High CourtDivision BenchAppeal allowed; High Court judgment set aside; ...

Union of India & Anr. v. Talwinder Singh

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No. 3686 of 2012
Neutral Citation:[2012] 5 S.C.R. 437

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • B. S. Chauhan
  • Jagdish Singh Khehar
Judgment Date
2012-04-20
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal allowed. The High Court's judgment is set aside; the Trial Court and First Appellate Court judgments are restored; the respondent is not entitled to disability pension. No order as to costs.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; High Court judgment set aside; Trial Court and First Appellate Court judgments restored; no order as to costs.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Union of India and Anr.

Respondents

  • Talwinder Singh

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • H. P. Rawal, ASG
  • • Shalini Kumar
  • • R. Bala
  • • B. V. Bairam Das
  • • Anil Katiyar

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Vivek Gupta
  • • Satyendra Kumar

Case Synopsis & Summary

This Civil Appeal arises from a Punjab and Haryana High Court decision (RSA No. 599 of 2009) that granted disability pension to Talwinder Singh, a military entrant, despite a Release Medical Board recording that his eye injury was not attributable to or aggravated by military service. The respondent sustained a perforating injury to the left eye during annual leave at his home in 1990, underwent surgeries, and was placed in low medical category. The Release Medical Board assessed the disability at 30% for life but concluded no attribution to or aggravation by service. The competent authority rejected the disability pension in 2003. Courts below dismissed the suit, but the High Court reversed, directing disability pension with interest. The Union of India appealed, contending that under Paragraph 179 of the Pension Regulations of the Army, 1961, disability pension is payable only if the disability is attributable to or aggravated by military service and such attribution is recorded by the Service Medical Authorities; thus the High Court erred. The Court reaffirmed that the Medical Board’s opinion should be given primacy, and the claimant must show a nexus between the injury and service. Following earlier decisions (Baljit Singh; Dhir Singh China; Balachandran Nair; Keshar Singh; Surinder Singh Rathore; Ajit Singh; Jujhar Singh), the Court held the injury here could not be linked to military service, and the appeal was allowed, restoring the trial and first appellate judgments and denying pension to the respondent.

Provisions of Law Cited

Paragraph 179, Pension Regulations of the Army, 1961, Part I

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Medical Board's opinion should be given primacy in disability pension cases.
  • A claimant must establish a reasonable nexus between the injury and military service.
  • Disability pension requires attribution to or aggravation by military service under Regulation 179.

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The Union of India submits that the injury occurred during annual leave at Talwinder Singh's home and bears no service nexus. The Release Medical Board's finding that the disability is not attributable to or aggravated by service must be respected; Paragraph 179 restricts entitlement to service-attributable disabilities; the High Court erred in granting disability pension by relying on the respondent's case and on earlier judgments; the appeal should be allowed and the High Court's order set aside, with the lower courts' judgments restored.

Contentions of Respondents

Talwinder Singh contends that the injury happened while on home leave and must be connected to his military duties; the Medical Board's opinion should carry weight, and entitlement to disability pension follows if the disability bears a nexus to service; the High Court correctly granted disability pension and should be upheld.

Cited Precedents (14)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Union of India v. Baljit Singh1996 (7) Suppl. SCR 626PositiveRelied on to reinforce that the Medical Board's opinion should be given primacy and to establish the attribution/aggravation framework for disability pension.
Union of India v. Dhir Singh China, Colonel (Retd.)2003 (1) SCC 382PositiveSupports primacy of expert medical opinion and the need for service attribution.
Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) v. S. Balachandran NairAIR 2005 SC 4391PositiveAffirms that disability pension requires attributability or aggravation by service.
Union of India v. Keshar Singh2007 (12) SCC 675PositiveReaffirms Regulation 179 and nexus requirements consistent with the present view.
Union of India v. Surinder Singh Rathore2008 (5) SCC 747PositiveSupports attribution/ aggravation standard and reliance on Medical Board.
Union of India v. Jujhar SinghAIR 2011 SC 2598PositiveIdentical factual pattern; endorsed the necessity of service-attribution and primacy of Medical Board.
Secretary, Ministry of Defence v. A. V. Damodaran2009 (9) SCC 140PositiveReinforces nexus/attribution principle under Regulation 179.
Regional Director, ES/ Corporation v. Francis De CostaAIR 1997 SC 432PositiveAffirms deferring to expert findings rather than unfettered court interference.
The University of Mysore v. G. D. Govinda RaoAIR 1965 SC 491PositiveConstitution Bench authority cited for deference to expert or specialist findings.
Secretary, Ministry of Defence v. Ajit Singh2009 SCC 328PositiveSupports requiring a service nexus for disability pension.
The Secretary & Curator, Victoria Memorial Hall v. Howrah Ganatantrik Nagrik SamityAIR 2010 SC 1285PositiveCourt should generally not override expert opinions; defer to medical expertise.
The University of Mysore v. Govinda RaoAIR 1965 SC 491PositiveSame principal of deference to expert/constitutional Bench reasoning.
Secretary, Ministry of Defence v. Ajit Singh2009 (SCR 416)PositiveReinforces nexus principle (appears as separate citation in text; aligned with Damodaran).
Regional Director, ES/ Corporation v. Francis De CostaAIR 1997 SC 432PositiveRepeated reference to authority on expert opinion and attribution.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Union of India & Anr. v. Talwinder Singh and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

