High CourtDivision BenchAppeal allowed; no order as to costs.

ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. MUNIMAHESHPATEL

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No. 490 I of 2006

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • Arijit Pasayat
  • Lokeshwar Singh Pant
Judgment Date
2006-09-12
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal allowed; no order as to costs.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; no order as to costs.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Oriental Insurance Company Ltd.

Respondents

  • Munimaheshpatel

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Vishnu Mehra
  • • B.K. Satija

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sandeep S. Tiwari
  • • Yogendra Kumar Dwivedi
  • • D.N. Mishra

Case Synopsis & Summary

This is a Supreme Court of India decision arising from a claim under a Janata Personal Accident Policy for Rs. 5 lakhs after the insured, Lalitha Devi Patel, died by falling into a well. The Oriental Insurance Company Ltd. refused the claim on the ground of false statements in the proposal forms, alleging mis-declaration of the insured’s occupation. The complainant filed a complaint in the State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, which dismissed the complaint and directed him to seek remedy in a court of law. The National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission later allowed the appeal and directed payment of Rs. 5 lakhs with interest. The Insurance Company appealed to the Supreme Court. The appellant argued that due to suppression of material facts and misrepresentation in the proposal form, the respondent was not entitled to relief; one form described the insured as a teacher, another as a housewife, reflecting false declarations. The respondent contended that the policy’s genuineness was not in dispute and that the Commission’s decision was based on disputed facts that required adjudication by a competent court. The Court held that proceedings before the Commission are essentially summary and that where facts are contested, the matter must be examined by a proper court of law. Since there was mis-declaration about occupation, the State Commission’s relief was improper. The appeal is allowed with no order as to costs, directing that the matter be examined in appropriate fora.

Provisions of Law Cited

Consumer Protection Act, 1986

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Principle of good faith in insurance contracts
  • Proceedings under Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions are essentially summary in nature; disputed factual questions should be adjudicated by a Court of Law

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that the complainant is not entitled to relief due to misrepresentation in the proposal form. There were conflicting statements about the insured’s occupation (teacher vs. housewife). This constitutes suppression of material facts essential to risk and vitiates coverage, undermining the principle of good faith inherent in insurance. Since the facts are disputed, relief granted by the State Commission should be set aside and the matter referred to a competent court for proper adjudication. The Commission’s summary procedure was inappropriate given the material dispute over declarations in the proposal forms.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondent argues there was no dispute about the genuineness of the policy itself. While there was a mis-declaration about occupation, the Commission correctly recognized that the policy and accident occurred without dispute. The Commission’s approach was to evaluate the evidence within a quasi-judicial framework suitable for consumer disputes, and the decision should not be interfered with lightly since substantial evidence supports that the insured’s death was covered by the policy. Interference would undermine the statutory remedy’s jurisdictional framework.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. v. MUNIMAHESHPATEL and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

