High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeAppeal allowed; remitted to WCC for reconsidera...

Mohan v. Prakash (MFA No. 304 of 2009)

Case / Petition Number:MFA No. 304 of 2009

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • M.N. Krishnan
Judgment Date
2011-02-01
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal allowed; the order of the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner is set aside. The matter is remitted to the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner with directions to permit both parties to adduce further evidence, recall AW2 for cross-examination, consider referring the applicant to a Medical Board to assess loss of earning capacity per Vanajakshan v. Joseph, and ensure expeditious disposal within three months.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; remitted to WCC for reconsideration with permission to adduce further evidence, recall AW2 for cross-examination, and possibly refer to Medical Board to assess loss of earning capacity; expeditious disposal within three months.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • MOHAN, 'MARUTHI'

Respondents

  • PRAKASH @ VIJAYAPRAKASH, S/O. GANGADHARAN PILLAI
  • The Commissioner for Workmen Compensation, Thiruvananthapuram

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri. B.S. Swathy Kumar
  • • Smt. P.A. Anitha

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri. Biju Balakrishnan
  • • Sri. T.K. Sajeev (Government Pleader)

Case Synopsis & Summary

This is an appeal filed by Mohan (the appellant) challenging an order of the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner, Thiruvananthapuram in WCC 12/2002. The respondent/ applicant is Prakash @ VijayaPrakash, who asserts that, while employed as a painter by the opposite parties, he fell from a ladder, suffering injuries including a patellar fracture, facial injuries, and loss of teeth. The Commissioner awarded compensation with 15% disability and a wages figure of Rs. 4,000, which the appellant challenged. The core issue is whether an employer–employee relationship existed, which would justify compensation. The evidence consists of the applicant's testimony and one witness AW2, who could not be cross-examined, leading the court to emphasize the need for independent evidence where cross-examination is unavailable. The court notes that the loss of earning capacity calculations must follow the approach in Vanajakshan v. Joseph (2003 (2) KLT 462(FB)), i.e., assess capacity based on what the worker could do at the time of the accident, not the precise job held, and to permit further evidence. On that basis, the High Court remands the matter to the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner with directions to admit further evidence, recall AW2 for cross-examination, and consider a Medical Board assessment for loss of earning capacity.

Provisions of Law Cited

Workmen's Compensation Act

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Oath against oath (evidence principle)
  • Loss of earning capacity to be assessed based on work one is capable of doing at the time of the accident (per Vanajakshan v. Joseph)
  • Opportunity to adduce evidence before final determination (trial fairness)

