High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeDisposed of; directed payment of withheld amoun...

Sheeba V.K. v. Kerala State Handloom Apex Co-operative Society Ltd

Case / Petition Number:WP(C).No.27608 OF 2019(A)

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • Sathish Ninan, J.
Judgment Date
2020-06-04
Court Decision / Holding
Writ petition disposed of directing the respondents to pay ₹7,64,854 withheld from the retirement benefits of late Sri Lalan within one month from the date of receipt of a copy of the judgment; if payment is not made, interest at 9% per annum from the date of the judgment.
Final Disposition
Disposed of; directed payment of withheld amount with 9% interest on default,

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Sheeba V.K.

Respondents

  • Kerala State Handloom Apex Co-operative Society Ltd., H-232(HANTEX) represented by its Managing Director, P.BO. No. 64, Ootukuzhy, Thiruvananthapuram-695001
  • Managing Director, HANTEX Head Office, P.B.No. 64, Ootukuzhy, Thiruvananthapuram-695001
  • Finance Manager, HANTEX Head Office, P.B.No.64, Ootukuzhy, Thiruvananthapuram-695001

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri. Leejoy Mathew V.
  • • Sri. Manoj Kumar P.T

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri. N. Raghuraj

Case Synopsis & Summary

This writ petition challenges the withholding of a portion of the gratuity and terminal leave surrender amounts payable to late Lalan P.P., who retired from the first respondent society and died within a month of executing a consent letter. The petitioner, Lalan’s widow Sheeba V.K., argues that the consent letter (Ext. R1(a)) and the receipt (Ext. R1(b)) were obtained under coercive circumstances due to severe family illness and financial distress, and were not freely given. The society claimed that there were unsettled "business advance" liabilities amounting to ₹7,64,854 to be recovered from retirement benefits, and that the deduction had been effected by the board’s consent, with the balance settled. However, no disciplinary or adjudicatory proceedings were initiated against Lalan to fix any liability, and Exts. R1(a) and R1(b) were found by the court to be violative of the rights of the deceased. The court relied on the principle from Philip v. Registrar of Co-operative Societies (2018 (3) KLT 347 (DB)) that withholding retiral benefits without due process is impermissible. It held that the consent deed and discharge were not operative against the petitioner’s rights and directed the payment of ₹7,64,854 withheld from Lalan’s service benefits within one month, with interest at 9% per annum if delayed.

