High CourtDivision BenchAppeal dismissed

P.C. Chacko v. Chairman, Life Insurance Corporation of India

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No. 5322 of 2007
Neutral Citation:2007 (12) SCR 353

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • S. B. Sinha
  • Harjit Singh Bedi
Judgment Date
2007-11-20
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal dismissed.
Final Disposition
Appeal dismissed

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • P. C. Chacko
  • Anr.

Respondents

  • Chairman, Life Insurance Corporation of India
  • Ors. (Life Insurance Corporation of India and others)

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • R. Sathish

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Paramjit Singh Patwalia
  • • S. Rajappa

Case Synopsis & Summary

This appeal concerns Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938 and the validity of repudiating a life insurance policy for misstatement or suppression of material facts within two years of issue. The insured, Chackochan, took a policy on 21 February 1987 and died on 6 July 1987. He had undergone a major operation for Adenoma Thyroid four years earlier, but answered in the proposal form that he had never had any operation. The Life Insurance Corporation repudiated the policy on 10 February 1989. The appellants, as nominees, sued for the insured amount; the trial court decreed in their favor, the single judge of the Kerala High Court dismissed the insurer’s appeal; but the Division Bench set aside and allowed the insurer’s appeal, holding that non-disclosure of a material fact relating to health was a valid ground for repudiation. The Supreme Court, by Sinha, J., upheld Section 45’s two‑year limit and clarified the effect of misstatement and the process of repudiation, emphasizing uberrimae fidei and the duty to disclose material facts. It stressed that a deliberate falsehood with knowledge of consequences may render the contract void, especially where risk is material, while recognizing that social security aims must be balanced with fairness. The appeal is dismissed; the insurer’s repudiation stands and no costs are awarded.

Provisions of Law Cited

Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938Article 12 of the Constitution of India

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Uberrimae fidei (utmost good faith)
  • Duty to disclose material facts
  • Bona fidae (good faith)
  • Estoppel (as it relates to misstatements)

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellants contended that the Division Bench erred in treating non-disclosure of a prior major operation as a material misstatement justifying repudiation within two years of policy issue. They argued that the trial court’s findings showed the insured died of polyneuritis, not connected to the Adenoma Thyroid operation four years earlier, and that there was no material link to the risk disclosed in the policy. The appellants urged that Section 45 is narrowly concerned with material misstatements or suppressed facts directly affecting risk and that repudiation within two years does not automatically follow from every misstatement. They emphasised the distinction between representations and warranties while invoking uberrimae fidei as a general principle, and urged that the insured’s brother’s role as an LIC agent and the declaration of truth should mitigate the insurer’s claim. They relied on Mithoolal Nayak and Life Insurance Corporation of India v. Asha Goel to argue that the social security aim must be balanced with fair dealing; the resulting finding should not automatically negate the policy absent proven material fraud.

Contentions of Respondents

Respondents argued that Section 45 prescribes repudiation within two years where the misstatement concerns a material fact that alters risk, and that suppression of such a fact is a valid ground for voiding the contract. They submitted that the insured’s major thyroid operation had a direct nexus with health risk and, given the policy’s purpose of social security, misstatements of such nature justify repudiation. They highlighted that the insured and his brother, LIC agent, signed a declaration that there were no untrue averments; the two-year limit under Section 45 was thus triggered. They relied on Mithoolal Nayak and Life Insurance Corporation of India v. Asha Goel to support that contracts of insurance are uberrima tides and misstatements or suppressions may lead to rescission, particularly when material facts are involved. They urged the court to affirm the Division Bench’s ruling that non-disclosure of material facts related to health constitutes a valid ground for repudiation.

