High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeAppeal dismissed; Commissioner’s order upheld; ...

The Manager, Employees' State Insurance Corporation, Local Office, Valappattanam, Kannur District vs Neena Felix and others

Case / Petition Number:Ins. Appeal No.5 of 2017
Neutral Citation:/

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • P. D. Rajan
Judgment Date
2017-07-13
Court Decision / Holding
There is no merit in this appeal and it is dismissed accordingly; the order of the Employees' Insurance Court awarding dependants’ benefits stands confirmed.
Final Disposition
Appeal dismissed; Commissioner’s order upheld; death held to be an employment injury for dependants’ benefits under the ESI Act.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Neena Felix, W/o. Late Felix Manavalan, Aged 40 years
  • Febina Felix, D/o.Felix Manavalan, Aged 18 years
  • Femina Felix (Minor), D/o.Felix Manavalan, Aged 11 years
  • Mary Varghese, M/o.Felix Manavalan, Aged 73 years

Respondents

  • The Manager, ESI Corporation, Local Office, Valappattanam, Kannur District - 670 010
  • The Regional Director, ESI Corporation, Regional Office, Thrissur - 680 020

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri P. U. Shailajan
  • • Sri M. Suresh Kumar
  • • Smt. K.B. Rekha
  • • Smt. D.N. Nishani
  • • Sri V. Sreejith

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri. K. Sandesh Raja

Case Synopsis & Summary

This Insurance Appeal arises from an order of the Employees' Insurance Court, Kozhikode, in E.I.C. No.5 of 2013, declaring that the deceased Felix Manavalan died as a result of an employment injury and that his dependants were entitled to benefits under the ESI Act. The learned tribunal found that the death on 30.03.2011 occurred while the deceased was returning home after submitting a leave application and held it to be an employment injury with dependants’ benefits. The Appellant, Manager of E.S.I. Corporation, contesting the tribunal’s conclusion, contends that the death was not due to an injury arising out of employment; it could be suicide or otherwise not attributable to the employment, arguing that Sec.2(8) defines employment injury and Sec.46(d) provides dependants’ benefits only if death is employment-related. The High Court, examining the evidence, including the postmortem report (Ext.P3) and the leave letter, concurred that the death was due to crush injuries sustained on the way back from work and that the evidence does not establish suicide; there is no proximate nexus between alleged suicide and the death. While Mallikarjuna G. Hiremath v. Oriental Insurance (AIR 2009 SC 2019) was discussed to illustrate limits of liability where death is disease-related, the court distinguished it as inapplicable to the facts here. Jyothi Ademmma v. Plant Engineer (2006 SCC) aided the analysis of what constitutes an “accident.” The appeal was ultimately dismissed, upholding the Commissioner’s findings that the death arose out of and in the course of employment.

Provisions of Law Cited

Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 Sec. 2(8)Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 Sec. 46(d)Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 Sec. 3(1)

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Definition of employment injury: a personal injury caused by accident or occupational disease arising out of and in the course of employment (Sec. 2(8)).
  • Accident means an untoward mishap not expected or designed (cited in Jyothi Ademmma v Plant Engineer).
  • There must be a casual connection between death and employment; if death is natural or due to disease, liability may not attach unless disease is linked or accelerated by employment (as discussed in Mallikarjuna G. Hiremath) ]
  • parties={
  • respondents":[

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The learned counsel for the appellant contends that death of Felix Manavalan may not be an employment injury; it could be suicide, and thus not covered under Sec. 46(d) of the ESI Act. The evidence does not show a nexus to employment; the Tribunal’s reliance on leave records and postmortem is insufficient to prove an accident arising out of employment. The decision in Mallikarjuna G. Hiremath is distinguishable, as the facts relate to disease-linked deaths rather than an accident. The court should consider whether there is a proximate connection between death and employment.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents (deceased’s dependants) argue that the death occurred while in service and on a journey connected to employment; the postmortem and leave cert. establish injuries causally linked to the employment, making them eligible for dependants’ benefits under Sec. 46(d). The evidence indicates the death resulted from crush injuries while returning home after leave application; there is no credible evidence of suicide. The Commissioner’s order awarding dependants’ benefits should be sustained.

