Sunny Kuriyan v. Jacob George Saji, Shiney Joseph, Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd. and K.P. Syamala Kumari
Case Details & Bench
- Court
- High Court of Kerala
- Hon'ble Judges
- C.S. Dias
- Judgment Date
- 2022-02-21
- Court Decision / Holding
- In the result, the appeal is allowed in part, by enhancing the compensation by a further amount of Rs.1,24,800 with interest on the enhanced compensation at the rate of 6% per annum from the date of petition till the date of deposit, after deducting interest for a period of 214 days i.e., the period of delay in preferring this appeal and as directed by this Court on 12.11.2021 in C.M.Appln.No.1/2012, and a cost of Rs.20,000. The third respondent/insurer is ordered to deposit the enhanced compensation with interest and cost before the Tribunal within a period of sixty days from the date of receipt of a certified copy of this judgment. Immediately on the compensation amount being deposited, the Tribunal shall disburse the enhanced compensation amount to the appellant in accordance with law.
- Final Disposition
- Appeal allowed in part; enhanced compensation awarded; insurer to deposit enhanced sum with interest and costs before the Tribunal within 60 days; Tribunal to disburse on deposit.
Parties to the Case
Appellants / Petitioners
- Sunny Kuriyan
Respondents
- Jacob George Saji
- Shiney Joseph
- The Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd.
- K.P. Syamala Kumari
Legal Representation & Advocates
Counsels for Petitioners
- • Shri A.P.Subhash
- • Shri P.R.Venkatesh
Counsels for Respondents
- • Shri George Cherian Thiruvalla
Case Synopsis & Summary
Sunny Kurian (appellant) filed MACA 2538/2012 challenging the MACT, Kottayam award in OP(MV)1264/2006 for injuries from a road accident on 25 November 2005. He sought compensation under Section 166 of the Motor Vehicles Act, arguing the Tribunal’s quantum was inadequate given the extent of disability and suffering. The Tribunal found negligence (Ext A2 Final Report) and held the third respondent insurer liable to indemnify the owner and insurer of the offending vehicle, while the other respondents did not contest. The insurer challenged the amount awarded, and the appellant pressed for higher relief based on the evidence including a salary certificate (Ext A11) claiming Rs 9,000 monthly income; the Tribunal rejected Ext A11 as unproved in lack of authorisation, adopting a notional income of Rs 4,000. The High Court invoked Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd. to re-fix notional income at Rs 5,000 per month (accident year 2005) and used the multiplier from Sarala Verma v. Delhi Transport Corporation to determine compensation for permanent disability (30% assessed by a six-member board). The court recalculated the heads of damage: loss of earnings (Rs 40,000), transportation (Rs 15,000), extra nourishment (Rs 5,000), pain and sufferings (Rs 50,000), loss of amenities (Rs 50,000), and disability loss (Rs 2,34,000), among others, yielding a total of Rs 8,54,535. The appeal was allowed in part, granting an additional Rs 1,24,800 with 6% interest from filing, minus 214 days’ delay, and Rs 20,000 costs. The insurer must deposit the enhanced amount before the Tribunal within 60 days for distribution on deposit.
Provisions of Law Cited
Legal Doctrines & Maxims
- Notional income principle (as applied in Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd., (2011) 13 SCC 236)
- Multiplier rule (as per Sarala Verma v. Delhi Transport Corporation, (2010) 2 KLT 802 (SC))
Submissions & Arguments
Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners
The appellant contends that the compensation under the MACT award should reflect true losses due to the accident. He relied on Ext A11 showing a monthly income of Rs 9,000, arguing the Tribunal erred by not properly admitting the evidence and by using a lower notional income. He urges enhancement across several heads—loss of earnings, transportation, extra nourishment, pain and suffering, and loss of amenities—on the basis of the injury severity (hip fracture with posterior dislocation) and 58 days of inpatient treatment, along with an 8-month indisposition. He asserts liability against the insurer is proven by Ext A2 and the accident report; seeks re-determination of compensation consistent with the Supreme Court’s guidelines. Respondents
Contentions of Respondents
The insurer contends liability issues and the quantum of compensation, arguing the appellant’s injury and disability must be assessed within statutory limits and applicable policy terms. It denies the extents of income and damages claimed and questions the admissibility or weight of Ext A11. The insurer maintains it is not liable for gratuitous passengers unless policy and law require, and highlights arguments distinguishing liability of the insured from the owner or other respondents. It also challenges the adequacy of the Tribunal’s approach to calculation and to the application of multiplier and disability assessments.
Cited Precedents (2)
| Case Name | Citation | Treatment | Explanation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Company Limited | (2011) 13 SCC 236 | Positive | Court relies on the Supreme Court's notional income principle to adjust notional monthly earnings (Rs. 5,000) for 2005, following Ramachandrappa. |
| Sarala Verma and others v. Delhi Transport Corporation and others | (2010) 2 KLT 802 (SC) | Positive | Court uses the multiplier rule of 13 from Sarala Verma to compute compensation for disability. |
Diagnostic Tool
Does this judgment govern your specific facts?
Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Sunny Kuriyan v. Jacob George Saji, Shiney Joseph, Bajaj Allianz General Insurance Co. Ltd. and K.P. Syamala Kumari and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.
Extracted Judgment Text
Exact text extracted from official judgment records.