High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeOriginal petition allowed; disability pension g...

T.G. Haridas v. Officer-in-Charge EME Records, Secunderabad; Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension), Allahabad; Chief of Army Staff, Army Headquarters, New Delhi; Government of India

Case / Petition Number:OP.No.14697 of 2000
Neutral Citation:/

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • S. Siri Jagan, J.
Judgment Date
2008-09-22
Court Decision / Holding
The original petition is allowed. Exts. P3 and P5 are quashed; respondents are directed to sanction and pay disability pension to the petitioner, with arrears payable within three months of receiving a certified copy of the judgment. The petitioner shall continue to receive disability pension monthly; if arrears are not paid within three months, interest at 9% per annum shall accrue from discharge to payment.
Final Disposition
Original petition allowed; disability pension granted with arrears and ongoing pension; Exts. P3 and P5 quashed.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • T.G. Haridas

Respondents

  • Officer-in-Charge, EME Records, Secunderabad
  • Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension), Allahabad
  • Chief of Army Staff, Army Headquarters, New Delhi
  • Government of India, represented by the Secretary to the Ministry of Defence, New Delhi

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • SMT. P.M. Indu
  • • George Sebastian

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri. Thomas Mathew Nellimoottil (Advocate) for R1 to R4

Case Synopsis & Summary

This is an Kerala High Court original petition by an ex-serviceman, T.G. Haridas, challenging two pension-related orders (Exts. P3 and P5) denying disability pension on the ground that his neurosis was not attributable to military service. Haridas enlisted in 1973 and was discharged in 1981 on medical grounds for neurosis. He contends that the extreme conditions of service—extremely hot temperatures at Alwar and extreme cold at Udhampur, along with frontline duties—could have caused the disease, and that his excellent health at enrollment shifts the burden onto the respondents to prove non-attribution. The respondents rely on the medical board’s opinion and Supreme Court precedents, notably Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) v. Balachandran Nair, which holds that disability pension is not warranted where there is no proof of service-connected illness; however, the petitioner cites Baby v. Union of India (Full Bench) to argue that a person enrolled in perfect health with no threshold disability is generally entitled to disability pension, placing the onus on the authority to prove non-attribution. The court reviews the rival contentions, noting the lack of contrary evidence about Haridas’s health status during service, and ultimately holds that the neurosis is attributable to military service. Exts. P3 and P5 are quashed, and disability pension is ordered with arrears, plus interest if unpaid within three months. The petition is thus allowed.

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Onus of proving non-attribution of disability to military service lies on the respondents.
  • Where an individual is enrolled in perfect health and no disability is noted at enrollment, he is ordinarily entitled to disability pension (Baby v. Union of India).

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The petitioner submits that his neurosis developed during service due to extreme climatic and operational conditions (hot Alwar, cold Udhampur) and that he was in excellent health at enrollment; since no disability was noted at threshold, the onus to prove non-attribution rests on the respondents. He relies on Baby v. Union of India (Full Bench) to argue that disability pension should be granted where service connection is not disproved, and that the medical board’s reasoning in Exts. P3 and P5 is inadequate to deny pension. He contends that the absence of any hereditary or constitutional disease and lack of contrary evidence in service records support attribution to service.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend that disability pension requires proof of illness attributable to military service, citing Balachandran Nair (Supreme Court) to say pension is not warranted without service linkage; they rely on medical board findings and lack of evidence of neurosis during service as justification for denial. They argue the onus to demonstrate service connection lies with Haridas, and that the record does not establish direct causation between service and neurosis.