Cited Precedents (4)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Mallikarjuna G. Hiremath v. Branch Manager, Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd. & Anr.AIR 2009 SC 2019Partly Overruled / LimitedThe court notes the decision’s parameters on disease-related deaths and applies a distinction since the present case involves an accident, not a disease-related death.
Jyothi Ademmma v. Plant Engineer2006 (5) SCC 513PositiveUsed to define 'accident' as an untoward mishap not expected or designed, guiding the analysis that the death was an accident rather than suicide.
Fenton v. Thorley & Co. Ltd.—Mentioned OnlyCited for the general understanding of 'accident' in ordinary sense, without direct application to the facts.
Trim Joint District School Board of Management v. Kelly—Mentioned OnlyCited as background to discuss the notion of 'designed' by the sufferer when considering accidents.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against The Manager, Employees' State Insurance Corporation, Local Office, Valappattanam, Kannur District vs Neena Felix and others and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** ## **PRESENT:** **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE P.D.RAJAN** **THURSDAY, THE 13TH DAY OF JULY 2017/22ND ASHADHA, 1939** **INS.APP.NO. 5 OF 2017 ()** **-------------------------** **AGAINST THE ORDER IN E.I.C. NO.05/2013 OF THE EMPLOYEES' INSURANCE COURT, KOZHIKODE DATED 09-08-2016** **-------------------** ## **APPELLANT(S)/RESPONDENTS:-:** **--------------------------** **1. THE MANAGER,** **ESI CORPORATION, LOCAL OFFICE, VALAPATTANAM, KANNUR DISTRICT - 670 010.** ## **2. THE REGIONAL DIRECTOR,** **ESI CORPORATION, REGIONAL OFFICE, THRISSUR - 680 020.** **BY ADV. SRI.K.SANDESH RAJA** ## **RESPONDENT(S)/APPLICANTS:-:** **---------------------------** ## **1. NEENA FELIX,** **W/O.LATE FELIX MANAVALAN, AGED 40 YEARS.** ## **2. FEBINA FELIX,** **D/O.FELIX MANAVALAN, AGED 18 YEARS.** ## **3. FEMINA FELIX (MINOR),** **D/O.FELIX MANAVALAN, AGED 11 YEARS.** ## **4. MARY VARGHESE,** **M/O.FELIX MANAVALAN, AGED 73 YEARS, ALL RESIDING AT MANAVALAN HOUSE, ST.VINCENT COLONY, BAKKALAM P.O., KANUL, KANNUR DISTRICT - 670 010.** **R1-R3 BY ADVS. SRI.P.U.SHAILAJAN** **SRI.M.SURESH KUMAR SMT.K.B.REKHA SMT.D.N.NISHANI SRI.V.SREEJITH (K/1398/2000)** **THIS INSURANCE APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 13-07-2017, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** **NS** ## **P.D. RAJAN, J. -----------------------Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 ---------------------------------Dated this the 13[th] day of July, 2017** ## **J U D G M E N T** This appeal is preferred against the order in E.I.C. No.5 of 2013 of the Employees' Insurance Court, Kozhikode by the Manager, Employees' State Insurance Corporation (for short, the E.S.I. Corporation), Kannur. The legal representatives of the deceased filed the above application for a declaration that the deceased Felix Manavalan is an insured employee attached to Prime Veneers Limited, Valappattanam and entitled for compensation as a result of an employment injury sustained to him under the Employees' State Insurance Act (for short, the E.S.I. Act). The learned Tribunal allowed the petition and held that the death of Felix Manavalan on 30.03.2011 was due to the employment injury sustained and his dependants are eligible for dependants benefits as per law. 2. Learned counsel appearing for the appellant contended that the death was not due to the injury Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 2 sustained at the time of employment. It may be a suicide death and the contention that the death happened while he was returning from the company to his residence after submitting the leave certificate to the employer is unsustainable. He might have jumped in front of the running train and committed suicide, hence it is not an employment injury as stated under Sec.2(8) of the E.S.I. Act, 1948 and he is not entitled to get the benefits under Sec.46(d) of the E.S.I. Act. 3. The word employment injury has been defined under Sec.2(8) of the E.S.I. Act, 1948 which reads as follows: “ employment injury” means a personal injury to an employee caused by accident or an occupational disease arising out of and in the course of his employment, being an insurable employment, whether the accident occurs or the occupational disease is contracted within or outside the territorial limits of India; Various benefits under the provisions of the E.S.I. Act provided to the insured persons and their dependants are specifically mentioned under Sec.46 of the E.S.I. Act. Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 3 Sec.46(d) reads as follows: “46(d) periodical payments to such dependents of an insured person who dies as a result of an employment injury sustained as an employee under this Act, as are entitled to compensation under this Act (hereinafter referred to as dependents' benefit)” A perusal of the above section shows that if a person makes periodical payments to the Corporation, his/her dependants are entitled to get the benefits. 