Cited Precedents (6)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Mithoolal Nayak v. Life Insurance Corporation of India[1962] Suppl. 2 SCR 571PositiveUsed to establish that suppression or misstatement of material facts can justify repudiation if fraudulent or material in nature.
Life Insurance Corporation of India & Ors. v. Asha Goel (Smt) & Anr.[2001] SCC 160PositiveCited to emphasize uberrimae fidei and duty to disclose material facts, supporting rescission when facts are misrepresented.
All India General Insurance Co. Ltd. & Anr. v. S.P. MaheshwariAIR 1960 Madras 484DistinguishedDescribed as inapplicable to the facts, not controlling precedent.
Allianz Und Stuttgart er Life Insurance Bank Ltd. v. Hemanta Kumar DasAIR 1938 CAL 641Mentioned OnlyCited to discuss age-related considerations, not central to the present issue.
Ratan Lal & Anr. v. Metropolitan Insurance Co. Ltd.AIR 1959 PAT 413PositiveCited for the proposition that uberrimae fidei requires disclosure of material facts affecting risk.
S.P. Maheshwari (supra)(supra)DistinguishedNot treated as controlling; the decision is said to be of no assistance to the appellants.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against P.C. Chacko v. Chairman, Life Insurance Corporation of India and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

.- A ## P.C. CHACKO AND ANR. _v._ # CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA AND ORS. ## B NOVEMBER 20, 2007 ## [S.B. SINHA A~D HARJIT SINGH BEDI, JJ.] ## _Insurance Act, 1938:_ c - _s. 45-Life Insurance policy-Non-disclosure and mis-statement in proposal form-Repudiation of policy within two years-Legality of-HELD: A deliberate wrong answer which has a great bearing on contract of insurance, if discovered, may lead to the policy being_ D _vitiated in law-On facts, it has not been shown that repudiation of contract of insurance was not done by insurer with extreme care and caution or was otherwise invalid in law._ One 'C' took an insurance policy on 21.2.1987. He died on E[6. ][7.1987. ][The claim of ][his ][nominees, the appellants, ][was ][not acceded ] to by the respondent-Corporation for non-disclosure and mis-statement in the proposal form. The insured had undergone an operation for Adenoma Thyroid. But in the proposal form in answer to the question as to whether he ever had any operation he replied 'No'. Therefore, F[the insurer repudiated the ][policy ][on ][10.2.1989. ][However, ][the suit ][filed ] by the appellants for recovery of the insured amount was decreed by the trialcourt and the single Judge of the High Court declined to interfere. But the Division Bench of the High Court allowed the appeal of the insurer holding that the non-disclosure related to a material fact which G[was ][required ][to ][be ][answered correctly. Aggrieved, the plaintiffs ][filed ] the instant appeal. ... , . ' . Dismissing the appeal, the Court HELD: 1.1. An insurance policy should not be obtained with a 352 H __ ,,, ## P.C. CHACKO _v._ CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE 353 CORPORATION OF INDIA fraudulent act by the insured. Proposal can be repudiated if a fraudulent A act is discovered. The proposer must show that his intention was _bona fide._ It must appear from the face of the record. A deliberate wrong answer which has a great bearing on the contract of insurance, if discovered may lead to the policy being vitiated in law. Ifa person makes a wrong statement with knowledge of consequence thereof, he would B ordinarily be estopped from pleading that even if such a fact had been disclosed, it would not have made any material change. [Para 15and16] (359-A-C; 358-G-H] 1.2. In the instant case, the basic fact of the matter is not in dispute. C The insured had undergone an operation for Adenoma Thyroid. It was a major operation. Although the said operation was undergone by him four years prior to the date of the proposal made by him, he did not disclose thereabout prior to obtaining the insurance policy. He died within six months from the date of taking of the policy. In a case of this nature D it was not necessary for the insurer to establish that the suppression was fraudulently made by the policy holder or that he must have been aware at the time of making the statement that the same was false or that the fact was suppressed which was material to disclose. [Para 10 and16] (357-B-C; 359-B-C] E _Mithoolal Nayak_ v. _Life Insurance Corporation of India,_ (1962] Suppl. 2 SCR 571 and _Life Insurance Corpn. of India & Ors. v.Asha Goel (Smt) & Anr.,_ [2001] SCC 160, relied on. _All India General Insurance Co. Ltd. and Anr._ v. _S.P. Maheshwari,_ AIR (1960) Madras 484, held inapplicable. F _Allianz Und Stuttgart er Life Insurance Bank Ltd._ v. _Hemanta Kumar Das_ AIR (1938) CAL 641, cited. -l _Ratan Lal & Anr._ v. _Metropolitan Insurance Co. Ltd_ AIR (1959) PAT 413, referred to. 1.3. Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938 postulates repudiation of the policy within a period of two years. The Statute, therefore, itself provides for the limitation for valid repudiation of an insurance policy. H 354 SUPREME COURT REPORTS (2007] 12 S.C.R. .