High Court of KeralaDivision BenchPartly allowed; award modified to Rs.25,834 wit...

Mikad, S/o Ummer v. United India Insurance Company Ltd.

Case / Petition Number:MFA 164/07

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • K. M. Joseph
  • M. L. Joseph Francis
Judgment Date
2011-08-18
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal partly allowed. The High Court modified the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner’s award: the aggregate payable to the claimant was fixed at Rs.25,834 (instead of Rs.31,000) with interest at 12% from the date of the accident (20-08-2000) to the date of payment. The court maintained that loss of earning capacity should be adjusted to 10% (from 20%), and directed payment accordingly, while acknowledging the various precedents on interest calculations.
Final Disposition
Partly allowed; award modified to Rs.25,834 with 12% interest from the date of the accident until payment; loss of earning capacity reduced to 10%.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • United India Insurance Co. Ltd.

Respondents

  • Mikad, S/o Ummer
  • P. Prabhakaran

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri P. V. Jyothi Prasad

Case Synopsis & Summary

This is MFA No.164 of 2007 under the Workmen's Compensation Act heard by a Division Bench of the Kerala High Court. The respondent-workman (Mikad) claimed under Sec.22 of the Act, with the first opposite party (the employer) and the insurer as opponents. The Workmen's Compensation Commissioner had awarded Rs.31,000 with 12% interest from the date of the accident. The insurer challenged on three grounds: (1) the employer–employee relationship and hence the basis of the award; (2) the loss of earning capacity and the related medical-board issue; and (3) the justification for interest from the date of the accident. The appellant argued that the evidence did not establish an employment relationship, that there was no basis to refer for medical board evaluation, and that interest should accrue only from adjudication. The court found that there was evidence showing the employer owned the vehicle and the policy stood in the employer’s name, so there was no substantial question of law on the employment relationship. On interest, it examined several precedents and concluded that, following broader Supreme Court guidance and larger benched decisions (e.g., Pratap Narain Singh Deo), interest from the date of accident was justified, and it reduced the claimant’s loss of earning capacity to 10%, directing payment of Rs.25,834 with 12% interest from the accident date up to payment. The order was thus modified in part after hearing."

Provisions of Law Cited

Workmen's Compensation Act, Sec. 22Workmen's Compensation Act, Sec. 4A(1)Workmen's Compensation Act, Sec. 4Constitution of India, Art. 141Constitution of India, Art. 142

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Larger bench principle prevails when Supreme Court decisions conflict (Mattulal v. Radhe Lal)

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

Three contentions: (1) the claimant's allegation of employment failed as a question of fact; evidence showed the employer was owner and the policy named the employer; thus the relationship was not established as a legal issue. (2) the 12% loss-of-earning-capacity and the Medical Board referral were argued to be unfounded; the insurer cited several precedents limiting liability and medical-board referrals. (3) interest from the date of the accident was not justified and should be from adjudication.

Contentions of Respondents

Respondents did not appear for formal representation; the employer previously filed a counter denying an employer–employee relationship.

