High Court of KeralaDivision BenchRemanded to Commissioner for fresh fact-finding...

National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. P.K.Reena and Others

Case / Petition Number:MFA.No.219 of 2009
Neutral Citation:/null

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • K.M.Joseph
  • M.L.Joseph Francis
Judgment Date
2011-10-14
Court Decision / Holding
The court set aside the impugned order and remitted the matter to the Commissioner for fresh consideration. The Commissioner is directed to take up the matter and dispose of it within four months from the date of production of a copy of the judgment, with liberty for the parties to adduce evidence. No final determination on merits is made; the appeal is disposed of by remand.
Final Disposition
Remanded to Commissioner for fresh fact-finding and disposal within four months; no final merits decision by the High Court at this stage.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • National Insurance Co. Ltd.

Respondents

  • P.K.Reena
  • P.K.Nimish
  • P.K.Nishil
  • P.K.Nishima
  • V.Sundaran

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Adv. Sri.E.M.Joseph

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Adv. Sri.R.SURENDRAN FOR R1,4

Case Synopsis & Summary

This Kerala High Court Miscellaneous First Appeal arises under Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, challenging an award in a proceedings concerning a bus driver's death while in the course of employment. The appellant insurer contends that the deceased worker, who was a known CAD patient, died of a heart attack and there is no evidence that stress or strain of employment contributed to the death; hence compensation should not automatically be payable. The appellants rely on precedents emphasizing that a death due to heart disease is not automatically an accident and that medical opinion is essential to establish causal link. The respondents argue that the death occurred on duty, the deceased had long working hours, and Ext. A1 indicates CAD; they maintain that the Commissioner could award compensation if jurisdictional facts are satisfied and stress/strain is shown to have contributed. The court surveys the statutory framework—Sections 22, 4A(1) and the notion of liability to pay once injury occurs in an employment context—and examines conflicting precedents, including Shakuntala v. Prabhakar and Pratap Narain Singh Deo. It emphasizes that jurisdictional facts must be proved and that larger constitutional and Supreme Court precedents govern over inconsistent lower court rulings. Ultimately, the court remands the matter to the Commissioner with liberty to adduce evidence and dispose of it within four months, rather than deciding the merits at once.

Provisions of Law Cited

Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923Section 4A(1) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923Section 19 of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923Constitution of India, Article 141Constitution of India, Article 142

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • No hard and fast rule can be laid down regarding heart attack or work-related death; medical opinion is relevant
  • Jurisdictional facts must be proved for the Commissioner to exercise power
  • When there is conflict between Supreme Court decisions, the decision of the larger Bench prevails (Mattulal v. Radhe Lal)
  • Apex Court decisions bind tribunals; statutory provisions must be followed (Art. 141, Art. 142)

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The insurer argues that the deceased driver had known CAD and died of a heart attack; there is no material evidence linking death to stress or strain of employment; Ext.A1 does not establish causation and there is no proof that the death arose out of and in the course of employment. They rely on Shakuntala v. Prabhakar and other two-judge bench rulings to contend that judicial discretion should not award compensation without clear evidence of work-related causation; they challenge the locus of the Commissioner, proposing remand for creditable fact-finding and citing Mubasir Ahmed (and related precedents) to limit interest or liability to the award date. They urge that any liability should be narrowly construed and that the interest aspect should reflect the law as understood by higher courts.

Contentions of Respondents

The dependants claim compensation on the basis that the death occurred during service, with long hours and stress, and that CAD is noted; Ext.A1 and witness testimony indicate disease; They argue that the Commissioner had jurisdiction to determine the compensation liability upon establishing jurisdictional facts and causation, and that interest should be payable from the date of accident; They rely on established jurisprudence (including Pratap Narain Singh Deo) to support the liability and interest, and oppose a narrow construction urged by the insurer.