' A ## ORIENTAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTD. -' _v._ ## MUNIMAHESHPATEL ## SEPTEMBER 12, 2006 ## B [ARIJIT PASA YAT AND LOKESHWAR SINGH PANT A, JJ.] ## _Insurance:_ > _Insurance policy-Death of insured-Claim refused by Insurance_ C _Company on the ground of false statem7nt-Complaint before State Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission-Held, as complainant raised dispute about genuineness of documents produced by Insurance Company, and the factual position was required to be established by documents, matter should be examined by appropriate court of law and not by the Commission._ ## D _Proceedings before-Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission--Held, are essentially summary in nature--Adj:1dication of issues which involve disputed factual questions should be examined by appropriate court of law and not by the Commission._ , E Wife of the complainant-respondent obtained a Jana ta Personal Accident Policy for a sum of Rs.5 lakhs. She fell into a well and died. The respondent claimed payment, but when the claim was not settled by the Insurance Company, the respondent filed a complaint before the State Consumer disputes Redressal Commission which dismissed the complaint leaving the complainant to take appropriate proceedings for establishing his claim in a F court of competent jurisdiction. The complainant filed an appeal before the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, which allowed the claim. Aggrieved, the Insurance Company filed the present appeal. It was contended for the appellant that the complainant was not entitled G to any relief as he was guilty of making false statement in the proposal form. It was submitted that in a copy of the proposal form it was mentioned that respondent's wife, the insured, was a teacher, whereas in the actual copy of another form it was mentioned that she was a housewife. Allowing the appeal, the Court H 30 ~· ORIENTALINSURANCECOMPANYLTD. _v._ MUNIMAHESHPATEL[PASAYAT,J.) 3 J HELD: Proceedings before the Commission are essentially summary A in nature and adjudication of issues which involve disputed factual questions should not be adjudicated. Complainant raised dispute about genuineness of the documents (i.e. proposal forms) produced by the appellant. The factual position was required to be established by documents. Commission was required to examine whether in view of the 1disputed facts it would exercise B the jurisdiction. The Commission having accepted that there was wrong declaration of the nature of occupation of the person insured, should not have granted the relief in the manner done. The State Commission was right in its view that the complex factual position requires that the matter should be examined by an appropriate Court of Law and not by the Commission. [33-8-F) C CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION : Civil Appeal No. 490 I of2006. From the Judgment and Order 19.5.2004 of the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commissions, New Delhi in F.A. No. 82 of 2002. D Vishnu Mehra and B.K. Satija for the Appellant. Sandeep S. Tiwari, Yogendra Kumar Dwivedi and D.N. Mishra for the Respondent. The Judgment of the Court was delivered by ARIJIT PASA Y AT, J. Leave granted. Appellant calls in question legality of the judgment rendered by the National Consumer Disputes Redressal Commission, New Delhi (in short the 'Commission'). The Commission upset the order of the State Commission and F held that the appellant was liable to pay to the respondent (hereinafter referred to as the 'complainant') a sum of Rs.5 lakhs together with interest @ 6% p.a. from the date of the complaint. ## Factual position in a nutshell is essentially as follows: G Smt. Lalitha Devi Patel wife of the complainant had obtained a Janata Personal Accident Policy for a sum of Rs.5 lakhs in August, 1998, for which a premium was paid and accepted and the policy was issued. The insured died on account of an accident by way of falling into a well and drowning. FIR was lodged, autopsy was performed and appellant was informed. Various documents were also furnished claiming payment in spite of the policy. When H 32 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2006] SUPP. 6 S.C.R. A the appellant-Company did not settle the claim, a complaint came to be filed before the Madhya Pradesh State Consumer Redressal Commission, Bhopal (in short 'the State Commission') alleging deficiency in service on the part of the appellant. State Commission after hearing the parties dismissed the complaint leaving the complainant to take appropriate proce~ding for establishing his claim and for seeking the reliefs in the court of competent B jurisdiction. Aggrieved by this order. appeal was filed before the Commission. After hearing the parties, the Commission passed order dated 2.5.2002 allowing the complaint and setting aside the order of the State Commission. Since this order had been passed _ex-parte_ against respondent, on an C application moved by the respondent the earlier order was recalled and both the parties were given opportunity to present their case. It directed payment of the amount as noted above. The Commission accepted that there was no dispute regarding genuineness of the policy. But it noted that there was dispute about disclosure D made in the proposal form and the information given. It accepted that she was not employed as stated in the proposal fonn. Commission did not consider it necessary to go into that question and held that though there may _have been some information given which has no relation with the actual state of affairs, yet the factum of the accident resulting in death and policy was not in dispute and, therefore, the claim of the complainant was to be allowed. E In support of the appeal, learned counsel for the appellant submitted that the principle of good faith which is inherent in insurance was not there. The complainant was guilty of making false statement in the proposal form. Learned counsel for the appellant has brought on record a copy of the F proposal fonn in which it is mentioned that the respondent's wife i.e. the insured was a teacher. This is at variance with the actual copy of another form has also been produced and shows that the respondent accepted that she was a house wife. The State Commission, therefore, dismissed the appeal in view of the disputed factual position and directed the complainant-respondent G to seek remedy, if any, available in any other appropriate forum. Learned counsel for the appellant further submitted that when there is suppression of material fact which is relevant to the coverage of policy, the respondent was not entitled to any relief and the Commission had accepted that she was not a teacher. He, therefore, contended that the respondent was not entitled to any relief. H 33 ORIENTALINSURANCECOMPANYLTD. r. MUNIMAHESHPATEL[PASAYAT.J.] Learned counsel for the respondent on the other hand submitted that A no interference is called with the decision of the Commission. He also stated that tio such proposal form as claimed by the appellant was submitted. The Commission noted that the specific stand of the appellant was that there was mis-declaration in the proposal form and the false claim that the B respondent's wife was a teacher which as now appears is not the correct position. It also accepted that she was really not a teacher. Proceedings before the Commission are essentially summary in nature and adjudication of issues which involve disputed factual questions should not be adjudicated. It is to be noted that Commission accepted that insured C .... was not a teacher. Complainant raised dispute about genuineness of the / documents (i.e. proposal forms) produced by the appellant. The Commission having accepted that there was wrong declaration of the nature of occupation of the person insured, should not have granted the relief in the manner done. D The nature of the proceedings before the Commission as noted above, are essentially in summary nature. The factual position was required to. be established by documents. Commission was required to examine whether in view of the disputed facts it would exercise the jurisdiction. The State Commission was right in its view that the complex factual position requires that the matter should be examined by an appropriate Court of Law and not by the Commission. E Above being the position, the Commission was not justified to deal with the matter in the manner as was done. In our view, the directions of the State Commission were more appropriate keeping in line with the nature of dispute. Accordingly, the appeal is allowed but with no order as to costs. R.P. Appeal allowed.