Cited Precedents (11)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
New India Assurance Co. Ltd. v. Sreedharan1995(1) KLT 275 (FB)Mentioned OnlyFull Bench decision cited by the appellant; not treated as controlling in the face of later larger-benched rulings.
Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata(1976) 1 SCC 289PositiveHeld that compensation becomes due on the date of injury and that interest can be awarded from that date; used to justify interest from the accident date.
National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another2007 AIR SCW 1265Mentioned OnlyCited in debate over timing of interest; not treated as controlling due to larger-benched authority.
Kamla Chaturvedi v. National Insurance Co.2008(4) KLT 862 (SC)Mentioned OnlyTwo-judge bench decision cited; later given weight by larger-bench principle.
Palraj v. Divisional Controller, NEKRTC2010-JT-10-94Mentioned OnlyCited as authority; not central to the final outcome.
National Insurance Company Ltd. v. Rekha2007(4) KLT 386PositiveDivision Bench held that interest from the date of accident can be awarded; supportive of the court's stance.
Harrisons Malayalam Ltd. v. P.K. Ashraf and Others2009(1) KHC 799 (DB)PositiveDivision Bench aligned with the view that interest can be from the date of accident; supportive.
Delhi Development Authority v. Skipper Construction Co. (P) Ltd.AIR 1996 SC 2005PositiveNoted that lower tribunals cannot exercise Art.142 powers; apex decisions govern.
Suganthi Suresh Kumar v. Jagdheesan(2002) 2 SCC 420PositiveArt.141 binds; higher Court precedents govern.
Mattulal v. Radhe LalAIR 1974 SC 1596PositiveLarger bench decisions prevail when conflicting Supreme Court rulings arise.
Mubasir Ahmed2007 AIR SCW 1265Mentioned OnlyCited to illustrate conflicting precedents; not controlling due to larger bench rulings.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Mikad, S/o Ummer v. United India Insurance Company Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT : THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE K.M.JOSEPH & THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS THURSDAY, THE 18TH AUGUST 2011 / 27TH SRAVANA 1933 MFA.No. 164 of 2007() --------------------WCC.47/2001 of Commissioner for Workmen's Compensation THRISSUR .................... APPELLANT(S): 2ND OPPOSITE PARTY -------------------------------- UNITED INDIA INSURANCE COMPANY LTD., REP. BY ITS ASST.MANAGER, REGIONAL OFFICE, SHARANYA, HOSPITAL ROAD, KOCHI-11. BY ADV. SRI.P.V.JYOTHI PRASAD RESPONDENT(S): APPLICANT AND IST OPPOSITE PARTY RESPECTIVELY ------------------------------------------------------------ 1. MIKDAD, S/O.UMMER, APPAKADU HOUSE, P.O.PUDUKOD, PALAKKAD DIST. 2. P.PRABHAKARAN, POOMGOTTILE HOUSE, TRRIPPALAMUNDA, PALAKKAD DIST. THIS MISC. FIRST APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 18/08/2011, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: ## **K.M.JOSEPH & M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS, JJ. ----------------------------------------------M.F.A. No.164 of 2007 ----------------------------------------------Dated 18[th] August, 2011.** ## **J U D G M E N T** ## **Joseph, J.** Appellant is the second opposite party/insurer in a claim filed under Section 22 of the Workmen's Compensation Act. The Commissioner has awarded Rs.31,000/- with interest at the rate of 12% from the date of the accident. 2. We heard learned counsel for the appellant. Though served, there is no representation for the respondents. 3. Learned counsel for the appellant would raise three contentions before us. He would firstly contend that this is a case where the allegation of the claimant was that he was an autorickshaw driver and he was an employee of the first opposite party. The first opposite party filed counter and he denied the employer-employee relationship. It is his case that he sold the vehicle to one Raveendran and the said Raveendran was not brought on the party array. Even then, it is stated that the Commissioner has found that the applicant is an employee of the first opposite party. 4. Secondly, it is contended that the Commissioner MFA 164/07 2 has taken loss of earning capacity at 12%. The appellant filed a petition for referring the matter to the Medical Board. However, without any basis, the same was rejected, it is submitted. He referred to the decision of the Full Bench in **New India Assurance Company Limited v. Sreedharan** [1995(1) KLT 275 (FB)] in the matter and contended that it is not permissible. Thirdly, he contended that there is no justification in awarding interest from the date of the accident. 5. Taking up the first point, we notice that it cannot be said that the substantial question of law arises essentially whether the applicant was an employee of the first opposite party, is a question of fact. In this case, there was evidence of the applicant. It was also found that the first opposite party was the owner of the vehicle and the policy also stood in the name of the first opposite party. In such circumstances, we are not inclined to think that there is any substantial question of law made out in this regard. 