Cited Precedents (2)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension) v. Balachandran Nair2005 (4) KLT 703DistinguishedSupreme Court rule cited by the respondents is not applied here; the Kerala High Court distinguishes it on the facts and relies on Baby v. Union of India to hold the onus lies with the authorities where enrollment was in perfect health.
Baby v. Union of India2003 (3) KLT 362PositiveFull Bench held that where an individual is enrolled in perfect health and no disability noted at enrollment, the onus to prove non-attribution rests on the authority; the present case follows this principle to deem neurosis attributable to service.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against T.G. Haridas v. Officer-in-Charge EME Records, Secunderabad; Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension), Allahabad; Chief of Army Staff, Army Headquarters, New Delhi; Government of India and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT : THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE S.SIRI JAGAN MONDAY, THE 22ND SEPTEMBER 2008 / 31ST BHADRA 1930 OP.No. 14697 of 2000(Y) ----------------------- PETITIONER(S): --------------- T.G.HARIDAS, EX.NO.7119565 Cfn VM (MV), THOTTUNGARA HOUSE, KARIYATHANKAVU P.O., BALUSSERY VIA., KOZHIKODE DISTRICT, KERALA. BY ADV. SMT.P.M.INDU SRI.GEORGE SEBASTIAN RESPONDENT(S): ---------------- 1. THE OFFICER-IN-CHARGE E.M.E RECORDS, SECUNDERABAD, A.P. 2. THE CONTROLLER OF DEFENCE, ACCOUNTS (PENSION) ALLAHABAD U.P. 3. THE CHIEF OF ARMY STAFF, ARMY HEAD QUARTERS, NEW DELHI. 4. GOVT. OF INDIA, REP. BY THE SECRETARY TO MINISTRY OF DEFENCE, NEW DELHI. ADV.SRI.THOMAS MATHEW NELLIMOOTTIL, FOR R1 TO R4 THIS ORIGINAL PETITION HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 22/09/2008, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: O.P.NO.14697/00. ## APPENDIX ## PETITIONER'S EXHIBITS: - P1. COPY OF THE DISCHARGE CERTIFICATE. P2. COPY OF THE LETTER DTD.13.4.91 TO R1. P3. COPY OF THE LETTER DTD.17.8.91 TO R1. P4. COPY OF THE APPEAL DTD.1.12.99 TO R4. P5. COPY OF THE LETTER DTD.20.1.00 BY R1. ## Sdk+ ///True copy/// P.A. to Judge ## S.SIRI JAGAN, J. ================== ## O.P.No.14697 of 2000 ================== Dated this the 22[nd] day of September, 2008 J U D G M E N T The petitioner is an ex-serviceman. He enrolled in the military service on 30.3.1973. He was discharged on medical grounds on 7.4.1981, on detection of the disease “Neurosis”. However, military pension was denied to him on the ground that the said disease is not attributable to military service. Exts.P3 and P5 orders passed in this regard are under challenge in this original petition. 2. The contention of the petitioner is that the petitioner was first posted at Alwar, Rajastan, where temperature was extremely high and he was not used to such extreme temperature. From Albar the petitioner was suddenly transferred to Udhampur, in Jammu and Kashmir, where the climate was extreme cold, which also he was not used to. At the time of enrollment the petitioner was in excellent physical and mental condition. Further, the petitioner in fact served in the boarder areas where the petitioner was under tremendous physical and 2 o.p.14697/00 mental tension. The petitioner therefore, submits that the development of the disease of Neurosis could have only been due to military service, especially when there was no other plausible reason for the same. The petitioner would further submit that in so far as there is no dispute that at the time of enrolment the petitioner was in excellent physical and mental condition, the onus of proving that the petitioner's disease developed because of reasons not attributable to military service, is clearly on the respondents. Therefore, the petitioner seeks quashing of Ext.P3 and P5 orders. The petitioner also refers to two decisions of this Court in O.P.Nos.3490/1992 and 3518/1992, wherein this Court held that the disease of Neurosis unless proved otherwise must be taken to be attributable to military service. 3. The learned Central Government Counsel would argue in support of the impugned orders with the help of the counter affidavit filed in this original petition. He would also refer to a decision of the Supreme Court in _**Controller of Defence Accounts (Pension)** v._ _**Balachandran Nair**_ [2005 (4) KLT 703] wherein the Supreme Court has held that where medical board 3 o.p.14697/00 found that in the absence of proof of the injury/illness having been sustained due to military service or being attributable thereto, grant of disability pension is not warranted. 4. I have considered the rival contentions in detail. 5. In the counter affidavit filed there is no denial of the specific averment of the petitioner that at the time of enrolment and afterwards the petitioner was in excellent physical and mental condition. There is also no case for the respondents to the effect that from 1973 to 1981 there was any symptom in the petitioner relating to the illness “Neurosis”. Therefore, during the time when he was in service, no injury or illness occurred otherwise than through military service, which could cause the disease of neurosis in the petitioner. They have also no case of any hereditary or constitutional trait in the petitioner which is likely to lead to the disease of neurosis in the petitioner. A full Bench of this Court in _**Baby v. Union of India**_ [2003 (3) KLT 362] has held that when an individual is enrolled after having been found to be in perfect health and no note regarding any kind of disability has been registered at the threshold, he would 4 o.p.14697/00 be entitled to grant of disability pension. It is also stated in that decision that in such circumstances the onus of proving that the disability is not attributable to military service or that the individual is not entitled to the claim of disability pension shall normally lie on the authority. That decision is clearly applicable to this case. Therefore, the onus of proving that the disease of “Neurosis” which was detected in the petitioner is not attributable to military service is squarely on the respondents. Apart from relying on the medical board's opinion which does not explain as to why the disease cannot be attributed to military service, no material whatsoever has been produced before me for discharging that onus of proving the said fact. On the other hand, in identical circumstances, two Single Judges of this Court had held in the above said decisions that unless proved otherwise, the disease of Neurosis should be held to be attributable to military service. In the above circumstances, in the absence of any proof to the contrary, I must hold that the disease of “Neurosis” contracted by the petitioner is attributable to military service. Accordingly, Exts.P3 and P5 are quashed, and the respondents 5 o.p.14697/00 are directed to sanction and pay disability pension to the petitioner. Arrears shall be paid within three months from the date of receipt of a certified copy of this judgment and the petitioner shall be continued to be paid disability pension every month. If the respondents do not pay arrears within the three months as directed above, the amounts shall carry interest at the rate of nine per cent per annum from the date of discharge till the date of payment. The original petition is allowed as above. sdk+ Sd/S.SIRI JAGAN, JUDGE ///True copy/// P.A. to Judge 6 o.p.14697/00 S.SIRI JAGAN, J. =============== O.P.No.14697 of 2000-Y =============== J U D G M E N T 22[nd] September, 2008