[2012] 5 S.C.R. 437 A ## UNION OF INDIA & ANR. _v._ TALWINDER SINGH (Civil Appeal No. 3686 of 2012) APRIL 20, 2012 B **[DR. B.S. CHAUHAN AND JAGDISH SINGH KHEHAR, JJ.]** _Pension Regulations of the Army, 1961, Part I_ - - - - _Paragraph 179 Disability pension Entitlement to Respondent enrolled in Army, suffered from injury at his_ - _home when on annual leave Respondent operated for his left eye and discharged and placed in low medical category_ - _BEE (permanent) Claim of respondent for disability pension_ - _Opinion of the Medical Board that disability_ was _30% for life_ D _but the said disability_ was _neither attributable to, nor_ - _aggravated by medical service Rejection of the said claim by the Competent Authority_ as a/so _the trial court and first_ - _appellate court However, claim allowed by the High Court_ - _On appeal, held: In_ case _the injury suffered by military_ E _personnel_ is _attributable to or aggravated by military service_ - _after discharge, he becomes entitled for disability pension Person claiming disability pension must establish that the injury suffered by him bears a causal connection with military service_ - _Opinion of the Medical Board which is an expert_ F _body should be given primacy in deciding_ cases _of disability pension and the court should not grant such pension brushing_ - _aside the opinion of the Medical Board It must be given due_ - _weight, value and credence On facts, the injury suffered by the respondent could not be attributable to or aggravated by the military service, thus, he_ is _not entitled for disability_ G - _pension Order_ passed _by the High Court set aside and that of the trial court and the first appellate court restored._ C D E F 437 H [2012) 5 S.C.R. 438 SUPREME COURT REPORTS A _Union of India and Anr. v. Baljit Singh_ (1996) 11 SCC 315: 1996 ( 7) Suppl. SCR 626; _Union of India_ & _Ors. v. Dhir Singh China, Colonel (Retd.},_ (2003) 2 SCC 382: 2003 (1) SCR 779; _Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) and Ors. v._ S. _Balachandran Nair_ AIR 2005 SC 4391; _Union of India_ B _and Ors. v. Keshar Singh_ (2007) 12 SCC 675: 2007 (5 ) SCR 408; _Union of India and Ors. v. Surinder Singh Rathore_ (2008) 5 SCC 747: 2008 (4) SCR 909; _Union of India and Ors. v. Jujhar Singh_ AIR 2011 SC 2598; _Secretary, Ministry of Defence and Ors. v. Ajit Singh_ (2009) 7 SCC 328: 2009 (8 ) - c SCR 934 relied on. A _The Secretary and Curator, Victoria Memorial Hall v. Howrah Ganatantrik Nagrik Samity and Ors._ AIR 2010 SC 1285; _The University of Mysore v. G.D. Govinda Rao and Anr._ AIR 1965 SC 491; _Secretary, Ministry of Defence and Ors._ D _v. A. V. Damodaran (dead) through L.Rs. and_ Ors. (2009) 9 SCC 140: 2009 (13) SCR 416; _Regional Director,_ ES/ _Corporation and Anr. v. Francis De Costa and Anr._ AIR 1997 - SC 432 referred to. E F G ## Case Law Reference: 1996 (7) Suppl. SCR 626 Relied on Para 7 2003 (1) SCR 779 Relied on Para 7 AIR 2005 SC 4391 Relied on Para 7 2007 (5 ) SCR 408 Relied on Para 7 2008 (4) SCR 909 Relied on Para 7 AIR 2010 SC 1285 Referred to Para 8 AIR 1965 SC 491 Referred to Para 8 AIR 2011 SC 2598 Relied on Para 9 2009 (13) SCR 416 Referred to Para 9 H UNION OF INDIA & ANR. _v._ TALWINDER SINGH 439 |AIR 1997 SC 432|Referredto|Para 9|A| |---|---|---|---| |2009 (8) SCR 934|Relied on|Para 10|| CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION : Civil Appeal No. 3686 of 2012. B From the Judgment & Order dated 11.11.2009 of the High Court of Punjab & Haryana at Chandigarh in RS.A. No. 599 of 2009. H.P. Rawal, ASG, Shalini Kumar, R. Bala, B.V. Bairam Das, Anil Katiyar for the the Appellant. Vivek Gupta, Satyendra Kumar for the Respondent. The Judgment of the Court was delivered by ## **ORDER** ## 1. Leave granted. The present appeal has been filed against the judgment and order dated 11.11.2009 passed by the High Court of E Punjab & Haryana at Chandigarh in RSA No.599 of 2009 by which the High Court has reversed the judgment and order of the Trial Court as well as the First Appellate Court and granted the relief of disability pension to the respondent. 