Sarala, Soumya and Soubish v. Ansal Kadavilparambu (H) and ICICI Lombard General Insurance Co. Ltd., and others
Case Details & Bench
- Court
- High Court of Kerala
- Hon'ble Judges
- C. T. Ravikumar
- Anil K. Narendran
- Judgment Date
- 2017-07-17
- Court Decision / Holding
- Appeal partly allowed. The monthly income is reassessed at Rs. 8,450 (after applying 15% future-prospects uplift), with the multiplier unchanged. This yields Rs. 7,43,600 for loss of dependency after combining with the Tribunal’s earlier Rs. 3,96,000. Following Rajesh, funeral expenses are increased to Rs. 20,000 and loss of consortium to Rs. 1,00,000 for the widow, increasing the total additional compensation to Rs. 4,57,600. The compensation is to be apportioned among appellants in the ratio 50:25:25. The third respondent (insurer) is directed to deposit the enhanced amount with interest at 8% per annum from the date of petition until realization. No order as to costs.
- Final Disposition
- Appeal disposed of; enhanced compensation awarded; no costs. Third respondent-insurer directed to deposit enhanced amount with 8% interest.
Parties to the Case
Appellants / Petitioners
- Sarala
- Soumya
- Sou b i sh
Respondents
- Ansal Kadavilparambu (H), Eloor Kara, Ernakulam Dist-683 501
- Similal Mootheriyil House, Vaikom - 686 141
- The ICICI Lombard General Insurance Co. Ltd, Kottayam - 686 001
Legal Representation & Advocates
Counsels for Petitioners
- • A.P.Subhash
- • T. Suja
- • Gireesh C.H.
Counsels for Respondents
- • Sri R. Ajith Kumar Varma
Case Synopsis & Summary
This Kerala High Court judgment arises from MACA No. 1192 of 2012, challenging an award under Section 166 of the Motor Vehicles Act in O.P.(MV) No. 1860 of 2008. The death of Purushothaman, husband of the first appellant and father of two appellants, occurred after an accident on 22.07.2008 when the motorcycle he rode as a pillion was struck by a lorry driven by the first respondent. The Tribunal awarded Rs. 4,54,550 with 7.5% interest. The appellants contend that the monthly income fixed by the Tribunal was too low and that income and occupation averments in the petition were not properly considered. The court notes that Ext. A8 (KBOWWB / Welfare Board identity card) was not proved and that the deceased was a manual worker aged 53. Relying on Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd., the court concludes that, even in the absence of cogent evidence, the monthly income should be Rs. 6,500, with a 15% addition for future prospects due to age, yielding Rs. 8,450 per month for calculation. The multiplier is upheld. The court reassesses loss of dependency and awards Rs. 7,43,600, granting an additional Rs. 3,47,600 after deducting the Tribunal’s prior award. Drawing on Rajesh v. Rajbir Singh, the court increases funeral expenses to Rs. 20,000 and awards Rs. 1,00,000 for loss of consortium to the widow, with total additional compensation of Rs. 4,57,600. Apportionment among the appellants is fixed at 50:25:25, and the third respondent-insurer is directed to deposit the amount with 8% interest. The appeal is disposed of with no costs.
Provisions of Law Cited
Legal Doctrines & Maxims
- Future prospects/addition to income for loss of dependency (Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd.)
- Minimum funeral expenses and enhancement of damages for loss of consortium (Rajesh and others v. Rajbir Singh and others)
- Assessment of income for manual workers even without cogent evidence (Ramachandrappa)
- Application of ratio from appellate decisions to fix heads of compensation (funeral expenses, loss of consortium)
Submissions & Arguments
Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners
The appellants contend that the Tribunal deliberately fixed the deceased’s monthly income at Rs. 6,500, ignoring the petition’s averments of occupation and income. They rely on Ext. A8 (an identity card from the Kerala Building and Other Construction Workers Welfare Board) to show the deceased’s occupation as a mason; although this document was not proved before the Tribunal, the appellants argue that the law requires consideration of presumed income and that Ramachandrappa supports increasing the income to reflect cost of living and price-index advances. The age of the deceased (53) and the absence of cogent evidence about occupation justify applying a future-prospects addition. They urge fixation of monthly income at Rs. 8,450 for computation, with the appropriate multiplier. They also seek enhanced funeral expenses and loss of consortium on the strength of Rajesh, asserting the need to ensure fair and adequate compensation to survivors.
Contentions of Respondents
The respondents submit that the deceased was a manual worker whose income was not proven by cogent evidence; they argue the Tribunal’s fixation at Rs. 6,500 should stand, given the lack of verifiable earnings data. They contend that no reliable evidence shows a higher earning capacity, and that the award should be maintained with appropriate multiplier as per the age of the deceased. They rely on the established norm that compensation be computed with reasonable, not speculative, income levels, while acknowledging the Tribunal’s order on liability and interest. They do not dispute liability but resist higher heads of damages beyond what the Tribunal awarded.
Cited Precedents (2)
| Case Name | Citation | Treatment | Explanation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd. | (2011) 13 SCC 236 | Positive | Court uses Ramachandrappa to justify adding future prospects to the income of a deceased manual worker when cogent evidence is lacking. |
| Rajesh and others v. Rajbir Singh and others | (2013) 9 SCC 54 | Positive | Court applies Rajesh for enhanced funeral expenses and loss of consortium, aligning compensation with Apex Court standards. |
Diagnostic Tool
Does this judgment govern your specific facts?
Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Sarala, Soumya and Soubish v. Ansal Kadavilparambu (H) and ICICI Lombard General Insurance Co. Ltd., and others and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.
Extracted Judgment Text
Exact text extracted from official judgment records.