High CourtDivision BenchApplication allowed.

Punjab and Sind Bank v. Mohinder Pal Singh

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No. 8476 of 2002
Neutral Citation:2005 (Supp) 4 SCR 989

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • H. K. Sema
  • S. B. Sinha
  • A. K. Mathur
Judgment Date
2005-10-28
Court Decision / Holding
Application allowed. The Bank is directed to permit the Applicant to join his duties and to be reinstated in service with all consequential benefits and continuity in service, excluding the period during which he was on leave. No interest on the sum paid nor costs awarded. The Bank may deduct the amount actually paid or payable to the Applicant from his account, if any.
Final Disposition
Application allowed.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Mohinder Pal Singh

Respondents

  • Punjab and Sind Bank and Ors.

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Jagat Arora
  • • Rajiv Nanda
  • • Rajat Arora
  • • Ms. Ritu Arora

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Ms. Meenakshi Arora
  • • Shailendra Bhardwaj

Case Synopsis & Summary

Punjab and Sind Bank v Mohinder Pal Singh concerns the Punjab and Sind Bank Employee's Voluntary Retirement Scheme 2000, under which employees seeking voluntary retirement were eligible for an ex gratia payment and other benefits (gratuity, pension, leave encashment) in addition to the ex gratia. The applicant withdrew his option before its acceptance by the Bank. Subsequently, a small amount towards leave encashment was deposited in his savings account without any communication that this amount formed part of the Scheme's benefits. He closed his account to prevent further deposits. The High Court had struck down the Scheme as invalid; however, the Supreme Court in Swarnakar had laid down certain propositions. The Bank argued that by the deposit and by not objecting, the applicant had knowledge of the right and could be deemed to have waived it, and relied on estoppel to deny renewal. The applicant argued that he never accepted the scheme, that the deposit was not communicated as part of the Scheme, and that his withdrawal precluded any waiver. The Court held that waiver requires knowledge of the existing right; here, the applicant did not know the deposit constituted a scheme payment, and the mere deposit cannot amount to waiver. The application is allowed; reinstatement with continuity, etc.

Provisions of Law Cited

Constitution of India, Article 12Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972Punjab and Sind Bank Employees' Voluntary Retirement Scheme, 2000PNB (Employees) Pension Regulations, 1995

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Waiver of a right implies knowledge of the existing right.

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The applicant contends that withdrawal of the option before acceptance does not amount to waiver. He was never informed that the deposit in his account formed part of the Scheme benefits; the Bank had not offered the total due amount (including ex gratia and other terminal benefits). His conduct cannot be construed as waiver in the absence of knowledge. The Scheme’s main benefit was the ex gratia payment; the Bank, a State under Article 12, was required to deal fairly with its employees and to make a proper offer. The deposit of a small leave encashment sum cannot be treated as acceptance or waiver. The Bank’s unilateral actions, and failure to inform, warrant reinstatement with continuity of service and consequential benefits, excluding the period of leave, and without interest or costs.

Contentions of Respondents

The Bank argues that deposits in the employee’s account, even when not communicated, evidence the employee’s knowledge of benefits and potential waiver. Relying on the decisions in Bank of India v. O. P. Swarnakar and S. Ranveer Singh Bawa, it contends that withdrawal from an offer and subsequent acceptance by the Bank can create an estoppel. It asserts that the offers under the Scheme could not be accepted after expiry and that the Scheme itself was not invalid; employees who accepted benefits or failed to object are bound by rights under the Scheme. The Bank maintains parity of treatment and argues for dismissal of the petition or restricting relief, pointing to the need to prevent arbitrary reversals of offers previously communicated or accepted by other employees.