2. Facts and circumstances giving rise to this appeal are F that the respondent was enrolled in the Infantry (Sikh Regiment) on 23.5.1987. He proceeded on annual leave on 31.3.1990 for a period of two months to his home town. During his leave period, the respondent suffered injuries being hit by a small wooden piece "Gulli" in the play of children and thus, his left G eye was seriously damaged. He was admitted to Command Hospital, Chandimandir and remained there from 1.4.1990 to 25.4.1990. The respondent was operated upon twice and, subsequently, was discharged giving him sick leave from 26.4.1990 to 6.6.1990 and was placed in low medical category H F 440 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2012] 5 S.C.R. ## A 'BEE' (permanent). 3. The investigation/enquiry was conducted by Army Authorities and the court of inquiry vide order dated 13.7.1990 came to the conclusion that injuries sustained by the 8[respondent were not attributable to military service. The ] respondent was kept in sheltered appointment upto 31.5.2003 for giving him an opportunity to complete his terms of engagement. The respondent was examined by the Release Medical Board (RMB) on 14.2.2003 for assessment of degree C and attributability/aggravation factors of the disability 'Perforating Injury Left Eye' and it came to the conclusion that disability was 30% for life, however, the Board further declared that the said disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by military service. In view thereof, the claim of the respondent for disability pension was rejected by the competent authority D vide order dated 7.8.2003. 4. The respondent filed Suit No.312 of 2004 before Civil Judge (Senior Division) Sangrur, Punjab, seeking the relief of disability pension which was dismissed vide judgment and E decree dated 25.9.2006. Aggrieved, respondent preferred Civil Appeal No.150 of 2006 which was dismissed by the learned Additional District Judge, Sangrur vide judgment and decree dated 2.9.2008. Respondent, not being satisfied, preferred RSA No.599 of 2009 before the High Court of Punjab & F Haryana challenging the aforesaid judgments and decree. Learned Single Judge reversed the concurrent finding of facts by two courts below and allowed the appeal decreeing the suit issuing direction to the appellants/ defendants to release payment of disability pension alongwith 8% interest per annum G from 31.5.2003, within a period of 3 months. ## Hence, this appeal. 5. Shri H.P. Raval, learned ASG appearing on behalf of Union of India, has submitted that the High Court committed an H error allowing the appeal and reversing the judgments and UNION OF INDIA & ANR. _v._ TALWINDER SINGH 441 decree of the courts below as the case of the respondent could A not fall within the provisions of paragraph 179 of the Pension Regulations of the Army, 1961, Part-I, (herein after called the 'Regulations') as well as the findings and opinion of the Medical Board, a finding that the injury suffered by the respondent could neither be attributable to, nor could be aggravated by the B military service. Therefore, the appeal deserves to be allowed. The judgment and decree of the High Court is liable to be set aside. A 6. On the contrary, Shri Vivek Gupta, learned counsel appearing for the respondent, has contended that the High Court has decided the case in correct perspective and correctly interpreted the statutory provisions and therefore, no interference is required. The appeal lacks merit and is liable to be dismissed. C D 7. We have considered the rival submissions made by learned counsel for the parties and perused the record. The sole question involved in this appeal is that if a person enrolled in Army suffers from injury at his home when on leave, whether such injury can be held to be attributable to or aggravated by the military service. E The issue involved herein is no more res integra. It is not in dispute that in case the injury suffered by military personnel is attributable to or aggravated by military service after discharge, he