•anath Banerjee & Anr.,_ [ 1989] Supp. l SCC 487 , and in that connection our attention was invited at paragraph I4 which reads as under: - " 14. It is pertinent to note that the word used is 'extension' and - F not 'renewal'. To extend means to enlarge, expand, lengthen, prolong, to carry out further than its original limit. Extension, according to Black's Law Dictionary, means enlargement of the main body; addition of something smaller than that to which it is attached; to lengthen or prolong. Thus extension ordinarily implies the continued existence of - G something to be extended. The distinction between 'extension' and 'renewal' is chiefly that in the case ofrenewal, a new lease is required, while in the _case of extension the same lease continues in force during additional period by the performance of the stipulated act. In other words, the word ' extension' when used in its proper and usual sense in connection with a lease means a prolongation of the lease. H ...... )/ ,.. _y_ UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO LID. 1·. GREAT EASTER.'li SHIPPING CO LTD [AK. MATiilll J.] 357 Construction of this stipulation in the lease in the above manner will A also be consistent when the lease is taken as a whole .... " .~ He has also submitted that in case of interpretation of policy if two views are possible, then the one which favours the policy-holder should be accepted as the same serves the purpose for which the policy is taken and would be in consonance with the object to be achieved for the lives assured. 8. In support of his contention, learned counsel relied on a decision of this Court in _Shashi Gupta (Smt.)_ v. _Life Insurance Corporation of India & Anr.,_ [1995] Supp. I SCC 754 in which it has been held as follows: B > "As both the aforesaid interpretations are reasonably possible, c we would accept the one which favours the policy-holder, as the same advances the purpose for which a policy is taken and would be in consonance with the object to be achieved for getting lives assured." 9. Our attention was also invited to a decision of this Court in _Life Insurance Corporation of India_ v. _Raj Kumar Rajgarhia & Anr.,_ [1999] 3 SCC[D ] 465 wherein it has been held as follows : ..., "It is not always possible to be guided by the meaning of the words as found in the dictionary while resorting to interpret the actual meaning of a word found in an agreement between the parties. While E construing the meaning of a particular word found in an agreemel'lt between the parties the intention of the parties to the document in question wi1l have to be given necessary weightage and it is not possible to give a wider and liberal meaning merely because one of the parties to the said agreement is a public authority. While interpreting the terms of the insurance policies if two views are F possible, courts will accept the one which favours the policy-holders." I 0. Our attention was also invited to a decision of this Court in _United India Insurance Co, ltd._ v. _Pushpalaya Printers,_ [2004] 3 SCC 694 wherein it has been held as follows : G ... _)'._ " In order to interpret clause 5 of the insurance contract, it is also necessary to gather the intention of the parties from the words used in the policy. It is evident from the terms of the insurance policy that the property was insured as against destruction or damage _to whole_ or part. If the word "impact" is interpreted narrowly, the question of impact by any rail would not arise as the question of a rail forcibly H [2007) 8 S.C.R. 358 ## SUPREME COURT REPORTS A A coming into contact with a building or machinery would not arise. In the absence of specific exclusion and the word "impact" having more meanings in the context, it cannot be confined to forcible contact· alone when it includes the meanings "to drive close", "effective action of one thing upon another" and "the effect of such action"; it is reasonable and fair to hold in the context that the word "impact" B contained in clause 5 of the insurance policy covers the case of the respondent to say that damage caused to the building and machinery on account of the bulldozer moving closely on the road was on account of its "impact". Clause 5 speaks of"impact" by "any rail/road vehicle or animal". If the appellant Company wanted to exclude any c damage or destruction caused on account of driving of vehicle on the road close to the building, it could have expressly excluded the same. The insured possibly did not understand and expect that the destruction and damage to the building and machinery is confined only to a direct collusion by vehicles moving on the road, with the building or machinery. In the ordinary course, the question of a D vehicle directly dashing into the building or the machinery inside the building does not arise. Further, "impact" by road vehicle found in the company of other words in the same clause 5 normally indicates that damage caused to the building on account of vibration by driving vehicle close to the road is also included." ## B ## E 11. Our attention was also invited to a decision of this Court in _Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd._ v. _Sony Cheriyan,_ [1999) 6 SCC 451 wherein it has been held as follows : "The insurance policy between the insurer and the insured represents a contract between the parties. Since the insurer undertakes to compensate the loss suffered by the insured on account of risks covered by the insurance policy, the tem1s of the agreement have to be strictly construed to determine the extent of liability of the insurer. The insured cannot claim anything more than what is covered by the insurance policy." F ; ## G 12. Our attention was also invited to a decision of this Court in _Mis. Peacock Plywood Pvt. Ltd._ v. _The Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.,_ JT (2007) l SC 191 ·wherein at paragraph 71 of the judgment while interpreting the expression, "peril insured against", it has been held as follows : x H "Marine Insurance Act is subject to the terms of insurance policy. UNITED INDIA INSURANCE CO LID.''