High Court of KeralaDivision BenchPartly allowed; order modified; NIC to pay Rs. ...

National Insurance Co. Ltd. v Abdul Kareem

Case / Petition Number:MFA.No. 5 of 2008

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • K. M. Joseph
  • M. L. Joseph Francis
Judgment Date
2011-08-22
Court Decision / Holding
MFA partly allowed; the order is modified to fix loss of earning capacity at 30% and to award Rs. 86,843 with 12% interest from the date of accident till the date of deposit; the deposited amount remains withdrawable by NIC after the claimant’s eligible share is set aside as per the modification.
Final Disposition
Partly allowed; order modified; NIC to pay Rs. 86,843 with 12% interest from the date of accident to the date of deposit; deposited amount withdrawable by NIC after deduction of claimant's eligible share.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Abdul Kareem

Respondents

  • National Insurance Company Limited

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Dilip J. Akkara

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Mathews Jacob (Senior Advocate)
  • • P. J. Jacob Mathew

Case Synopsis & Summary

National Insurance Company Limited (NIC), the appellant, challenged a Workers' Compensation Court award under WCC, Thrissur, in MFA No. 5 of 2008 arising from a work-related accident. The Commissioner had awarded compensation of Rs. 1,01,317 with 12% interest from the date of accident to the date of deposit and, relying on Ext. A1 Disability Certificate, recorded disabilities including pain and tenderness in both wrists with right-hand predominance, limited spinal mobility, weak grip, kyphosis with mild fragmentation and malunion, and functional impairment affecting light work and manual labor. The petition seeking reference to a Medical Board was rejected, and the Commissioner reduced the loss of earning capacity (LEC) from 40% to 35%. NIC argued two legal points: first, that reducing the LEC to 35% was improper given the disabilities described in Ext. A1; second, that interest should be payable from adjudication, not from the date of accident. Abdul Kareem, the applicant, contended that the disabilities were severe enough to warrant no interference with the Commissioner's order in the facts of the case. The High Court, considering the applicant’s age (52) and the bilateral hand disabilities, fixed the LEC at 30% instead of 35%. It noted that while several two-judge bench decisions supported NIC, the larger bench rule prevails. Consequently the MFA was partly allowed; the order was modified: NIC must pay Rs. 86,843 with 12% interest from the date of accident to the date of deposit, and the deposited amount remains withdrawable by NIC after deducting the claimant’s eligible share.

Provisions of Law Cited

Workmen's Compensation Act, Section 4A(1)Workmen's Compensation Act, Section 19Constitution of India Article 141Constitution of India Article 142

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • When there is conflict between Supreme Court decisions, the decision of the larger Bench will prevail (as illustrated by Mattulal v. Radhe Lal, AIR 1974 SC 1596)
  • Art. 141 of the Constitution binds law declared by the Supreme Court on all.
  • Art. 142 of the Constitution enables the Supreme Court to do complete justice in exceptional cases; this power is not to be construed as ordinary appellate authority for Tribunals/High Courts.
  • Wide powers under Art. 142 are not available to Tribunals or High Courts (as noted in Rekha and related discussions).
  • There is a duty to pay compensation promptly under Section 4A(1) of the Act; no suspension pending settlement (as per Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata).

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The respondent/applicant argued that given the bilateral hand disabilities and spinal limitations, there was no basis to interfere with the Commissioner's reduction of loss of earning capacity to 35%. The medical evidence indicated significant impairment affecting both hands and work capacity, and the age of 52 supported a cautious approach to impairment assessment. The claimant contended that the Commissioner's order was consistent with the evidence and should not be disturbed.

Contentions of Respondents

The appellant contended that the loss of earning capacity (LEC) should be fixed at 30% (or perhaps maintained at 40% depending on interpretation) and that interest should run from the date of adjudication rather than from the date of accident, citing Mubasir Ahmed, Kamla Chaturvedi, Palraj, and other two-judge bench decisions. NIC urged reliance on two-judge decisions and argued for a more favorable view to the insurer on interest timing.