Cited Precedents (8)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Shakuntala v. Prabhakar[2006 (4) KLT 1031 (SC)]PositiveUsed to emphasize that death from heart disease is not automatically the result of an accident; medical opinion is relevant and each case must be fact-specific.
Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata[(1976)1 SCC 289]PositiveCited to justify that compensation liability arises when injury is caused by an accident in the course of employment; supports the decision to award interest as warranted.
Mubasir Ahmed & Another[2007 AIR SCW 1265]Partly Overruled / LimitedEarlier decisions favored interest from the date of award; the present larger Bench approach overrides that ratio in light of statutory provisions and Art. 141/142.
National Insurance Company Ltd. v. Rekha[2007(4) KLT 386]PositiveUsed to illustrate that larger bench decisions govern and support the view favoring alignment with the later ratio on interest.
Kamla Chaturvedi v. National Insurance Co[2008(4) KLT 862 (SC)]Mentioned OnlyCited as a two-judge bench decision that tends to support the appellant, but not relied upon in the present judgment.
Palraj v. Divisional Controller, NEKRTC[2010-JT-10-94]Mentioned OnlyMentioned as part of the earlier jurisprudence; not adopted in the final ruling.
Harrisons Malayalam Ltd. v. P.K. Ashraf and Others[2009(1) KHC 799 (DB)]PositiveDivision Bench view supportive of awarding interest from the date of accident, aligning with the remand direction.
Mattulal v. Radhe Lal[AIR 1974 SC 1596]PositiveCited to support the principle that when decisions conflict, the larger Bench prevails.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. P.K.Reena and Others and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT : THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE K.M.JOSEPH & THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS FRIDAY, THE 14TH OCTOBER 2011 / 22ND ASWINA 1933 MFA.No. 219 of 2009() --------------------W.C.C.191/2004 of Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation. KANNUR. APPELLANT(S): 2ND OPPOSITE PARTY: --------------------------------- NATIONAL INSURANCE CO. LTD., CHENNAI, REPRESENTED BY THE MANAGER, KOCHI REGIONAL OFFICE, M.G.ROAD, KOCHI-35. BY ADV. SRI.E.M.JOSEPH RESPONDENT(S): - --------------- 1. P.K.REENA, W/O.LATE P.K.MOHANAN, PEEDIKAKANDIYIL HOUSE, P.O.KOTTAYAMPOYIL, PATHAYAKUNNU, THALASSERY. 2. P.K.NIMISH, S/O.LATE P.K.MOHANAN, PEEDIKAKANDIYIL HOUSE, P.O.KOTTAYAMPOYIL, PATHAYAKUNNU, THALASSERY. 3. P.K.NISHIL, S/O.LATE P.K.MOHANAN, PEEDIKAKANDIYIL HOUSE, P.O.KOTTAYAMPOYIL, PATHAYAKUNNU, THALASSERY. 4. P.K.NISHIMA, D/O.LATE P.K.MOHANAN, PEEDIKAKANDIYIL HOUSE, P.O.KOTTAYAMPOYIL, PATHAYAKUNNU, THALASSERY. 5. V.SUNDARAN, S/O.KUNHAMBU, MEETHALE CHENGARATH HOUSE, P.O.KOTTAYAMPOIL, THALASSERY. ADV. SRI.R.SURENDRAN FOR R1,4 THIS MISC. FIRST APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 14/10/2011, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: ## **K.M.JOSEPH & M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS, JJ. ----------------------------------------------M.F.A.(W.C.C.) No.219 of 2009 ----------------------------------------------Dated 14[th] October, 2011.** ## **J U D G M E N T** ## **K.M.Joseph, J.** Appellant is the second opposite party/insurer in a proceeding under Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act. It challenges the award of compensation by the Commissioner. The following questions of law were raised before the Commissioner: - “(a) Whether the applicant is a workman within the meaning of this Act. - (b) Whether the accident arose out of and in the course of applicant's employment. - (c) Whether the amount of compensation is due or any part of the amount. - (d) Whether the opposite parties are liable to pay such compensation as is due.” The case of the applicants was that the workman, who was working as a driver in a bus died while in the course of employment. According to the appellant, the deceased workman was a known CAD (coronary artery disease) patient MFA 219/09 2 and therefore, compensation should not have been granted. It is contended that there is no evidence also for coming at a conclusion that the workman died on account of any stress or strain arising from the employment. 2. Learned counsel for the appellant would also draw our attention to the decision reported in **Shakuntala v. Prabhakar [** 2006 (4) KLT 1031 (SC)], wherein, it is inter alia stated as follows : “32. Only because a person dies of heart attack, the same does not give rise to automatic presumption that the same was by way of accident. A person may be suffering from a heart disease although he may not be aware of the same. Medical opinion will be of relevance providing guidance to court in this behalf. 33. Circumstances must exist to establish that death was caused by reason of failure of heart was because of stress and strain of work. Stress and strain resulting in a sudden heart failure in a case of the present nature would not be presumed. No legal fiction MFA 219/09 3 therefor can be raised. As a person suffering from a heart disease may not be aware thereof, medical opinion therefore would be of relevance. Each case, therefore, has to be considered on its own fact and no hard and fast rule can be laid down therefor. x x x xx x x 42. Unless evidence is brought on record to elaborate that the death by way of cardiac arrest has occurred because of stress or strain, the Commissioner would not have jurisdiction to grant damages. In other words, the claimant was bound to prove jurisdictional fact before the Commissioner. Unless such jurisdictional facts are found, the Commissioner will have no jurisdiction to pass an order. It is now well-settled that for arriving at a finding of a jurisdictional fact, reference to any precedent would not be helpful as a little deviation from the fact of a decided case or an additional fact may make a lot of difference by arriving at a correct conclusion. For the said purpose, the statutory authority is required to pose unto himself the right question.” 