Provisions of Law Cited

Co-operative Societies ActPayment of Gratuity Act

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The petitioner contends that gratuity and terminal leave surrender amounts were withheld on the basis of a consent deed Ext. R1(a) and receipt Ext. R1(b) executed when her husband’s family faced medical emergencies. She asserts the consent was not voluntary but obtained under pressure, with compelling circumstances. There were no disciplinary or adjudicatory proceedings against late Lalan to fix liability, so the Society is not entitled to withhold retirement benefits. Exts. R1(a) and R1(b) are argued to be void against the rights of Lalan and not operative against the petitioner, who has inherited the right to sue. The petition seeks a direction to pay the withheld amounts.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend that there were outstanding ‘business advances’ and that the consent deed allowed deductions from retirement benefits; Exts. R1(a) and R1(b) evidence the deduction and settlement, and the matter may require recourse to statutory forums under the Co-operative Societies Act or the Payment of Gratuity Act. They argue the writ petition involves questions of fact and that the court should not interfere with the Society’s administration without due process.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Philip v. Registrar of Co-operative Societies2018 (3) KLT 347 (DB)PositiveCited to support the proposition that withholding retiral benefits requires due process and cannot be done unilaterally without a disciplinary or adjudicatory proceeding.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Sheeba V.K. v. Kerala State Handloom Apex Co-operative Society Ltd and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** ## **PRESENT** ## **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE SATHISH NINAN** **THURSDAY, THE 4TH DAY OF JUNE 2020 / 14TH JYAISHTA, 1942** ## **WP(C).No.27608 OF 2019(A)** ## **PETITIONER:** **SHEEBA V.K., W/O.LALAN P.P, PULLATHU HOUSE, KOTTUKADU POST, VADAKKUMPURAM P O, NORTH PARAVOOR-683521.** **BY ADVS. SRI.LEEJOY MATHEW.V. MANOJ KUMAR P.T** ## **RESPONDENTS:** |**1**|**KERALA STATE HANDLOOM APEX CO-OPERATIVE-**| |---|---| ||**SOCIETY LTD. H-232(HANTEX), REPRESENTED BY ITS**| ||**MANAGING DIRECTOR, P.BO.NO.64, OOTUKUZHY,**| ||**THIRUVANANTHAPURAM-695001.**| |**2**|**MANAGING DIRECTOR,**| ||**HANTEX HEAD OFFICE, P.B.NO. 64, OOTUKUZHY,**| ||**THIRUVANANTHAPURAM-695001.**| |**3**|**FINANCE MANAGER,**| ||**HANTEX HEAD OFFICE, P.B.NO.64, OOTUKUZHY,**| ||**THIRUVANANTHAPURAM-695001.**| ## **R1-2 BY ADV. SRI.N.RAGHURAJ** **THIS WRIT PETITION (CIVIL) HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 03-06-2020, THE COURT ON 04-06-2020 DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** ## **SATHISH NINAN, J. = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = W.P.(C) No.27608 of 2019 = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = Dated this the 4[th] day of June, 2020** ## **JUDGMENT** The petitioner is the wife of Sri.Lalan P.P. (late) who retired from the services of the first respondent Society on 31.08.2014. The petitioner is aggrieved by the action of the Society in withholding of a portion of the gratuity and terminal leave surrender amounts due to the deceased, banking upon a consent letter obtained from late Lalan against his free will and under compelling circumstances. 2. According to the Society, amounts were due from Sri.Lalan to the Society under the head 'business advance amounts', and the dues were appropriated from the pensionary benefits as per the decision of the Board of Directors, on the consent of Sri.Lalan. The balance amount was paid to Lalan in full satisfaction of his claims. The petitioner is not entitled to stake any further claim under the heads of gratuity and leave W.P.(C) No.27608 of 2019 :- 2 :- surrender, is the contention. Along with the counter affidavit filed by the respondents, they produced the consent letter and the receipt for payment of the allegedly eligible amounts, as Ext.R1(a) and R1(b) respectively. 3. Heard Sri.Leejoy Mathew.V, learned counsel for the petitioner and Sri.N.Raghuraj, learned counsel for the respondents. 4. There is no dispute that the gratuity amount and the terminal leave surrender amounts payable to late Lalan were `8,04,979/- and `4,37,830/respectively. 5. Though it is claimed that there were unsettled 'business advance accounts' and an amount of `7,64,854/- was due from Sri.Lalan thereunder, admittedly no disciplinary proceedings were initiated against him. There was no adjudicatory proceeding with notice to him, to fix the liability if any. In the absence of any such proceedings, the Society is not entitled to withhold the amounts payable. { _**See Philip v. Registrar of Co-operative Societies 2018 (3)**_ W.P.(C) No.27608 of 2019 :- 3 :- _**KLT 347 (DB)}**_ . Therefore, the Society is not entitled to appropriate any amounts from the retiral benefits of Lalan. 