Cited Precedents (2)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Bank of India and Ors. v. O. P. Swarnakar and Ors.[2003] 2 SCC 721DistinguishedThe Court considered this decision but held that its facts do not apply to the present case; the circumstances differ, especially regarding withdrawal, acceptance, and the presence of a unilateral bank offer.
Punjab and Sind Bank and Anr. v. S. Ranveer Singh Bawa and Anr.[2004] 4 SCC 484DistinguishedThe decision on estoppel based on deposits in savings accounts was not applicable to the present facts; the conduct of the applicant did not demonstrate knowledge or waiver in the same way.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Punjab and Sind Bank v. Mohinder Pal Singh and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

A B # PUNJAB AND SINO BANK AND ORS. _V._ # MOHINDER PAL SINGH AND ORS. OCTOBER 28, 2005 [H.K. SEMA, S.B. SINHA AND A.K. MATHUR, JJ.] ## _Service Law:_ c _Voluntary Retirement Scheme-Punjab and Sind Bank-Employee withdrawing his option to avail benefit of the Scheme before its acceptance by the Bank-Bank depositing in employee's account small amount towards leave encashment-Held, waiver of a right implies the knowledge of the existing right-At no point time the employee was informed that the amount was deposited in his account as part of benefit under the Scheme-Employee cannot be said to have waived his right to continue in se'rvice-Besides leave_ .. _encashment benefit is one of the additional benefits-The main benefit of the Scheme indisputably was the_ ex-gratia _payment which was not paid to employee-An employee even if contained in service would have been entitled to the additional benefits which are in the nature of terminal benefits-The Bank is a 'State' within the meaning of Article 12 of the Constitution-Fair and better dealings from a 'State'_ vis-a-vis _its own employees is expectedJt is not for an employee, who did not accept that his offer had validly been accepted in terms of the Scheme to approach the Bank for payment of his dues-It was for the Bank to make such an offer-Employee is entitled to be reinstated in services with all consequential benefits and continuity in serviceWaiver-Constitution of India-Article I 2._ _Bank of India and Ors._ v. _O.P. Swarnakar and Ors.,_ (2003] 2 SCC 721, relied on. _Punjab and Sind Bank and Anr._ v. _S. Ranveer Singh Bawa and Anr.,_ G (2004] 4 sec 484, held inapplicable. CIVIL APPEL LA TE JURISDICTION : I.A. No. 7 In Civil Appeal No. 8476 of 2002. H 989 , 990 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (2005] SUPP. 4 S.C.R .. ~. A From the Judgment and Order dated 3.4.2002 of the Punjab and Haryana. High Court in W.P. No. 1458 of 2001. Jagat Arora, Rajiv Nanda, Rajat Arora and Ms. Ritu Arora for the Appellants. B Ms. Meenakshi Arora and Shailendra Bhardwaj for the Respondents. The following Order of the Court was delivered : ## **ORDER** C Application of a decision of this Court in _Bank of India and Ors._ v. 0. _P. Swarnakar and Ors.,_ [2003] 2 SCC 721 falls for consideration in this application. Before, however, we advert to the said question, we may notice the admitted facts. D Shri Amarjit Singh Sahni, the Applicant herein at all material times was working in the Punjab and Sind Bank (for short "th~ Bank") as a Cashiercum-Clerk at the Zonal Office Haryana. The Bank adopted a scheme known as "the Punjab and Sind Bank Employee's Voluntary Retirement Scheme, 2000" (for short "the Scheme") which was to remain in operation from E 1.12.2000 to 31.12.2000. In terms of the Scheme, those who sought for voluntary .retirement were entitled to accept _ex gratia_ payments as specified therein as also the other benefits which are as under: • "Amount of _ex gratia_ F An employee seeking voluntary retirement under the Scheme will be entitled to the ex gratia amount mentioned below in para (a) or (b), whichever is less: (a) 60 days' salary (pay plus stagnation increments plus special pay plus dearness relief) for each completed year of service; or G (b) salary for the number of months of service left; Other benefits An employee seeking voluntary retirement under the Scheme will be eligible for the following benefits _in addition_ to the _ex gratia_ amount mentioned in para 6 above of this Scheme: **H** PUNJAB AND SINO BANK _v._ MOHINDER PAL SINGH 991 '· f. (i) Gratuity as per the Payment of Gratuity Act, 1972 or gratuity payable under the Service Rules, as the case may be, as per existing rules. (ii)(a) Pension (including commuted value of pension) as per PNB (Employees) Pension Regulations, 1995. B or (b) Bank's contribution towards PF as per existing rules. (iii) Leave encashment as per existing rules." The Applicant opted to avail the benefit of the said Scheme wherefor C he filed an application on 15.12.2000. He, however, withdrew the said