High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeWrit petition dismissed.

K.K. Lakshmanan v. Chairman, Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board; Secretary, Vatakara Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank, Kakkatil, Vadakara

Case / Petition Number:WP(C).No. 23731 of 2004 (A)

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • A.V.RAMAKRISHNA PILLAI
Judgment Date
2014-01-31
Court Decision / Holding
Writ petition dismissed.
Final Disposition
Writ petition dismissed.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • K.K. Lakshmanan

Respondents

  • The Chairman, Kerala State Co-Operative Employees Pension Board, Thiruvananthapuram
  • The Secretary, Vatakara Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank, Kakkatil, Vadakara

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri. Mohanan V.T.K.

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri. K.R. Sunil
  • • Sri.K.Ramakumar

Case Synopsis & Summary

This writ petition concerns whether the period of service of a cooperative employee should be counted for determining qualifying service under the Kerala Co-operative Employees Provident Fund, in light of a bank resolution to contribute to the fund with retrospective effect. The petitioner, K.K. Lakshmanan, served as Secretary of the Vadakara Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank from 1964 to 1999. The Kerala Cooperative Employees Provident Fund was introduced in 1969. The bank, by Resolution No. 9 dated 31.7.1995, decided to contribute to the fund from the date of the petitioner’s entry into service (retrospectively), and the arrears were paid to the Pension Board. The petitioner contends that the Pension Board should reckon the qualifying service from the fund-joining date (1969/1970) based on the bank’s retrospective decision, while the Board calculated the qualifying service from 1.1.1970 and argues the retroactive contribution cannot alter the scheme’s terms. The Board had earlier decided not to accept the bank’s retrospective claim, citing Rule 58 and the non-retroactivity of the decision. The petitioner relies on Sukumaran v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board and Purushothaman v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board, which were cited as supporting the date of joining as the relevant trigger. The court ultimately held that the petitioner was not entitled to relief and dismissed the petition, upholding the scheme’s approach and the Board’s interpretation.

Provisions of Law Cited

Section 19(1)(a) of the Kerala Co- operative Employees Self Financing Pension SchemeRule 58Clause 19 read with Paragraph 39 of the Pension Scheme

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The petitioner contends that Rule 58 permits retrospective contributions and that the Pension Board’s acceptance of the bank’s retrospective contribution should enable reckoning the length of service from the date of joining the Provident Fund. He argues that the board cannot later deny benefits already accrued under the bank’s decision, a position supported by Sukumaran and Purushothaman, which hold that the relevant date for qualifying service is the date the employee joined the fund and that retrospective contributions are intended to make the fund operative for those joining earlier.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend that the Pension Board calculated the pension on the basis of contributions made from the date of entry into service and that retroactive contributions are not admissible under Rule 58. They argue that the bank’s retrospective decision cannot override the scheme’s terms and that any excess pension sanctioned would be subject to refunds or adjustments as per the scheme’s provisions. They emphasize that the fund is self-financing and that the objectives of the scheme require conformity with the date on which the employee joined the fund.