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant (opposite party) contends that the evidence shows the applicant/prakash was not proven to be employed as a painter by the opposite party; hence the question of ‘arising out of employment’ should be resolved against compensation. The High Court notes the essential question is whether an employer–employee relationship existed and whether the injuries occurred in course of employment. It emphasizes the need for independent evidence where AW2 cannot be cross-examined and supports remittance for further evidence, with cross-examination of AW2, and possible referral to a Medical Board to assess loss of earning capacity per Vanajakshan.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend there was no employer–employee relationship; thus the applicant is not covered under the Workmen's Compensation Act for compensation arising from the accident. They also highlight the need for cross-examination and additional evidence to establish the connection between employment and injuries.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Vanajakshan v. Joseph2003 (2) KLT 462(FB)PositiveThe Full Bench held that loss of earning capacity is to be calculated based on the work the person is capable of doing at the time of the accident, and that parties must be given an opportunity to adduce evidence; the present case adopts this methodology.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Mohan v. Prakash (MFA No. 304 of 2009) and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** **PRESENT :** **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE M.N.KRISHNAN** **TUESDAY, THE IST FEBRUARY 2011 / 12TH MAGHA 1932** **MFA.No. 304 of 2009()** **-------------------------------** **WCC.12/2002 of COMMISSIONER FOR WORKMENS COMPENSATION, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM.** **....................** ## **APPELLANT(S): 1ST OPPOSITE PARTY** **--------------------------------------------------------** **MOHAN, 'MARUTHI', TC 11/1940, NALANCHIRA P.O., THIRUVANANTHAPURAM.** **BY ADVS. SRI.B.S.SWATHY KUMAR SMT.P.A.ANITHA** ## **RESPONDENT(S): APPLICANT & WORKMEN COMPENSATION COMMISSIONER:** **-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------** **1. PRAKASH @ VIJAYAPRAKASH, S/O. GANGADHARAN PILLAI, BINDHU BHAVAN, MANIKANTESWARAM P.O., THIRUVANANTHAPURAM.** **2. THE COMMISSIONER FOR WORKMEN COMPENSATION, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM.** **R1 BY ADV. SRI.BIJU BALAKRISHNAN R2 BY GOVERNMENT PLEADER SRI.T.K.SAJEEV** **THIS MISC. FIRST APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 01/02/2011, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** **tss** ## **ORDER ON IA. NO.3917/09 IN MFA. NO.304/2009** ## **DISMISSED** **01/02/2011 SD/- M.N.KRISHNAN, JUDGE TRUE COPY P.A. TO JUDGE** **tss** **M.N. KRISHNAN, J.** **= = = = = = = = = = = = = = M.F.A. NO. 304 OF 2009 = = = = = = = = = = = = = = = Dated this the 1[st] day of February, 2011.** **J U D G M E N T** This is an appeal preferred against the order of the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner, Thiruvananthpauram in W.C.C. 12/02. It is the case of the applicant therein that while he was working as a painter under the opposite parties he had fallen down from a ladder resulting in sustainment of serious injuries and therefore he moved an application for getting compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act. On the contra the opposite parties therein would contend that the applicant was never employed as a painter and therefore he was not an employee under the opposite parties and so the question whether the injuries had arisen out of the M.F.A.. 304 OF 2009 -:2:- employment does not arise and therefore the petition is liable to be dismissed. They have also disputed about the nature of injuries etc. 2. On the evidence the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner found in favour of the applicant, fixed the disability at 15%, wages at Rs.4,000/- and awarded the compensation. It is against that decision the first opposite party has come up in appeal. 3. Heard the learned counsel for the appellant as well as the counsel for the applicant before the lower Court namely the first respondent. The definite case of the applicant is that while he was working as a painter under the opposite party he had fallen from the ladder resulting in sustainment of injuries. The medical records are produced to show that he had a fall from ladder and had sustained a fracture on the patella, a fracture ## M.F.A.. 304 OF 2009 ## -:3:- on the cheek etc. Now the fundamental question to be resolved before proceeding to determine the compensation is regarding the employeremployee relationship. We are having evidence of the applicant as well as the first opposite party and one of his witnesses. The applicant had examined another coworker as AW2 but unfortunately he was not available for crossexamination so when a person is not crossexamined the examination in chief cannot be accepted as a piece of evidence unless his evidence is admitted by the other side. Here, we are having oath against oath by the interested parties and therefore it is always reliable to depend upon some independent evidence which may permit the Court to arrive at a proper decision. Since AW2 has been examined in chief and when he is able to withstand cross examination properly then it may be a case where M.F.A.. 304 OF 2009 ## -:4:- the Court has to analyze evidence of both the sides to arrive at a decision. Therefore I feel an opportunity has to be given to both the sides to adduce further evidence in the matter regarding the injury. 4. Now turning to the quantum as well the injuries sustained are a fracture of the patella, fracture on the cheek and loss of some teeth. In the decision reported in **Vanajakshan v. Joseph (2003 (2) KLT 462(FB)** a Full Bench of this Court were considering the methodology to be adopted for fixing the loss of earning capacity. The Court held that the loss of earning capacity has to be calculated not on the basis of a particular work which one was doing but on the basis of the work which one was capable of doing at the time of the accident. Then the Court further held thereafter an opportunity has to be given to the parties to ## M.F.A.. 304 OF 2009 ## -:5:- adduce evidence in support of their respective contentions. Unfortunately, in the case before me, first of all no sustainment of loss of earning capacity is assessed and what is assessed is only permanent disability. It is true that there is permanent disability and loss of earning capacity but it is a matter that has to be probed into and proved. Therefore on that ground also the matter requires reconsideration. 5. In the result the appeal is allowed and the order under challenge is set aside and the matter is remitted back to the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner with a direction to permit both the parties to adduce further evidence in support of their respective contentions as well as to recall AW2 and make him available for cross-examination and further to direct the parties or referring the applicant to appear before the Medical Board so as to ## M.F.A.. 304 OF 2009 -:6:- assess the loss of earning capacity as envisaged under the decision reported in **Vanajakshan v. Joseph (2003 (2) KLT 462(FB).** The Compensation Commissioner is directed to issue notice to the parties fixing the date of appearance. It is also made clear if any amount is in deposit let it remain in deposit and disbursement be made after final disposal of the matter. Considering the nature of the case let there be a very expeditious disposal within three months from the date of first appearance of the parties. The M.F.A. is disposed of accordingly. ## **M.N. KRISHNAN, JUDGE.** ul/-