4. In this context, I have considered the evidence of PW1, the wife of the deceased, which shows that the deceased was on leave on 30.03.2011 due to illness and he submitted leave application obtained from the E.S.I. Dispensary, Pappinissery. The leave letter was handed over to the company on the same day and his way back to home, he was hit by a running train and died. The evidence of PW1 shows that the employees of the company usually used that way for their travel and while the deceased was proceeding through the side of the railway track, he was hit by a running train. In this incident, the Valappattanam Police registered a crime and Ext.P2 is the FIR. Ext.P3 is the copy of the Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 4 postmortem certificate and Ext.P4 is the death certificate. Ext.P1 is the E.S.I. Identity card in the name of the deceased. 5. A perusal of Ext.P3 postmortem certificate shows that his skull and brain were intact. Lungs were pale. Walls, chamber and valves of the heart were normal, coronaries patent, Mid line structures of the neck were intact and all other internal organs were pale otherwise normal. It is also seen from Ext.P3 that the deceased died due to crush injury sustained to the abdomen. The appellant examined DW1 and produced Ext.D1 to D7. Even though the appellant raised a contention that the deceased committed suicide, no evidence has been adduced in the trial court to prove that point. He further contended that the investigation was not proper to prove the suicide, but the available evidence shows that the death was due to the crush injury. Learned counsel appearing for the appellant handed over a decision of the apex court in **Mallikarjuna G. Hiremath** v. **Branch Manager, Oriental Insurance** Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 5 **Co. Ltd. & Anr. [ AIR 2009 SC 2019]** , in which paragraph 9 reads as follows: “ Under Section 3(1) it has to be established that there was some casual connection between the death of the workman and his employment. If the workman dies a natural death because of the disease which he was suffering or while suffering from a particular disease he dies of that disease as a result of wear and tear of the employment, no liability would be fixed upon the employer. But if the employment is a contributory cause or has accelerated the death, or if the death was due not only to the disease but also the disease coupled with the employment, then it can be said that the death arose out of the employment and the employer would be liable. ” But the parameters provided in the above decision is not applicable in this case. The facts of the case shows that it is an accident. 6. The question of accident was considered by the apex court in **Jyothi Ademmma** v. **Plant Engineer [2006 (5) SCC 513]** which held as follows: “7. The expression 'accident' means an untoward Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 6 mishap which is not expected or designed. 'Injury' means physiological injury. In Fenton v. Thorley & Co. Ltd. it was observed that the expression 'accident' is used in the popular and ordinary sense of the word as denoting an unlooked for mishap or an untoward event which is not expected or designed. The above view of Lord Macnaghten was qualified by the speech of Lord Haldane, A.C. in Trim Joint District School Board of Management v. Kelly as follows: I think that the context shows that in using the word “designed” Lord Macnaghten was referring to designed by the sufferer.” In this context and in the light of Ext.P3 postmortem certificate, this court cannot take any inference with regard to suicide unless the evidence brought on record shows that the death was due to the suicide. From the order of the Commissioner, it appears that he had considered all the records placed before him and he cannot take any decision based upon surmise or inference. It is true that the deceased was proceeding to his house after submitting the leave application who met with an accident. It appears from the postmortem certificate and the evidence of the legal representative of the deceased that the death was due to crush injury. When there is no evidence to prove suicide, this court cannot reject the findings of the Commissioner. Therefore, the conclusion that the deceased died due to Ins. Appeal. No.5 of 2017 7 the injuries sustained while returning after submitting the leave application is undisputably proved. There is no proximate nexus between the allegation of suicide and the accidental death. Therefore, the conclusion reached by the Commissioner is correct. There is no merit in this appeal and it is dismissed accordingly. Sd/- **P.D. RAJAN, JUDGE** NS / True Copy / P.A. To Judge