Cited Precedents (10)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Mubasir Ahmed & Another2007 AIR SCW 1265Partly Overruled / LimitedTwo-judge bench decisions (Mubasir Ahmed) were considered but ultimately not controlling due to larger bench precedent.
Kamla Chaturvedi v. National Insurance Co.2008 (4) KLT 862 (SC)PositiveSupreme Court decision cited as persuasive support by NIC; not controlling in light of larger bench rule.
Palraj v. Divisional Controller, NEKRTC2010-JT-10-94PositiveTwo-judge bench decision relied upon by NIC as supportive authority.
Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata(1976) 1 SCC 289PositiveFour-judge bench principle: compensation becomes payable on injury; supports the basis for interest framework.
National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another(2007) AIR SCW 1265Partly Overruled / LimitedTwo-judge bench decision invoked but not controlling due to larger bench rule.
National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Rekha2007(4) KLT 386PositiveDivision Bench held that larger bench authority governs; supports application of larger bench rule.
Harrisons Malayalam Ltd. v. P.K. Ashraf2009(1) KHC 799 (DB)PositiveDivision Bench aligned with larger bench jurisprudence on the issue of interest timing.
Delhi Development Authority v. Skipper Construction Co. (P) Ltd.AIR 1996 SC 2005PositiveCited for Constitutional guidance on judicial power (Art. 142) and non-applicability to Tribunal situations.
Mattulal v. Radhe LalAIR 1974 SC 1596PositiveLarger Bench principle precedent cited to justify superior authority of larger benches.
Suganthi Suresh Kumar v. Jagdheesan(2002) 2 SCC 420PositiveCited for binding force of Supreme Court law (Art. 141) and related principles.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against National Insurance Co. Ltd. v Abdul Kareem and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT : THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE K.M.JOSEPH & THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS MONDAY, THE 22ND AUGUST 2011 / 31ST SRAVANA 1933 MFA.No. 5 of 2008() ------------------WCC.79/2003 of W.C.C.,THRISSUR .................... APPELLANT: 2ND OPPOSITE PARTY: --------------------------------------------------- NATIONAL INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED, PALARIVATTOM NOW REPRESENTED BY ITS ASSISTANT MANAGER, KOCHI REGIONAL OFFICE, OMANA BUILDING, PADMA JUNCTION, KOCHI 35. BY ADV. SRI.MATHEWS JACOB, SENIOR ADVOCATE SRI.P.JACOB MATHEW RESPONDENT: APPLICANT: -------------------------------------- ABDUL KAREEM, S/O.MUHAMMEDUNNI, THOTTATHIL HOUSE, CHELAKKARA, PULAKKODE P.O., THRISSUR. ADV. SRI.DILIP J. AKKARA FOR R1 THIS MISC. FIRST APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 22/08/2011, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: ## **K. M. JOSEPH & M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS JJ.,** **- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -** M.F.A.(W.C.C.) No. 5 of 2008 **- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -** Dated this the 22[nd] day of August, 2011 ## **JUDGMENT** ## K.M. Joseph J., The appellant, National Insurance Company Limited who is the 2[nd] opposite party in an application filed by the respondent herein challenges the order of the Commissioner by which the Commissioner awarded compensation for a sum of Rs.1,01,317/with 12% interest from the date of accident till the date of deposit. 2. We heard learned senior counsel for the appellant and learned counsel for the respondent. 3. Learned senior counsel for the appellant raised two substantial questions of laws before us. Firstly, it is contended that this is a case where the Commissioner has acted illegally in taking M.F.A. No. 5 of 2008 **==> picture [14 x 9] intentionally omitted <==** the loss of earning capacity as 35%. Secondly he would contend that the Commissioner ought not have granted interest from the date of accident. 4. Regarding the first substantial question of law, it is submitted that this is a case where going by Ext.A1 Disability Certificate following are the disabilities noted by the Medical Practitioner, who was examined as AW1: 1. Pain and tenderness of both wrist more on right wrist. 2. Partial ankylosis of a)right wrist motion limited to an arc from 1000 line to 300 palmar flexion. b)left wrist motion limited to an arc from 450 dorsiflexion to 150 palmar flexion. 3. Grip with both hand is weak more on right hand. 4. Compression of 25% of LI Body mild fragmentation, malunion with kyposis, persistent pain, Para spinal muscle spasm and rigidity no neurological manifestation. 5. Forward flexion of spine is limited 2 inches above the ground. 6. Backward extension and lateral flexion of spine is limited. Functionally he is having difficulty. - a)for light grip with both hand - b) to pickup, hold and carry objects with both hand. - c) for forward bending. - d) to take load from the ground. - e) to carry load on the back due to kyposis. - f) to do manual labour - g) to drive any sort of vehicles. M.F.A. No. 5 of 2008 **==> picture [14 x 9] intentionally omitted <==** He has assessed the loss of earning capacity as 40% and permanent whole body disability as 18%. Thereafter, noting that the petition was filed for referring the applicant to the Medical Board and also taking note of the counter affidavit filed and after hearing the arguments, the Medical Board petition was rejected and the percentage of loss of earning capacity was reduced and decided as 35% by the Commissioner. Learned senior counsel for the appellant would contend that this is not permissible. 