High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeDisposed of accordingly

MFA (WCC) No. 7 of 2010 (WCC 181/1994, W.C.C., Palakkad)

Case / Petition Number:MFA (WCC) No. 7 of 2010; WCC 181/1994 of W.C.C., Palakkad

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • M.N. Krishnan
Judgment Date
2010-03-08
Court Decision / Holding
The award under challenge is set aside and the matter is remitted back to the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner with a direction to consider the matter afresh and decide the ownership and then dispose of the matter in accordance with law after affording equal opportunities. The insurance company's involvement is not necessary since the policy does not cover the risk of the cleaner. The Commissioner shall issue notices to all parties and conduct proceedings consistent with due process, ultimately determining ownership and liability under the Workmen's Compensation Act.
Final Disposition
Disposed of accordingly

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • P. KunjiMohammed

Respondents

  • Moolath Alavi
  • Kottaakkadan Pathumma
  • The Oriental Insurance Co. Ltd.
  • Sri. T. Ahmed Koya

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Mr. P. Samsuddin

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Not stated
  • • Mr. V.P.K. Panickar
  • • Mr. P. Venugopal

Case Synopsis & Summary

This appeal under the Workmen's Compensation Act challenges an award of the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner, Palakkad in WCC No.181/1994. A cleaner employed by a bus operator died in an accident, and his parents moved as dependants seeking compensation. The Commissioner held the appellant (the registered owner) liable, though the fact pattern shows the death of the father and survival of the mother as the sole legal heir and dependant. The central issue is who owned the vehicle on the date of the accident and whether there was an employer‑employee relationship between the deceased cleaner and the owner/appellant under the Act. The appellant contends that an agreement dated 28.9.1991 (Ext. D3) between the first respondent (owner) and the third respondent evidences a sale of the vehicle for Rs. 3.5 lakh, with an advance of Rs. 2 lakh and a balance to be paid by year end; the document recites that the third respondent would be liable for liabilities arising after execution. It is argued that sale transfers ownership through delivery and payment, with registration being a subsequent event, so liability should follow the transferee if sale is proved. The respondents cite Jose v. Chacko to support the registered owner’s liability, but the court notes the transferee is already a party here, distinguishing that decision. The case is remanded to the WCC for fresh determination on ownership and liability, with equal opportunity notices to all parties and deposits kept until final decision. The insurer’s involvement is not necessary as the policy does not cover the cleaner’s risk.

Provisions of Law Cited

Workmen's Compensation ActSale of Goods Act

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that Ext. D3, an agreement dated 28.9.1991 between the first respondent (registered owner) and the third respondent evidences a sale of the vehicle for Rs. 3.5 lakh, with a Rs. 2 lakh advance and the balance to be paid by year‑end. The recital makes the third respondent liable for liabilities arising after execution. The physical transfer of possession coupled with receipt of consideration constitutes divestiture of title, with registration being a subsequent event. If the sale is proved, the transferee becomes the owner and assumes responsibility for post‑date liabilities; the employer–employee relationship relevant to WCA is to be evidence‑based, not presumed. Since there is an ongoing dispute about the actual execution of the agreement, it requires evidence. The award should be set aside and remitted for fresh adjudication, including notice to all parties, as the insurance policy does not cover the cleaner's risk, so there is no automatic insurance‑based liability. The Court should determine ownership first and then dispose according to law.