offer on or about 22.12.2000. It is not the case of the Bank that pior thereto the application filed by the application was accepted. It is furthermore not in dispute that on 29.01.2001, the Applicant filed a writ petition in the Punjab and Haryana High Court being C.W.P. No. 1458 D of 200 I. The matter came up before the High Court on 31.01.200 I whereupon notices were issued and an interim order was passed directing that if the applicant had not been relieved from service, he would be allowed to continu~ therein. However, he was not permitted to join his service by the Bank on the plea that he had been relieved from duties on 28.01.200 I. Employees who E had, however, not been relieved were permitted to continue. It is furthermore not in dispute that the Applicant had a Saving Banks Account with the Bank wherein a sum of Rs. 1422.21 was deposited on 9.03.2001. According to the Applicant, as he apprehended that the Respondent might deposit some other amount in terms of the aforementioned Scheme in F his account, he closed the same on or about 24.04.2001. The employees of the Bank as also other nationalized banks filed writ applications questioning the legality and validity of the Scheme. Some writ 0 applications were also filed seeking for issuance of writ of or in the nature of mandamus directing the respective Banks to pay unto them their lawful G dues strictly in terms of the Scheme. The said writ applications were allowed by the Punjab and Haryana High Court holding the Scheme to be invalid in law. The Bank as also the other banks filed applications for grant of special leave before this Court questioning the correctness of the said judgment. H SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2005] SUPP. 4 S.C.R. 992 A These appeals upon grant of special leave were disposed of on I 7th December, 2002 in _O.P. Swarnakar_ (supra) wherein this Court opined: - (i) If the Scheme had been amended as a result whereof the employees entertained an apprehension that they would not even receive the entire benefits, they were entitled to revoke the offer. - B - (ii) An offer made by an employee _ipso facto_ would not amount to a resignation in _praesenti_ as it was to apply on a future date and withdrawal thereof before acceptance thereof by the employer would be valid in law. - (iii) The offers could not be accepted before expiry of the Scheme. - c - (iv) The Scheme as such was not invalid in law. - (iii) However, if those employees had accepted the ex gratia payment or any other benefit under the Scheme, they could not have resiled therefrom. D It is not in dispute that the Bank had not accepted the offer of the Applicant before he withdrew therefrom. It is also not in dispute that no such communication was ever made to the Applicant. It is furthermore not in dispute that the Applicant was entitled to a sum of Rs. I 0,50,000/- by way of benefits in terms of the Scheme. The said amount had not been offered to E the Applicant till date. Even out of the total amount of leave encashment of Rs. 14,459.21, a sum of Rs. 13,037 was deducted and only a sum of Rs. 1,422.21 was credited in the account of the Applicant on 9.03.200 I. The Bank accepts that the Applicant had never been communicated that the said amount was being F deposited in terms of the Scheme. When questioned as to why the amount of Rs. I 0,50,000/- or any other amo:mt to which the Applicant might have been entitled to by way of the Scheme had not been offered to the Applicant, the learned counsel for the Bank faintly suggested that the same could not be done as the Applicant closed his bank account. We cannot accept such G contention. It is not a case where after the expiry of the Scheme, an ·employee requested the Bank to be permitted to withdraw from option. The only question which, therefore, arises for consideration is as to whether the Applicant herein waived his right. Waiver of a right implies his knowledge of the existing right. A person H cannot be said to have waived his right unless it is established that his conduct ., 993 PUNJAB AND SINO BANK _v._ MOHINDER PAL SINGH • was such so as to enable the Court to arrive at a conclusion that he did so with knowledge that he had a right but despite the same acted in such a manner which would imply that he has waived the same. The Applicant in the instant case not only withdrew his offer before the same was accepted, he even filed a writ petition when he came to know that the Bank had unilaterally accepted offers of certain employees despite the B same having been withdrawn and terminated their services with immediate effect. As noticed herein before, the judgment in 0. _P. Swarnakar_ (supra) was delivered on 17th December, 2002. Immediately thereafter, he issued a notice that he be permitted to report for duty as he had not accepted the retiral benefits. His