- ' - A It takes into account the social security aspect of the matter. It has not been shown in the instant case that repudiation of the contract of insurance was not done by the respondent with extreme care and caution or was otherwise invalid in law. [Para 12 and21) [358-A-C; 361-G) 1.4. Life Insurance Corporation being a State within the meaning B of Article 12 of the Constitution oflndia, its action must be fair, just and equitable. This is nota case where the contract ofinsurance or a clause thereof is unreasonable, unfair or irrational. It is also not the case of the appellants that in framing the questionnaire in the application/ C proposal form, the respondents had acted unjustifiably or the conditions imposed are unconstitutional. No case has been made out for interference with the impugned judgment B [Para 20 and26] [360-H; 361-A-B; 363-D) CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION: Civil Appeal No. 5322 of D 2007. From the final Judgment and Order dated 17.12.2004 of the High Court ofKerala at Emakulam in AF.A. No. 18 of2000. R. Sathish for the Appellants. E Paramjit Singh Patwalia, S. Rajappa for the Respondents. The Judgment of the Court was delivered by S.B. SINHA, J. 1. Leave granted. F 2. Application of Section 45 of the Insurance Act, 1938 is in question in this appeal which arises out of a judgment and order dated 17th December, 2004 passed by a Division Bench of the High Court ofKerala at Emakulam in AF.A. No. 18 of2000 setting aside the judgment and order of a learned Single Judge dated 23rd September, 2000 passed in G Appeal Suit No.633 of 1993 confirming the judgment and decree passed _t--_ by the Subordinate Judge ofKozhikode in OS No. 240of1990 dated 27thFebruary, 1993. 3. Plaintiffs in the suit are the appellants herein. They filed the said H suit _inter alia_ for recovery of the amount of insurance on the death of ## P.C. CHACKO _v._ CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE 355 CORPORATION OF INDIA [SINHA, J.] one Chackochan (hereinafter referred to as 'the insured'). The insured A took an insurance policy on 21st February, 1987. He died on 6th July, 1987. On his death, the appellants herein claimed the insured amount. On the premise that the insured suppressed material facts, the policy had been repudiated by the respondent on 10th February, 1989. Nondisclosure and mis-statement in the proposal form to the various questions B to which answers were given by the insured is said to be the reason for the aforementioned repudiation of the contract of insurance. 4. It now stands admitted that the insured had undergone an operation for Adenoma Thyroid. The particulars furnished by him while C filling up the application form for obtaining the said policy were as under:- "( a) Did you ever have any operation, accident or injury? The answer was "No". (b) Have your remained absent from place of your work on ground of health during the last 5 years? To which answer was "No". (c) What has been your state of health? The D answer was "good". The fact that the said answers were incorrect is not in dispute. The suit filed by the appellants, however, was decreed. ,. _ _,1,,' 5. On an appeal preferred by the respondents, on the premise that E despite such wrong answers, as the injured died on account of "polyneuritis", a learned Single Judge of the High Court opined that there was nothing to indicate that if the injured had disclosed the factum of previous operation, the appellant-Corporation might not have inclined to insure and insisted on a higher premium and thus there was no material F to show that the non-disclosure was of a material fact justifying repudiation of the policy by the Corporation. 6. On an intra court appeal, the Division Bench of the High Court, however, by reason of the impugned judgment opined that the parties are G bound by the warranty clause contained in the agreement which is also . clear from the declaration signed by the insured and the non-disclosure related to a material fact which was required to be answered correctly under question No.22(a). H 356 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2007] 12 S.C.R. A A 7. Mr. R. Sathish, learned counsel appearing on behalf cf the appellants would submit that a clear finding of fact having been arrived at by the trial court that despite undergoing Adenoma Thyroid operation four years prior to the date of proposal of policy, the cause of insured's death being "polyneuritis" which had no connection with the operation and the B judgment of the trial court having been affirmed by the learned Single Judge, should not have been interfered with by the Division Bench. Our attention was further drawn to the fact that the medical officer had noted a black mole on lowei aspect of left side of neck and from Ext. Al wherefrom it appeared that there had been no past history suggestive of C allergies, injuries, operations, diseases like rheumatic fever, syphilis etc. and the deceased having no other complaint due to operation, the impugned judgment cannot be sustained. 