· GREAT EASTER.II; SHIPPING CO LID [A.K. MATHUR. I) 359 Where the insurer takes additional premium and insure a higher risk, A no restrictive meaning thereto need be given. A term of the policy must be given its effect. While construing a contract of insurance, the reason for entering thereinto and the risks sough to be covered must be considered on its own terms. " 13. A reference may also be made to a decision of this Court in _Polymat_ B _India (P) Ltd. & Anr._ v. _National Insurance Co. Ltd & Ors.,_ (2005] 9 SCC 174 wherein this Court held as follows : "The expression "factory-cum-godown" occurring in the policy document has to be read in the present context with the other conditions which appear in the policy document. In fact clause 8 of C the policies concerned specifically made a query as to whether the goods were stored in the open or there was a kutcha shed or timberbu ilt or thatched-roof building within 15 m (50ft) of the property, asking for details in this regard. But no details were given and the query in clause 8 was answered in the negative. Therefore, what was D sought to be insured was the plant and machinery. It is admitted that there was no godown. Therefore, it is clear that the goods lying outside the plant were not insured. Had the intention of the parties been otherwise, then they would have answered the query in clause 8 in positive terms, which details. But it was answered in the negative. E Therefore, the documents have to be construed in the manner they are presented and a different interpretation cannot be given _do hors_ the context." 14. Learned counsel also referred to The Law: Lexicon, to give dictionary meaning to the word, "extend", which reads as follows : F "Extend. This term has a wide variety of meanings and has been defined as follows : To prolong, to continue or continue in any direction; stretch out; to stretch out of reach; to expand; to enlarge or lengthen the bounds or dimensions or; lengthen. And it is sometimes used as equivalent to the word "exceed" (as) to extend the bounds G of jurisdiction." Learned counsel also referred to K.J. Aiyar's Judicial Dictionary wherein the. word "extend" has been defined as follows : "EXTEND. The word "extend" in an enactment 1s not quite H 7 [2007] 8 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS 360 A analogous to "shall come into force". Where it is laid down in an Act that it extends to a certain area it does not necessarily mean that it is also in that area, particularly when there is an express provision that before it can come into force, something further, such as a notification, is necessary." B Learned counsel also invited our attention to Black's Dictionary of Law (Fifth Edition) which defines the word, "extend'" as follows : c "Extend. Term lends itself to great variety of meanings, which must in each case be gathered from context. It may mean to expand, enlarge, prolong, lengthen, widen, carry or draw out further than the original limit; e.g., to extend the time for filing an answer, to extend !! lease, term of office, charter, railroad track, etc." 15. Learned counsel also invited our attention to a decision of this Court in _General Assurance Society Ltd._ v. _Chandumull Jain & Anr.,_ [1966) D 3 S.C.R. 500. In that case it was observed as follows : E F G H "In other respects there is no difference between a contract of insurance and any other contract except that in a contract of insurance there is a requirement of _uberrimafides_ i.e., good faith on the part of the assured ·and the contract is likely to be construed _contra proferentem_ that is against the company in case of ambi~u·ity or doubt. A contract is formed when there is an unqualified acceptance of the proposal. Acceptance may be expressed in writing or it may even be implied if the insurer accepts the premium and retains it. In the case of the assured, a positive act on hi.s part by which he recognizes or seek~ to enforce the policy amounts to an affirmation of it. This position was clearly recognized by the assured himself: · because he wrote, close upon the expiry of the time of the cover notes, that either a policy should be issued to him before that period had expired or the cover note extended in time. In interpreting documents relating to a contract of insurance, the duty of the court is to interpret the words in which the contract is expressed by the p~rties, because it is not for the court to make a new contract, however reasonable, if the parties have not made it themselves. Looking at the proposal, the letter of acceptance