Pankajakshy Amma G. Mangalalayam Veedu v. Asalam Sherief Panthuvallil House; Mohammed Salim H. Panthuvallil; The New India Assurance Co. Ltd.
Case Details & Bench
- Court
- High Court
- Hon'ble Judges
- C.S. Dias
- Judgment Date
- 2021-10-05
- Court Decision / Holding
- Appeal allowed in part. The enhanced compensation amounting to Rs.29,800 is awarded, with interest at 7.5% per annum on the enhanced amount from the date of the petition until deposit, and Rs.4,000 costs. The third respondent is directed to deposit the enhanced amount with interest and costs before the Tribunal within sixty days from receipt of a certified copy of the judgment, and the Tribunal shall disburse the enhanced compensation to the appellant in accordance with law after deposit.
- Final Disposition
- Appeal partly allowed; enhanced compensation awarded; deposit and disbursement directions issued; costs awarded.
Parties to the Case
Appellants / Petitioners
- Pankajakshy Amma G. Mangalalayam Veedu, Arnoottimangalamuuri, Vettiyar
Respondents
- Asalam Sherief Panthuvallil House, Mulakuzha, Chengannur-689505
- Mohammed Salim H. Panthuvallil Thekkethil, Mulakuzha P.O., Chengannur-689505
- The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. rep. by its Divisional Manager, Kochi-682001
Legal Representation & Advocates
Counsels for Petitioners
- • Sri. George Varghese (Perumpallikuttiyil)
Counsels for Respondents
- • Sri. Lal K. Joseph
- • Sri. Suresh Sukumar
Case Synopsis & Summary
The appellant, a government employee, sustained serious injuries in a road accident on 7 December 1999 when a motorcycle, owned by the second respondent and insured with the third respondent, struck her while she was waiting near Kulanada S.N Trust Hospital on the Pandalam–Chengannur road. She filed a claim under Section 166 of the Motor Vehicles Act, 1988 for compensation of Rs. 4,06,500, though the tribunal quantified liability and ordered payment of Rs. 1,59,250 with interest at 7.5% per annum. The appellant contends that the award under-compensated for disability and related losses; Ext A18, a disability certificate indicating 20% impairment, was rejected by the Tribunal for lack of a Medical Board, contrary to the principles enunciated in Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar, which requires referring a claimant for a Medical Board if the Tribunal is unconvinced about a disability certificate. The insurer/owner contended liability within policy and disputed the quantum. The High Court held Ext A18 should be accepted on its face value due to non-referral to a Medical Board, and proceeded to calculate compensation for a 20% disability using a 9-multiplier (Sarla Verma v. DTC) with a notional post-retirement income of Rs.3,000 per month. It awarded Rs.64,800 for loss due to disability, Rs.15,000 for loss of amenities, and an additional Rs.29,800 as enhanced compensation, along with costs and interest. The appeal was thus allowed in part, with directions for deposit and disbursement of the enhanced amount.
Provisions of Law Cited
Legal Doctrines & Maxims
- Medical Board referral when disability certificate is not accepted (Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar)
- Multiplier rule for compensation (Sarla Verma v. Delhi Transport Corporation)
Submissions & Arguments
Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners
The appellant contends that the Tribunal erred in the quantum of compensation by under-valuing disability and omitting to award adequate damages for loss of earnings and loss of amenities. Ext A18 shows a 20% functional disability, yet the Tribunal did not refer the claimant for a Medical Board and wrongly rejected the disability certificate. The appellant argues for applying the Sarla Verma multiplier (9) and a notional post-retirement income of Rs.3,000 per month, which would yield higher compensation for disability and loss of amenities. Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar mandates referral to a Medical Board when disability certificates are not accepted; since no board was constituted, the certificate should be accepted on its face value, and the compensation enhanced accordingly. The claimant’s age, pre-accident income, and possible post-retirement earnings support a higher award beyond the tribunal’s grant of Rs.1,59,250. The court should accordingly re-calculate the heads of loss and deliver an enhanced, fair sum with interest.
Contentions of Respondents
The respondents submit that the Tribunal’s award was within the evidence and policy limits; liability is admitted, but the quantum must reflect actual earnings and disability evidence. They argue the disability certificate Ext A18 was not supported by a Medical Board and hence cannot be relied upon; the 20% impairment and the resulting losses should be carefully assessed, but the court should refrain from sweeping enhancement beyond the Tribunal’s reasoning. The insurer also defends the depreciation of future earnings and the appropriate use of notional income, urging that the original compensation aligns with the documented earnings and medical proof, and that any excess must be carefully calibrated to avoid windfall gains.
Cited Precedents (2)
| Case Name | Citation | Treatment | Explanation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Raj Kumar v. Ajay Kumar | [2011] 1 KLT 620 (SC) | Positive | Helps justify referring the claimant to a Medical Board when a disability certificate is not accepted by the tribunal. |
| Sarla Verma v. Delhi Transport Corporation | (2009) 6 SCC 121 | Positive | Governs the multiplier method; applied here as multiplier 9 for a 60-year-old; supports calculation of disability compensation. |
Diagnostic Tool
Does this judgment govern your specific facts?
Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Pankajakshy Amma G. Mangalalayam Veedu v. Asalam Sherief Panthuvallil House; Mohammed Salim H. Panthuvallil; The New India Assurance Co. Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.
Extracted Judgment Text
Exact text extracted from official judgment records.