Contentions of Respondents

Respondents rely on Jose v. Chacko to contend that the registered owner cannot escape liability where the transferee is not properly made a party; however, the judgment distinguishes that decision on facts because both transferor and transferee are parties here, and the terms of Ext. D3 may bind the parties if proved. The Apex Court’s ruling would apply to cases where the transferee is not before the court or where the sale is not properly established by evidence. Here, if sale and possession are demonstrated, the transferee would be the owner, potentially shifting liability. The insurer’s role is limited by the policy’s coverage; given the lack of coverage for a cleaner’s risk, the primary liability may fall on the accountable owner only upon a finding of ownership. Evidence regarding the agreement’s execution, ownership transfer, and any employer‑employee linkage must be critically examined before final liability allocation. The Court should defer final liability until ownership is clarified with due process and equal opportunity for all parties.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Jose v. Chacko2001 (3) KLT 633DistinguishedCited as authority but distinguished on the facts since, unlike in Jose v. Chacko, both transferor and transferee are before the court; the decision’s applicability depends on facts of ownership transfer and party involvement.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against MFA (WCC) No. 7 of 2010 (WCC 181/1994, W.C.C., Palakkad) and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** **PRESENT :** **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE M.N.KRISHNAN** **MONDAY, THE 8TH MARCH 2010 / 17TH PHALGUNA 1931** **MFA (WCC).No. 7 of 2010() ------------------WCC.181/1994 of W.C.C., PALAKKAD ....................** **APPELLANT(S): 1ST OPPOSITE PARTY:** **-------------------------------------------------------------** **P.KUNJIMOHAMMED, S/O.ABDURAHIMAN, POOZHIKKUTHU HOUSE, KARUVAMBRAM, MANJERI.** **BY ADV.MR.P.SAMSUDIN** **RESPONDENT(S): APPLICANTS:OPPOSITE PARTIES 2 AND 4:** **--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------** **1. MOOLATH ALAVI, S/O.KUTTY HASSAN, THIRUVALI AMSOM, S/O.PATHIRIYAL DESOM, P.O.PATHIRIYAL, ERNAD TALUK.** **2. KOTTAKKADAN PATHUMMA, W/O.MOOLATH ALAVI, THIRUVALI AMSOM, S/O.PATHRIYAL DESOM, P.O.PATHIRIYAL, ERNAD TALUK.** **3. THE ORIENTAL INSURANCE CO.LTD., BRANCH OFFICE, NILAMBUR ROAD, MANJERI.** **4. SRI.T.AHAMMED KOYA, S/O.MOYIN, THATTAYIL HOUSE, P.O.ANAKKAYAM, MALAPPURAM.** **R3 BY ADV. MR. V.P.K.PANICKER R4 BYADV. MR.P.VENUGOPAL (1086/92)** **THIS MISC. FIRST APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 08/03/2010, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** ## **Kss** ## **ORDER ON I.A.NO.78/2010 IN MFA (WCC) NO.7/2010** ## **CLOSED** **08/03/2010** **SD/- M.N.KRISHNAN, JUDGE** **/TRUE COPY/** **P.A.TO JUDGE** **Kss** ## **M.N. KRISHNAN, J.** ........................................... M.F.A.No.7 OF 2010 ............................................. Dated this the 8[th] day of March, 2010. ## **J U D G M E N T** This appeal is preferred against the award of the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner, Palakkad in W.C.C.No.181/1994. A cleaner of a bus died in an accident and his parents moved an application as dependants for compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act. Now it is seen that the father is dead and mother is surviving. So, naturally the mother can be considered as the sole legal heir and dependant of the son. The Workmen's Compensation Commissioner found that the appellant herein is the registered owner of the vehicle and therefore conferred the liability on him. The alleged transferee owner is R3 in the original proceedings and on his death, his son R4 therein is impleaded. So, virtually the questions for consideration are who is the owner of the vehicle on the date of accident and whether it is R1 or R4 representing R3. Another interesting question raised is whether there is any employer employee relationship between the deceased cleaner and R1 in the M.F.A.No.7 OF 2010 case. ## : 2 : 2. The learned counsel for the appellant would argue before me that an agreement has been entered into on 28.9.1991 between the first respondent and the third respondent in the petition before the Court below. The Court below found that since first respondent is the registered owner, he is liable to pay the compensation. Now a perusal of Ext.D3 agreement would reveal that the vehicle was agreed to be sold for a consideration of Rs.3,50,000/= by the first respondent in the case to the third respondent and there was a payment of advance of Rs. two lakhs and the balance consideration has to be paid by the end of December. It is also seen that there is a recital in the document that the third respondent in the petition would be liable for all the acts or expenses that take place after the execution of the agreement. I am informed that the third respondent is now represented by his legal representative, the 4[th] respondent. The Court below had not considered the agreement-Ext.D3. So far as the Sale of Goods Act is concerned, it has to be stated that when a vehicle is transferred by receipt of : 3 : M.F.A.No.7 OF 2010 consideration and handing over of its possession that amounts to divestiture of title and that the change of registration is only a subsequent event that takes place after the sale. So, it is not the transfer of registration that proves the sale but the real sale. 3. The learned counsel for the respondents had brought to my notice a decision of the Apex Court reported in **Jose v. Chacko** (2001 (3) KLT 633). In that case the Hon'ble Apex Court held that since the vehicle stands in the name of the registered owner, he cannot escape from the liability. But it was a case where the transferee was not made as a party either in the lower Court or in the High Court, but was impleaded as a party before the Hon'ble Supreme Court. The Hon'ble Supreme Court held that it cannot conduct an enquiry at that stage and therefore held that the registered owner has to pay the amount and, if law permits, direct the registered owner to proceed against the owner in possession in appropriate proceedings. 4. But so far as this case is concerned, the transferor and the transferee are in the party array. If the transferor : 4 : ## M.F.A.No.7 OF 2010 is able to prove the sale in favour of the transferee, then the transferee becomes the absolute owner of the property. In such circumstances, one cannot fasten the liability on the original owner. But I am informed that there is a dispute regarding the very execution of the agreement. So, it is a matter that requires evidence. The terms and conditions of the agreement is at lest binding on the parties. If the agreement is proved, then the terms and conditions also will stand proved. By virtue of the terms and conditions, the transferee has undertaken to satisfy all the liabilities that arise after the date of agreement. So, these are all matters which requires consideration. Similarly whether there is any employer employee relationship also is a matter that has to be considered for the reason that the claim is filed under the provisions of the Workmen's Compensation Act. 5. Therefore the award under challenge is set aside and the matter is remitted back to the Workmen's Compensation Commissioner with a direction to consider the matter afresh and decide the ownership and then dispose of the matter in accordance with law after affording equal : 5 : M.F.A.No.7 OF 2010 opportunities. The Workmen's Compensation Commissioner shall issue notice to all the parties and then proceed with the matter in accordance with law. The amount deposited shall remain in deposit till a final decision is taken in the matter. The junction of the insurance company is not necessary as the policy does not cover the risk of the cleaner. Disposed of accordingly ## **M.N. KRISHNAN, JUDGE** ## **cl** : 6 : M.F.A.No.7 OF 2010