and the cover notes, it is clear that a contract of insurance under the standard policy for fire and extended to cover flood, cyclone etc. had come into being." ~/ .. L'l\ITED INDIA INSL'RANCE CO LTD 1·. GREAT EASTER," SHIPPING CO l TD [A.K MAIT!l:RJJ 361 ·~ ,,... v " 16. Our attention was invited to Queen's Bench decision in _John Martin_ A _of London, Ltd_ v. _Russell,_ (1960) Vol. I Q.B. (Com.Cr.) 554). In this case, purchase of 7200 cartons of pure refined lard, c.Lf., J.K.Port was made by the plaintiff from Chicago company in May, 1957. In the same month lard was sold by plaintiffs to various English customers on landed terms ex-quary Liverpool. The defendant insured on June 7, 1957 covering lard against all risks and B including Institute Cargo Clauses (Extended cover) and the policy provided at and from Chicago to Liverpool or held covered Institute Cargo Clauses (Extended cover). This insurance continued until the goods were delivered to the consignees' or other final warehouse at the destination na_med in the policy. In terms of the aforesaid policy, lard discharged from vessel into transit shed on quary, on July 2, 1957 and delivery orders were issued. On July 4. c. 1957 lard was found to be infested with copra beetle from another part of transit shed. Delivery orders were cancelled and reissued later. The plaintiffs claimed under the policy and it was denied that the cover terminated on discharge into transit shed which was final warehouse and that insurance ceased on discharge of goods if consignees did not intend to send goods D to final warehouse. The pfaintiffs' contention was that the lard was _still_ insured because it was in a transit shed and had not reached consignees or other final warehouse. It was also contended that transit shed was not a warehouse and the transit shed was owned by the port authority and that the transit shed was not a final warehouse. In this background, when the policy was repudiated, the claim was filed. In that context, leaned Judge held as E follows: " ..... that transit shed at Liverpool was the place at which goods were placed as soon as they were discharged and they were then waiting patently to go somewhere else; and that therefore, the transit shed F was not the final warehouse; that insurer's contention that cover ceased if consignee did not intend to send goods to a final warehouse did not give reasonable businesslike meaning to the clause and that there was no condition that goods were only covered so long as they were intended to go to a final warehouse; and that there fore, the insurer had failed to prove that goods were not covered when G damaged .. " Mr. Divan, learned senior counsel strongly relied on the above observation and submitted that this decision given by the English Court is binding as per the terms of policy that the English law in question would be applicable. Learned senior counsel submitted that in view of the direct decision of the H ' ~ SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2007) 8 S.C.R. 362 A[English Court, the repudiation ][of ][the claim by the appellant-Company ][is ] _[ex ] facie_ bad. Learned senior counsel also invited our attention to another English decision in _Bayview Motors Ltd_ v. _Mitsui Marine and Fire Insurance Co. Ltd. & Ors.,_ (2003) Vol.I C.A.131. In this case the claimants were dealers in motor vehicles in Providenciales, Turks and Caicos Islands. In· 1997 they bought two consignments, each of six vehicles from Toyota Tsusho Corporation. B The vehicles were sold c.i.f. Santo Domingo in the Dominican Republic although the terms of the contracts of sale both referred to the destination of the goods being the Turks and Caicos Islands. The consignment was insured. The first consignment arrived in Santo Domingo on August 11, 1997 and the second consignment arrived on September 14, 1997. The vehicles c were not released by the Dominican customs for transshipment to the Turks and Caicos Islands. The claimant claimed under the insurance policies alleging that the vehicles were stolen or otherwise taken without any legal justification by employees of the Dominican customs after discharge from the ve~sels in Santo Domingo. The defendants claim was that the cars were "confiscated" D[by the Dominican custom authority because ][of ][contravention ][of ][Dominican ] laH. Therefore, loss was caused by seizure and it excluded or excepted peril under the terms of the insurance cover. It was contended that the loss was proximately caused by the claimant's failure to take reasonable steps to avert or minimize their loss in particular by ensuring that their rights against the Dominican customs were properly preserved by seeking legal advice or E otherwise pursuing legal proceedings. The Queen's Bench held that the insurers' submission that the losses occurred after cover had ended and /or by seizure, an excluded peril, would be rejected. The insurers filed an appeal and in the appeal their Lordships held as follows: " .... where goods were intended to go to the destination named in the policy and then on to some other destination cl. l(a) did not contemplate that there would be a final ·warehouse or place of storage at the destination named in the policy; in such a case the warehouse or place of storage was not final and cover would only cease if the assured elected to use it either for storage other thin in the course of transit or for allocation or distribution; otherw.ise cover was extended for up to 60 days by cl. l(c)." F G Learned counsel submitted that in view of this interpretation of the clause it would mean that after the extended coverage granted by the Insurance company the goods till they reach any destination on any part of the country H would equally stand covered. y ... r- ). ~-·~ ... L"!