8. Life Insurance policy, it was submitted is a requirement of social D security. In that view of the matter, a suppression could not have been led to repudiation of policy, particularly when the doctor who examined the insured was appointed by the respondent-Corporation itself. Our attention in this behalfhas been dra'-'11 to the decision of the Madras High Court in _All India General Insurance Co. Ltd. and Anr._ v. _S.P._ E _Maheshwari_ : AIR (1960) Madras 484 for the proposition that there exists a distinction between a 'representation' and a 'warranty'. 9. Mr. Patwalia, learned Senior Counsel, appearing on behalf of the respondents, on the other hand, submitted that having regard to the provisions contained in Section 45 of the Insurance Act and the policy F having been repudiated within a period of2 years, the impugned judgment should not be interfered with. It was submitted that undergoing of an operation having a direct nexus with the health of the insured, suppression thereof has rightly been considered with all seriousness by the Corporation. It was argued that the operation underwent by the insured being a major G one, was a material fact which ought to have been disclosed. Not only the insured had given wrong answers to the questions, his brother himself being a Life Insurance Corporation's agent and furthermore in view of the fact that a declaration was given by the insured that no untrue averment was made therein, the contract of insurance was null and void and all • · a.· H **==> picture [14 x 18] intentionally omitted <==** **----- Start of picture text -----**<br> '<br>**----- End of picture text -----**<br> ' ## P.C. CHACKO _v._ CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE 357 CORPORATION OF INDIA [SINHA, J.] monies which had been paid in respect thereof would stand forfeited to A the Corporation. Learned counsel for the Corporation has placed strong reliance on _Mithoolal Nayak_ v. _Life Insurance Corporation of India_ : [1962] Suppl 2 SCR 571. -, 10. The basic fact of the matter is not in dispute. The insured had B undergone an operation for Adenoma Thyroid. It was a major operation. Although the said operation was undergone by him four years prior to the date of the proposal made by him, he did not disclose thereabout prior to obtaining the insurance policy. We may notice that he died within six months from the date of taking of the policy i.e. on 6th July, 1987, policy c having taken on 21st February, 1987. 11. Section 45 of the Insurance Act reads as under:- "45. - Policy not to be called in question on ground of misstatement after two years, - D No policy of life insurance effected before the commencement of this Act shall after the expiry of two years from the date of commencement of this Act and no policy oflife insurance effected after the coming into force of this Act shall after the expiry of two years from the date on which it was effected, be called in question[E ] by an insurer on the ground that a statement made in the proposal for insurance or in any report of a medical officer, or referee, or friend of the insured, or in any other document leading to the issue of the policy, was inaccurate or false, unless the insurer shows that such statement was on a material matter or suppressed facts which[F ] it was material to disclose and that it was fraudulently made by the policy-holder and that the policy-holder knew at the time of making it that the statement was false or that it suppressed facts which it was material to disclose : G _-)_ Provided that nothing in this section shall prevent the insurer from calling for proof of age at any time if he is entitled to do so, and no policy shall be deemed to be called in question merely because the terms of the policy are adjusted on subsequent proof that the age of the life insured was incorrectly stated in the proposal." H 358 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2007] 12 S.C.R. c A 12. Section 45 postulates repudiation of such policy within a period of two years. By reason of the aforementioned provision, a period of limitation of two years had, thus, been specified and on the expiry thereof the policy was not capable of being called in question, _inter alia_ on the ground that certain facts have been suppressed which were material to B disclose or that it was fraudulently been made by the policy holder or that the policy holder knew at the time of making it that the statement was false. Statute, therefore, itself provides for the limitation for valid repudiation of an insurance policy. It takes into account the social security aspect of the matter A ,. 13. There are three conditions for application of second part of Section 45 of the Insurance Act which are:- "(a) the statement must be on a material matter or must suppress facts which it was material to disclose; ,, D E (b) the suppression must be fraudulently made by the policy-holder: and ( c) the policy-holder must have known at the time of making the statement that it was false or that it suppressed facts which it was material to disclose." [See _Mithoolal Nayak_ (supra] 14. The insured's brother was an agent of the Life Corporation of India. It was he, who had asked the insured to take the insurance policy. F He, being an authorized agent of the Life Insurance Corporation, presumably knew the effect of misstatement of facts. Misstatement by itself, however, was not material for repudiation of the policy unless the same is material in nature. G 15. The insured furthermore was aware of the consequence of making a misstatement of fact. If a person makes a wrong statement with knowledge of consequence therefor, he would ordinarily be estopped from pleading that even if such a fact had been disclosed, it would not have made any material change. 