5. Learned counsel for the claimant would submit that having regard to the nature of disabilities incurred, where the disability affected both his hands, there is no case made out for interference. 6. Having heard the learned counsel appearing in the circumstance of the case and having regard to the age of applicant, which is 52 years and also the nature of disabilities incurred, we fix the loss of earning capacity at 30% in place of 35%. 7. Regarding the dispute regarding payment of interest from the date of accident, learned senior counsel would submit that the direction to pay interest from the date of accident is unsustainable. He would submit that only upon adjudication, the liability arises ## M.F.A. No. 5 of 2008 **==> picture [14 x 9] intentionally omitted <==** and therefore interest could be ordered only from the date of the adjudication and not from the date of the accident. Learned senior counsel relied on the judgments of the Supreme Court in **National Insurance Co.Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another** [2007 AIR SCW 1265], **Kamla Chaturvedi v. National Insurance Co** . [2008 (4) KLT 862 (SC)] and **Palraj v. Divisional Controller, NEKRTC** [2010-JT-10-94]. They are all judgments rendered by two judges bench. No doubt, they tend to support the case of the appellant. However, we notice that the question engaged the attention of the Apex Court and a bench of four judges in **Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata** [(1976)1 SCC 289] held as follows : “It is to contend that the wrong compensation had not fallen due until it was 'settled' by the Commissioner under Section 19 by his impugned order dated May 6, 1969. The employer became liable to pay the compensation as soon as the personal injury was caused to the workman by the accident which admittedly arose out of and in the course of employment. There was no suspension of the compensation pending settlement. It was the duty of the appellant, under Section 4A(1) of the Act, to pay the M.F.A. No. 5 of 2008 **==> picture [14 x 9] intentionally omitted <==** compensation at the rate provided by Section 4 as soon as the personal injury was caused to the respondent. So in the present facts and circumstances the Commissioner was fully justified in making an order for the payment of interest and the penalty.” No doubt, it is pointed out that the said judgment related to a scheduled injury and the facts were different. Thereafter, similar question arose before this Court in **National Insurance Company Ltd. v. Rekha** [2007(4) KLT 386]. Therein also, the decision in **National Insurance Co.Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another** [2007 AIR SCW 1265] was considered by the Division Bench and it was interalia held as follows : “In Mubasir Ahamed's case, Maghar Singh's case was relied, but, directed to pay interest from the date of award only on the basis of the facts of that case. Wide powers vested in the Hon'ble Supreme Court under Art.142 of the Constitution of India are not available to the Tribunal or even to the High Courts while deciding a statutory appeal. (See the M.F.A. No. 5 of 2008 :6: observations in Delhi Development Authority v. Skipper Construction Co.(P) Ltd. (AIR 1996 SC 2005). We are bound by statutory provisions and law declared by the Apex Court as mandated by Art.141 of the Constitution as held in Suganthi Suresh Kumar v. Jagdheesan (2002) 2 SCC 420). When there is conflict between the decisions of the Supreme Court, decision of the larger Bench will prevail (See : Mattulal v. Radhe Lal (AIR . 1974 SC 1596) In view of the statutory provisions and larger Bench decision, we see no ground to interfere in that part of the order in awarding interest from the date of accident. We also note that this ground was not raised before the Commissioner or even in the appeal memorandum, but only raised as an additional ground by filing petition dated 7.6.2007 in the appeal filed in the year 1998. However, we see no ground to interfere in the impugned award and hence this appeal is dismissed.” However, it is pointed out that the matter is pending before the Supreme Court. 8. The same view was taken by another Division Bench in an employer's appeal in **Harrisons Malayalam Ltd. v. P.K.Ashraf** M.F.A. No. 5 of 2008 **==> picture [14 x 9] intentionally omitted <==** **and Others** [2009(1) KHC 799 (DB)]. In the light of the said legal position, we do not find any merit in the contention of the appellant. 9. Accordingly the M.F.A. is partly allowed and the order is modified and we direct that the appellant will be liable to pay Rs.86,843/- (Rupees eight six thousand eight hundred and forty three only) with 12% interest from the date of accident till the date of deposit, as ordered by the Commissioner. The amount which is lying is deposit after the respondent/applicant withdraws the eligible amount as aforesaid, can be withdrawn by the appellant. ## **K.M.JOSEPH, (JUDGE)** ## **M. L. JOSEPH FRANCIS, (JUDGE)** dl/