6. It is to overcome the aforesaid hurdle that the Society relies upon Exts.R1(a) and (b) the consent letter, to contend that Lalan had agreed for appropriating an amount of `7,64,854.99 from his retirement benefits. There is not much of a challenge that, dehors Exts.R1(a) and (b) the Society cannot appropriate any amounts due to Lalan. Therefore, essentially the question will be on the acceptability of Exts.R1(a) and R1(b). 7. Sri.Lalan died of cancer, within one month from execution of Ext.R1(a) consent letter. That Sri.Lalan, his wife-the petitioner and his mother were suffering from cancer is not disputed. According to the petitioner, the family was in dire need of money for medical expenses for the mother, Lalan and the petitioner, and for the needs of the family and children; and those compelling circumstances were taken advantage of by the respondent Society, prevailing upon the W.P.(C) No.27608 of 2019 :- 4 :- petitioner's husband to execute the consent deed. 8. Ext.P13 communication from the Managing Director of the Society to Sri.Lalan evidences such demand. Pursuant to Ext.P13, Sri.Lalan submitted Ext.P14 consent deed before the Society. The said consent deed narrated about the hardship faced by him and his family, and agreed for deduction but subject to further settlement of his retirement benefits. As evidenced by Ext.P15, the said consent deed was not accepted by the Society for the reason that in Ext.P14 Lalan reserved his claims for the remaining pensionary benefits. Through Ext.P15, the Society required Lalan to execute an unconditional consent deed agreeing for deduction of their alleged claim amount as a condition for disbursal of the balance. It is pursuant thereto that Ext.R1(a) consent deed was executed by Sri.Lalan. On execution of Ext.R1(a) consent deed, the amounts were paid on 09.08.2018 as evidenced by Ext.R1(b) receipt. Thereafter, within one month, Sri.Lalan died of cancer. The circumstances referred to above speak for themselves that, Sri.Lalan was, in the W.P.(C) No.27608 of 2019 :- 5 :- plight in which he and his family were placed, compelled to execute Ext.R1(a) consent deed and that it cannot be said to have been executed on free consent. The situation in which Sri.Lalan and family were placed necessitated them to execute Ext.R1(a) consent deed enabling the respondent Society to forfeit amounts from the retirement benefits payable to him, which otherwise could not have been appropriated. As noticed above, the facts and circumstances obtaining are too glaring and do not need any further evidence to hold against Ext.R1(a) consent deed. I hold Exts.R1(a) the consent deed and R(1)(b) the consequent discharge document, as vitiated and not operative against the rights of Sri.Lalan. He having expired, the right to sue survives on the petitioner-wife and she has the locus standi to maintain this petition. 9. Since on the undisputed facts and documents the claim urged in this writ petition could be adjudicated, I reject the contention of the learned counsel for the respondent Society that the validity of Exts.R1(a) and R1(b) consent deed and W.P.(C) No.27608 of 2019 :- 6 :- receipt are questions of fact to be decided by the statutory forum either under the Co-operative Societies Act or the Payment of Gratuity Act. On the facts obtaining, it would be harsh to drive the petitioner to another round of litigation. Incidentally I do notice that, there is no other ground of challenge against the maintainability of the writ petition. Accordingly, this writ petition is disposed of directing the respondents to pay the amount of `7,64,854/- withheld from the service benefits of deceased Lalan, within a period of one month from the date of receipt of a copy of this judgment. In the event of failure to pay the amount within the time stipulated, the said amount will carry interest at the rate of 9% per annum from the date of this judgment. Sd/- **SATHISH NINAN JUDGE** kns/- //True Copy// P.S. to Judge **WP(C).No.27608 OF 2019(A)** ## **APPENDIX** ## **PETITIONER'S/S EXHIBITS:** |**EXHIBIT P1 AND P1A**|**TRUE COPIES OF THE LAWYER NOTICE DATED 2ND**| |---|---| ||**JULY 2015 AND 16TH JULY 2015.**| |**EXHIBIT P2**|**A TRUE COPY OF THE REPLY NOTICE.**| |**EXHIBIT P3, P4, P5,**|**TRUE COPIES OF THE OFFICE COMMUNICATION**| |**P6, P7,P8,P9,P10**|**ISSUED BY THE 1ST RESPONDENT CONFIRMING**| ||**RECEIPTS VOUCHERS DATED 3.12.2007, 9.7.2007,**| ||**14.06.2008, 31.3.2008, 24.9.2010,**| ||**30.07.2015, 10.10.2015, 27.04.2016.**| |**EXHIBIT P11**|**TRUE COPY OF THE REPRESENTATION FILED BEFORE**| ||**THE PRESIDENT OF THE 1ST RESPONDENT.**| |**EXHIBIT P12**|**TRUE COPIES OF THE REPRESENTATION FILED**| ||**BEFORE THE 2ND RESPONDENT MANAGING DIRECTOR**| ||**DATED 12.1.2018.**| |**EXHIBIT P13**|**TRUE COPY OF THE LETTER ISSUED BY THE 2ND**| ||**RESPONDENT DATED 19.02.2018.**| |**EXHIBIT P14**|**TRUE COPY OF THE UNDERSTANDING DATED**| ||**31.3.2018 FILED ALONG WITH THE COVERING**| ||**LETTER.**| |**EXHIBIT P15**|**A TRUE COPY OF THE LETTER DATED 30.4.2018**| ||**ISSUED BY THE 2ND RESPONDENT.**| **-----**