1 -· H 359 > ## P.C. CHACKO v. CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA [SINHA, J.] _, -j > 16. The purpose for taking a policy of insurance is not, in our opinion, A very material. It may serve the purpose of social security but then the same should not be obtained with a fraudulent act by the insured. Proposal can be repudiated if a fraudulent act is discovered. The proposer must show that his intention was _bona fide._ It must appear from the face of the record. In a case of this nature it was not necessary for the insurer to establish B that the suppression was fraudulently made by the policy holder or that he must have been aware at the time of making the statement that the same was false or that the fact was suppressed which was material to disclose. A deliberate wrong answer which has a great bearing on the contract of insurance, if discovered may lead to the police being vitiated c in law. 1 7. It is no doubt true that there exists a distinction between a 'representation' and a 'warranty'. A Division Bench of the Madras High Court in _S.P. Maheshwari_ (supra) upon taking into consideration the history of insurance laws in United States of America, in England and in[D ] India stated : - "(! 0) One great principle of insurance law is that a contract of insurance is based upon utmost good faith Uberrima tides; in fact it is the fundamental basis upon which all contracts of insurance E are made. In this respect there is no difference between one contract of insurance and another. Whether it be life or fire or marine the understanding is that the contract is uberrima tides and though there may be certain circumstances from the peculiar nature of marine insurance which require to be disclosed, and which do F not apply to other contracts of insurance, that is rather an illustration of the application of the principle than a distinction in principle. From the very fact that the contract involves a risk and that it purports to shift the risk from one party to the other, each one is required to be absolutely innocent of every circumstance which G goes to influence the judgment of the other while entering into the transaction." 18. While the parties entered into a contract of insurance the same shall, subject to statutory interdict, be governed by the ordinary law of H 360 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2007] 12 S.C.R. A contract. The insurer may not rely upon the disclosures made by the insured. It may gather information from other sources. The Madras High Court, although in our opinion, has rightly issued a note of caution to construe a 'representation' and 'warranty' as a general proposition which may operate harshly against the policy holders, itself noticed :- ## B "(12) The principles underlying the doctrine of disclosure and the rule of good faith oblige the proposer to answer every question put to him with complete honesty. Honesty implies truthfulness. But it happens that no man can do more than say what he believes to be the truth." ## c 19. Whether in a given case the court should take judicial notice of practice followed in such cases or not would depend upon the facts and circumstances of each case. If it is found that the agent himself was interested in getting the policy executed by the Life Insurance Corporation, D such common knowledge takes a back seat. .. In _S.P. Maheshwari_ (supra), it was stated : E F "(27) This brings us on finally to the topics of nondisclosure or misrepresentation which are practically the positive and negative aspects of the same thing. The effect of misrepresentation on the contract is precisely the same as that of non-disclosure; it affords the aggrieved party a ground for avoiding the contract. There are a number of _dicta_ and one decision to the effect that life insurance is an exception to the general rule that innocent misrepresentation may afford grounds for avoiding a policy an_d that the misrepresentation must be fraudulent to have this effect upon a policy of life insurance. But in order to give the insurer grounds for avoidance both under non-disclosure as well as misrepresentations, both must relate only to material information." _>_ • ## G The said decision, therefore, is of no assistance to the appellants herein. H 20. We are not unmindful of the fact that Life Insurance Corporation being a State within the meaning of Article 12 of the Constitution oflndia, 361 G ## P.C. CHACKO _v._ CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA [SINHA, J.] its action must be fair, just and equitable but the same would not mean A that it shall be asked to make a charity of public money, although the contract of insurance is found to be vitiated by reason of an act of the insured. This is not a case where the contract of insurance or a clause thereof is unreasonable, unfair or irrational which could make the court carried the bargaining powers of the contracting parties. It is also not the B case of the appellants that in framing the aforesaid questionnaire in the application/proposal form, the respondents had acted unjustifiably or the conditions imposed are unconstitutional. 