\llTED INDIA l'.'ISURANCE CO. L m .•.. GREAT EASTERN SHIPPING CO.LTD. [AK MA rnuR. J l 363 17. After considering the ratio with regard to the construction of the A terms of the policy it transpires that while interpreting the policy the courts should keep in view the intention of the parties as well as the words used in the policy. If the intention of the parties subserves the expression used therein then the expression used in that context should be given its full and extended meaning. In the present case, as is apparent on reading of the B Institute Cargo clause and the coverage, terms of the policy and the extended coverage, the intention that appears from these terms and conditions that the goods were first covered from port in China, destination in Calcutta port and thereafter extended coverage was sought and in that it was extended to any part of the Republic of India. If these two terms of the policy are read in conjunction then it clearly transpires that the goods are covered till they C reach the destination in any part of India. If the extended cover would not be given the policy would extend to Calcutta port. If extended, coverage is read, which clearly stipulates that this extension is covered on same terms and conditions of the original policy then it could mean that the policy has been covered till the goods reach the consignee in any part of the country in India. D In fact, the extended coverage was only meant for the goods to be covered till they reach destination either by rail or road in any part of the country. If this extended coverage is not interpreted to mean that goods should reach the destination in any part of India, then the extended coverage on payment of higher premium would be meaningless. The coverage was sought because the final destination of the goods was not at Calcutta port. When the coverage E was extended on same terms and conditions that would mean that the goods were covered till the same reached in any part of the country in India. In the present case. the goods reached the Calcutta Port and they were taken to different sheds. But unfortunately, the goods were destroyed by fire at Calcutta port itself. Therefore, we are of the view that since the goods were covered p from Calcutta port till the same reach its destination and they were lying on storage, that would cover the goods by the extended policy and the insurer cannot defeat the claim of the claimant that the goods once reached the destination at Calcutta the policy stood discharged. The contention of Mr. Mehra that the extended coverage does not cover the goods in transit till they reach any part of the country is not correct because the transit infers storage G also till it reaches its destination. The damage on the rail or road would also include that in transit the goods are to be kept in transit shed, the policy would cover that also. If this interpretation is not given then the extended coverage would be of no use. Looking to the expression used in the background of the intention of the parties, it clearly transpires that once the H goods were insured, then till they reach a~y part of the country shall be 364 (2007] 8 S.C.R. SUPREME COURT REPORTS A covered by the extended coverage. Therefore, the contention of Mr. Mehra cannot be accepted. 18. The next question comes with regard to the quantum of compensation. In view of the fact that the reports of _Mis._ Apex Surveyors Pvt. Ltd as well as N.V.P. Sharma Associates Pvt. Ltd. were considered by the Commission for B computing the quantum of compensation and on that basis the compensation has been granted by the Commission, that cannot be said to be in any manner bad as both the Surveyors were of the appellant company and the appellant company cannot possibly deny the amount of compensation arrived at by these surveyors. The calculation given by _Mis._ Apex Surveyors Pvt. Ltd. has C been accepted by the Commission and there is no reason for us to take a different view from the Commission as the Commission has arrived at the amount of compensation as assessed by _Mis._ Apex Surveyors Pvt. Ltd. Therefore, we affirm the order passed by the Commission on this count also. However, we may modify the order of the Commission with regard to intere~t: The Commission has granted interest @ 9% from the date of report of the D Surveyor but we modify the said order and direct that the claimant Will be entitled to interest at the same rate from the date of the order of the Commission instead of the date of report of the Surveyor. B 19. As a result of our above discussion, we find that the view taken by E the Commission appears to be justified and there is no ground to interfere with the order of the Commission except to the extent of interest as indicated above. Hence, this appeal fails and is dismissed. There would be no order as to costs. K.K.T. Appeal dismissed.