representation went unheeded. He thereafter sent legal notices C on 22nd February, 2003 and 28th March, 2003. The stand of the Bank at all material times was and still is that a sum of Rs. 14,459.21 was paid to him by way of leave encashment of 31 days upon deduction of income tax therefor. But, it is accepted that at no point of time he had been told that the said amount had been deposited in his account as a part of benefit under the Scheme. Even, there had been no communication to the Applicant by the D Bank that he is being paid out of the total leave encashment of Rs. 14,459 .21, after deducting a huge sum of Rs. 13,037, a sum of Rs. 1,422.21. We fail to understand as to how out of the said amount of Rs. 14,459.21, a sum of more than Rs. 13,000/- could.be deducted by way of income tax. Leave encashment benefit is one of the additional benefits. The main benefit of the Scheme E indisputably was the ex-gratia payment. An employee even if continued in service would have been entitled to the additional benefits which are in the nature of terminal benefits. It is also beyond anybody's comprehension as to why despite expiry of about five years the main benefit of the Scheme or in any event the total _p_ benefit amounting to Rs. I 0,50,000 to which the Applicant was otherwise entitled to in terms of the Scheme had not been paid to him. The Bank is a 'State' within the meaning of Article 12 of the Constitution of India. We expect fair and better dealings from a 'State' _vis-a-vis_ its own employees. It is not for an employee who did not accept that his offer had G validly been accepted in terms of the Scheme could not have been expected to approach the Bank for payment of his dues. It was for the Bank to make such an offer. The Scheme says so. The law in this behalf is also clear. He had not even been offered his salary or notice pay. H SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2005] SUPP. 4 S.C.R. 994 A In a case of this nature, the court is entitled to take into consideration the entire facts and circumstances of the matter and for that purpose the conduct of the Bank is also relevant. We, therefore, in the peculiar facts of this case, are not in a position to accept that by reason of such a deposit of a meager sum of Rs. 1,422.21 in B respect whereof the applicant had no knowledge, and in relation whereto he had not been informed, and only because he closed the account so as to prevent the Bank from depositing any further amount in his account cannot be said to have waived his right to continue in service. The learned counsel appearing on behalf of the Bank relied upon the C decision of this Court in _Punjab_ & _Sind Bank and Anr._ v. S. _Ranveer Singh Bawa and Anr.,_ (2004] 4 SCC 484. Therein, having regard to the facts and circumstances of the case, this Court clearly came to the conclusion: D E F "8. From the averments herein, it is clear that Respondent I had two savings bank accounts Nos. 4775 and 4777. He had withdrawn his option on 22-12-2000 and yet without any objection he receives three credits in his account on 27-12-2000, 25-1-2001 and 29-1-2001 on account of salary (including notice pay). Thereafter, he repays his car Joan; invests Rs 30,000 in PPF and Rs 1,42,406.40 in fixed dep011it for three years, which is a Jong-term investment. Therefore, the principle of estoppel extensively discussed by this Court in the case of _Bank of India_ v. _O.P. Swarnakar_ applies to the facts herein. _The conduct of Respondent 1 indicates his knowledge about payments in his accounts; that he never objected to such payments and that he had appropriated the amounts for his benefit. Therefore, he cannot resile from the Scheme._ " (Emphasis supplied) The said decision has no application to the fact of the present case. G The conduct of the Applicant herein does not indicate any knowledge about the payment in his account or his willful appropriation thereof as to constitute a waiver. The Applicant had contended that even the Bank had acted in a discriminatory manner as in the account of certain employees some deposits had been made but in respect of others, no such deposits had been H made. The said allegation also has not been denied. 995 PUNJAB AND SINO BANK v. MOHINDER PAL SINGH For the reasons aforementioned, this application is allowed. The Bank A is hereby directed to permit the Applicant to join his duties. He is entitled to be reinstated in service with all consequential benefits and continuity in service except for the period during which he was on leave. However, in the facts and circumstances of this case, we do not intend to award any interest on the said sum or any costs against the Respondent. The Respondent shall, however, be entitled to deduct the amount actually paid to the Applicant or B payable in his account, if any. R.P. Application allowed.