21. In _Life Insurance Corpn. of India & Ors._ v. _Asha Goel (Smt)_ C _& Anr.,_ [2001] SCC 160, whereupon reliance has been placed by Mr. Sathish, it was held : . ' "The contracts of insurance including the contract of life assurance are contracts uberrima tides and every fact of material _(sic_ material fact) must be disclosed, otherwise, there is good ground for D rescission of the contract. The duty to disclose material facts continues right up to the conclusion of the contract and also implies any material alteration in the character of the risk which may take place between the proposal and its acceptance. If there are any misstatements or suppression of material facts, the policy can be E called into question. For determination of the question whether there has been suppression of any material facts it may be necessary to also examine whether the suppression relates to a fact which is in the exclusive knowledge of the person intending to take the policy and it could not be ascertained by reasonable enquiry by a prudent F person." It has not been shown in this case that repudiation of the contract of insurance was not done by the respondent with extreme care and caution or was otherwise invalid in law. -) The Division Bench of the High Court has taken all the aspects of the matter in consideration and, in our opinion arrived at a just decision. 22. Strong reliance has been placed by the learned counsel for the appellants on _Allianz Und Stuttgarter Life Insurance Bank Ltd_ v. H ~ 362 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2007] 12 S.C.R. ,- A _Hemanta Kumar Das,_ AIR (1938) CAL 641 wherein in regard to some purported statements made by the proposor in regard to his age was not found to be material as would appear from the following : "It is to be borne in mind that this was an insurance by a man who admittedly was, at any rate, at the age of over forty-five years. B He himself stated that he was fifty four. Therefore, the transaction came within the category of those proposals which require at the outset the furnishing by the "proponents" of proof of their age. Noot Behari Das was required to furnish proof of his age. He produced a horoscope. The horoscope was accepted by the company as c being sufficient. Therefore, we may take that the company issued the policy upon the footing that they were insuring the life of a man whose age was fifty four. This is not a case where the proposer says that his age was fifty four and the Company merely accepted that statement at its face value and proceeded to issue a policy on D that footing and subsequently, either shortly afterwards or a long time afterwards, admitted the age as stated in the policy in accordance with the provisions of Cl.9(2) thereof This was a case where the whole transaction from the very beginning proceeded upon the basis that the company had satisfied themselves that the E proposer was of the age of fifty four and then issued the policy accordingly. In my view therefore the admission contained in the endorsement at page 3 of the policy is of such a character that the defendants when tl1e policy matured could not be heard to say that the age of the insured was anything different from what he himself F had stated it to be in February 1934. It is not necessary that one should apply in terms of tile principle of estoppel, because tllat is merely a rule of evidence. In my view, this matter goes far deeper than that. The question of tile age of the deceased was a definite and determining factor in the transaction from tile very outset." D E F ## G 23. It is not a case where the company had further enquired into the matter in regard to the question as to whether the proposor was operated upon or not. 24. In _Ratan Lal & Anr._ v. _Metropolitan Insurance Co. Ltd.,_ AIR H _f-·-_ ,. r P.C. CHACKO v. CHAIRMAN, LIFE INSURANCE 363 ## CORPORATION OF INDIA [SINHA, **J.]** -._, (1959) PAT 413, a distinction was made between as to what is material A and what is not material. In regard to the disclosure of facts **in** that case itself, it was opined: "The well-settled law in the fieid of insurance is that contracts of insurance including the contracts of life assurance are contracts B uberrima tides and every fact of materiality must be disclosed otherwise there is good ground for rescission. And this duty to disclose continues up to the conclusion of the contract and covers any . material alteration **in** the character of the risk which may take place between proposal and acceptance." c 25. Ratio of the said decision, therefore, instead of assisting the case of appellants, runs counter to his contention. 26. Keeping **in** view the facts and circumstances of the case, we are of the opinion that no case has been made out for our interference **D** with the impugned judgment. The appeal fails and is accordingly dismissed. No costs. RP. Appeal dismissed.