becomes entitled for disability pension. It is also a settled legal proposition that opinion of the Medical Board should be given primacy in deciding cases of disability pension and the court should not grant such pension brushing aside the opinion of the Medical Board. F G (See: _Union of India_ & _Anr. v. Baljit Singh,_ (1996) 11 SCC 315; _Union of India_ & _Ors. v. Dhir Singh China, Colonel (Retd.),_ (2003) 2 SCC 382; _Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension)_ & _Ors. v. S. Balachandran Nair,_ AIR 2005 SC 4391; H 442 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2012] 5 S.C.R. A _Union of India_ & _Ors. v. Keshar Singh,_ (2007) 12 SCC 675; and _Union of India_ & _Ors. v. Surinder Singh Rathore,_ (2008) 5 sec 747). 8. In _The Secretary_ & _Curator, Victoria Memorial Hall v. Howrah Ganatantrik Nagrik Samity_ & _Ors.,_ AIR 2010 SC 1285, 8 this Court while placing reliance upon a large number of earlier judgments including Constitution Bench judgment in _The University of Mysore v. G.D. Govinda Rao_ & _Anr.,_ AIR 1965 SC 491, held that ordinarily, the court should not interfere with the order based on opinion of experts on the subject. It would C be safe for the courts to leave the decision to experts who are more familiar with the problems they face than the courts generally can be. 9. This Court recently decided an identical case in _Union_ o _of India_ & _Ors. v. Jujhar Singh,_ AIR 2011 SC 2598, and after reconsidering a large number of earlier judgments including _Secretary, Ministry of Defence_ & _Ors. v. A. V. Damodaran (dead) through L.Rs._ & _Ors.,_ (2009) 9 SCC 140; _Baljit Singh's (supra); Regional Director,_ ES/ _Corporation_ & _Anr. v. Francis_ E _De Costa_ & _Anr.,_ AIR 1997 SC 432, came to the conclusion that in view of Regulation 179, a discharged person can be granted disability pension only if the disability is attributable to or aggravated by military service and such a finding has been recorded by Service Medical Authorities. In case the Medical F Authorities records the specific finding to the effect that disability was neither attributable to nor aggravated by the military service, the court should not ignore such a finding for the reason that Medical Board is specialised authority composed of expert medical doctors and it is a final authority to give opinion regarding attributability and aggravation of the G disability due to the military service and the conditions of service resulting in the disablement of the individual. A person claiming disability pension must be able to show a reasonable nexus between the act, omission or commission resulting in an injury to the person and the normal expected standard of duties H UNION OF INDIA & ANR. _v._ TALWINDER SINGH 443 > and way of life expected from such person. As the military A personnel sustained disability when he was on an annual leave that too at his home town in a road accident, it could not be held that the injuries could be attributable to or aggravated by military service. Such a person would not be entitled to disability > pension. B B 10. This view stands fully fortified by the earlier judgment of this Court in _Secretary, Ministry of Defence_ & _Ors. v. Ajit Singh,_ (2009) 7 sec 328. 11. The instant case is squarely covered by the ratio of the aforesaid judgment in _Jujhar Singh_ (supra). We are of the view that the opinion of the Medical Board which is an expert body must be given due weight, value and credence. Person claiming disability pension must establish D that the injury suffered by him bears a causal connection with military service. In the instant case, as the injury suffered by the respondent could not be attributable to or aggravated by the military service he is not entitled for disability pension. 12. In view of the above, the appeal is allowed. The judgment and order of the High Court dated 11.11.2009 passed in R.S.A. No. 599 of 2009 is set aside and the judgment and order of the Trial Court and that of First Appellate Court are restored. No order as to costs. E F N.J. Appeal allowed.