3. He drew our attention to the evidence of AW1, who is none other than the wife of the deceased workman, in MFA 219/09 4 support of the same. He further raised a contention about the interest that it cannot be awarded from the date of the accident. 4. Learned counsel for the respondents/applicants supported the order. He would point out that this is a case where the deceased workman was employed as driver of a bus and he died after he developed chest pain while he was driving. He stopped the vehicle and he was taken to the hospital and he died. He would submit that the deceased had put in long hours. 5. As far as the question of interest is concerned, learned counsel would submit that the direction to pay interest from the date of accident is unsustainable. He would submit that only upon adjudication, the liability arises and therefore interest could be ordered only from the date of the adjudication and not from the date of the accident. Learned counsel relied on the judgments of the Supreme Court in **National Insurance** MFA 219/09 5 **Co.Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another** [2007 AIR SCW 1265], **Kamla Chaturvedi v. National Insurance Co** . [2008(4) KLT 862 (SC)] and **Palraj v. Divisional Controller, NEKRTC** [2010-JT-10-94]. They are all judgments rendered by two judges benches. No doubt, they tend to support the case of the appellant. However, we notice that the question engaged the attention of the Apex Court and a bench of four judges in **Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata** [(1976)1 SCC 289] held as follows : “It is wrong to contend that the compensation had not fallen due until it was 'settled' by the Commissioner under Section 19 by his impugned order dated May 6, 1969. The employer became liable to pay the compensation as soon as the personal injury was caused to the workman by the accident which admittedly arose out of and in the course of employment. There was no suspension of the compensation pending settlement. It was the duty of the appellant, under Section 4A(1) of the Act, to pay the compensation at the rate provided by Section 4 as soon as the personal injury was caused to the respondent. So in the present facts and circumstances the MFA 219/09 6 Commissioner was fully justified in making an order for the payment of interest and the penalty.” No doubt, it is pointed out that the said case related to a scheduled injury and the facts were different. Thereafter, similar question arose before this Court in **National Insurance Company Ltd. v. Rekha** [2007(4) KLT 386]. Therein also, the decision in **National Insurance Co.Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another** [2007 AIR SCW 1265] was considered by the Division Bench and it was interalia held as follows : “In Mubasir Ahamed's case, Maghar Singh's case was relied, but, directed to pay interest from the date of award only on the basis of the facts of that case. Wide powers vested in the Hon'ble Supreme Court under Art.142 of the Constitution of India are not available to the Tribunal or even to the High Courts while deciding a statutory appeal. (See the observations in Delhi Development Authority v. Skipper Construction Co.(P) Ltd. (AIR 1996 SC 2005). We are bound by statutory provisions and law declared by the Apex Court as mandated by Art.141 of the Constitution as held in Suganthi Suresh Kumar v. Jagdheesan (2002) 2 SCC 420). MFA 219/09 7 When there is conflict between the decisions of the Supreme Court, decision of the larger Bench will prevail (See : Mattulal v. Radhe Lal (AIR 1974 SC 1596). In view of the statutory provisions and larger Bench decision, we see no ground to interfere in that part of the order in awarding interest from the date of accident. We also note that this ground was not raised before the Commissioner or even in the appeal memorandum, but only raised as an additional ground by filing petition dated 7.6.2007 in the appeal filed in the year 1998. However, we see no ground to interfere in the impugned award and hence this appeal is dismissed.” However, it is pointed out that the matter is pending in appeal before the Supreme Court against the aforesaid judgment of the Division Bench of this Court. 6. The same view was taken by another Division Bench in an employer's appeal in **Harrisons Malayalam Ltd.** **v. P.K.Ashraf and Others** [2009(1) KHC 799 (DB)]. In the light of the said legal position, we do not find any merit in the contention of the appellant. 7. As far as the second point is concerned, there is MFA 219/09 8 some merit in the contention of the appellant. No doubt, it is true that the workman was the driver of a bus. He would point out certain distinguishing features in this case. According to him, this is a case where Ext.A1 would reveal that the deceased workman was a known patient of CAD(coronary artery disease). He points out that when the wife of the deceased workman was examined, she however made it appear as if the disease manifested for the first time on the fateful day. This cannot be true, he points out, as it is incompatible with the terms of Ext.A1 certificate. We also notice that there is no evidence as such by the wife of the deceased workman, who is the sole witness examined on behalf of the applicants, as to the nature of the duties and whether the stress and strain was the cause of death, or contributing to the cause of death. It is further pointed out that there is no finding as such by the Commissioner that the deceased workman died as a result of the stress and strain attached to the work. MFA 219/09 9 8. In the circumstances of the case, we would think that the matter may have to be remanded with liberty to the parties to adduce evidence. Accordingly, we set aside the impugned order and remit the matter back. The Commissioner will take up the matter and dispose of the same within a period of four months from the date of production of a copy of the judgment before the Commissioner. Parties are free to adduce evidence. Sd/- ## **K.M.JOSEPH, JUDGE.** Sd/- ## **M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS, JUDGE.** tgs (True copy) P.S. to Judge.