6. Learned counsel would submit that the direction to pay interest from the date of accident is unsustainable. He MFA 164/07 3 would submit that only upon adjudication, the liability arises and therefore interest could be ordered only from the date of the adjudication and not from the date of the accident. Learned counsel relied on the judgments of the Supreme Court in **National Insurance Co.Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another** [2007 AIR SCW 1265], **Kamla Chaturvedi v. National Insurance Co** . [2008(4) KLT 862 (SC)] and **Palraj v. Divisional Controller, NEKRTC** [2010-JT-10-94]. They are all judgments rendered by two judges benches. No doubt, they tend to support the case of the appellant. However, we notice that the question engaged the attention of the Apex Court and a bench of four judges in **Pratap Narain Singh Deo v. Srinivas Sabata** [(1976)1 SCC 289] held as follows : “It is wrong to contend that the compensation had not fallen due until it was 'settled' by the Commissioner under Section 19 by his impugned order dated May 6, 1969. The employer became liable to pay the compensation as soon as the personal injury was caused to the workman by the accident which admittedly arose out of and in the course of employment. There was no suspension of the compensation pending settlement. It was the duty of the MFA 164/07 4 appellant, under Section 4A(1) of the Act, to pay the compensation at the rate provided by Section 4 as soon as the personal injury was caused to the respondent. So in the present facts and circumstances the Commissioner was fully justified in making an order for the payment of interest and the penalty.” No doubt, it is pointed out that the said case related to a scheduled injury and the facts were different. Thereafter, similar question arose before this Court in **National Insurance** **Company Ltd. v. Rekha** [2007(4) KLT 386]. Therein also, the decision in **National Insurance Co.Ltd. v. Mubasir Ahmed & Another** [2007 AIR SCW 1265] was considered by the Division Bench and it was interalia held as follows : “In Mubasir Ahamed's case, Maghar Singh's case was relied, but, directed to pay interest from the date of award only on the basis of the facts of that case. Wide powers vested in the Hon'ble Supreme Court under Art.142 of the Constitution of India are not available to the Tribunal or even to the High Courts while deciding a statutory appeal. (See the observations in Delhi Development Authority v. Skipper Construction Co.(P) Ltd. (AIR 1996 SC 2005). We are bound by statutory provisions and law declared by the Apex Court as MFA 164/07 5 mandated by Art.141 of the Constitution as held in Suganthi Suresh Kumar v. Jagdheesan (2002) 2 SCC 420). When there is conflict between the decisions of the Supreme Court, decision of the larger Bench will prevail (See : Mattulal v. Radhe Lal (AIR 1974 SC 1596). In view of the statutory provisions and larger Bench decision, we see no ground to interfere in that part of the order in awarding interest from the date of accident. We also note that this ground was not raised before the Commissioner or even in the appeal memorandum, but only raised as an additional ground by filing petition dated 7.6.2007 in the appeal filed in the year 1998. However, we see no ground to interfere in the impugned award and hence this appeal is dismissed.” However, it is pointed out that the matter is pending in appeal before the Supreme Court against the aforesaid judgment of the Division Bench of this Court. 7. The same view was taken by another Division Bench in an employer's appeal in **Harrisons Malayalam Ltd. v. P.K.Ashraf and Others** [2009(1) KHC 799 (DB)]. In the light of the said legal position, we do not find any merit in the contention of the appellant. MFA 164/07 6 ## 8. Thirdly, learned counsel for the appellant contended that the Medical Board petition should have been allowed. We notice that the injuries, and the disabilities as noted in Ext.A8 disability certificate, are as follows : “Injuries : 1. Fracture right clavicle. 2. Blunt injury abdomen. 3. Puncture wound 1.5 x 0.5 cm bone deep right leg. 4. Abrasion on right leg, left foot, right ankle both flank. 5. Pain in the abdomen distended. 6. Lacerated wound 1 x 0.5 cm. On lower part of right leg. 7. Haematoma 4 x 4 cm in the interscapular area. Disabilities : 1. Malunion right clavicle. 2. Tender calleous formation over right clavicle. 3. Movements of right shoulder joint restricted. 4. Stiffness of right ankle joint. 5. Chronic abdomen. Permanent disability assessed as 9% and loss of earning capacity as a Petty Autorikshaw Driver is assessed as 20%.” We notice further that the doctor has also been examined as AW2. 9. After hearing the learned counsel for the MFA 164/07 7 appellant, we would think that the interests of justice would be sub-served if we reduce the loss of earning capacity to 10%. On the said basis, the claimant would be entitled to Rs.25,833.60, which is rounded off to Rs.25,834/-. Accordingly, we modify the order and direct that the appellant will pay a sum of Rs.25,834/- with interest at 12% from the date of the accident, viz., 20.8.2000 till the date of deposit. Sd/- ## **K.M.JOSEPH, JUDGE.** Sd/- ## **M.L.JOSEPH FRANCIS, JUDGE.** tgs (True copy) P.S. to Judge.