Cited Precedents (2)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Sukumaran v Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board, Triavandrum and another2010(4) KHC 859PositiveCited as a settled principle that the relevant date for computing qualifying service is the date on which the employee joined the fund, supporting the argument against retroactive entitlement.
Purushothaman v Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board2011(3) KLT 250PositiveFollowed Sukumaran, reinforcing the view that the joining date determines eligibility under the Pension Scheme.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against K.K. Lakshmanan v. Chairman, Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board; Secretary, Vatakara Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank, Kakkatil, Vadakara and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** **PRESENT:** ## **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE A.V.RAMAKRISHNA PILLAI** **FRIDAY, THE 31ST DAY OF JANUARY 2014/11TH MAGHA, 1935** ## **WP(C).No. 23731 of 2004 (A)** **----------------------------** **PETITIONER :** **--------------------** **K.K.LAKSHMANAN, AREEKKAL HOUSE, CHEEKKANNUMMAL (P.O) SECRETARY (RETIRED), VADAKARA CO-OPERATIVE AGRICULTURAL AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT BANK, KAKKATIL.** **BY ADV. SRI.MOHANAN V.T.K.** ## **RESPONDENT(S) :** **----------------------------** **1. THE CHAIRMAN, KERALA STATE CO-OPERATIVE EMPLOYEES PENSION BOARD THIRUVANANTHAPURAM.** ## **2. THE SECRETARY,** **VATAKARA CO-OPERATIVE AGRICULTURAL AND RURAL DEVELOPMENT BANK, (P.O) KAKKATIL, VADAKARA.** **R1 BY ADVS. SRI. K.R. SUNIL R2 BY SENIOR ADVOCATE SRI.K.RAMAKUMAR** **THIS WRIT PETITION (CIVIL) HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 03/01/2014, THE COURT ON 31-01-2014 DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** **Mn** **...2/-** ## **WP(C).No. 23731 of 2004 (A)** ## **APPENDIX** ## **PETITIONER'S EXHIBITS :** **EXT.P1 : COPY OF THE PETITION FILED BEFORE THE SECRETARY DATED 1.7.1970. EXT.P2 COPY OF THE PETITION SUBMITTED TO THE SECRETARY, PENSION BOARD FROM THE PETITIONER DATED 19.1.2000. EXT.P3 COPY OF THE LETTER SENT BY THE SECRETARY OF THE BANK TO THE PENSION BOARD DATED 8.2.2000.** **EXT.P4 COPY OF THE LETTER DATED 23.10.2003.** ## **RESPONDENT'S EXHIBITS :** **EXT.R1(a) LETTER DATED 31.7.2010 ISSUED BY THE VERIFICATION OFFICER TO THE ADDITIONAL REGISTRAR/SECRETARY. EXT.R2(a) : COPY OF DETAILS OF REMITTANCE OF PENSION FUND OF THE PETITIONER.** **//TRUE COPY//** **P.S. TO JUDGE Mn** ## **A.V.RAMAKRISHNA PILLAI, J** --------------------------------------------W.P.(C) No.23731 of 2004 --------------------------------------------Dated this the 31[st] day of January, 2014 ## **JUDGMENT** Whether the period from the date of joining service of a Co-operative employee be reckoned for calculating the qualifying service for the Kerala Co-operative employees provident fund on the strength of a subsequent decision of the Co-operative Society/Bank to make contribution to the aforesaid fund with retrospective effect? This is the short question to be answered in this writ petition. 2. The petitioner demitted the office as Secretary from the Vadakara Co-operative Agricultural and Rural Development Bank, Kakkatil on 31.1.1999. He was in service of the bank from 7.9.1964. The Kerala Cooperative employees fund was introduced in the year 1969. The second respondent bank by Resolution No.9 dated 31.7.1995 has decided to contribute to the provident fund with effect from the date of the petitioner's WPC No.23731 of 2004 2 joining service, i.e., retrospectively. The petitioner alleges that as per the aforesaid decision, the entire arrears was paid to the first respondent Board. 3. His grievance is that in spite of the decision taken by the respondent bank the first respondent has calculated the qualifying service of eligibility for pension with effect from 1.1.1970 only. Thus, he has come up before this Court. 4. The first respondent filed a counter wherein it is alleged that the respondent bank has calculated the contributory pension fund on the date of entry of the service of the petitioner only after the formation of the Pension Board with a view to invest the pension. Therefore, the Board in its meeting on 17.12.1999 decided not to accept the claim of the bank. 5. It is further alleged that being a self financing pension scheme, the Pension Board collected pension contribution from the bank to give pension to the employees coming under the scheme. The pension is calculated on the basis of the average pay of last 10 months of the employees. Here, the bank with a mala fide intention has remitted the pension fund from the WPC No.23731 of 2004 3 date of entry of the petitioner in service, it is alleged. If the claim is admitted, the board will have to pay monthly pension at the rate of Rs.5729/-. It is also contended that if the Pension Board has sanctioned any excess amount to any pensioner in the sanctioned order, there is a specific provision for refund or future adjustment of such excess amount. Therefore, according to the first respondent, the claim of the petitioner cannot be accepted. 6. I have heard the learned counsel for the petitioner and the learned counsel for the respondents quite in extenso. 7. Admittedly, the petitioner joined the service of the bank on 7.9.1964 and demitted his office on 31.1.1999 as Secretary after completing 34 years and four months of continuing service. It is an admitted fact that the Kerala Co-operative employees provident fund was introduced in the year 1969. The respondent bank took the resolution on 31.7.1995 to contribute to the provident fund with effect from the date of the petitioner's entry in service. 8. As per Section 19(1)(a) of the Kerala Co- WPC No.23731 of 2004 4 operative employees self financing pension scheme, the qualifying service is calculated from the date of joining the provident fund scheme. As per the decision of the bank referred to above, contribution was also paid. The stand taken by the respondent Board is that the bank's decision is subsequent in point of time and the same cannot be made retrospective as per Rule 58. 9. The argument advanced by the learned counsel for the petitioner is that there is no bar in Rule 58 making the contribution retrospective. It was also pointed out that as the board has accepted the contribution, the board cannot later on deny the benefits which have already accrued to the petitioner on the strength of the decision taken by the bank. The position is well settled after the decision of this Court in **Sukumaran** v **Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board, Triavandrum and another** (2010(4) KHC 859) which was later followed by this Court in **Purushothaman** v **Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board** (2011(3) KLT 250). Both these decisions make it clear that going by clause 19 read with paragraph 39 of the Pension Scheme, the WPC No.23731 of 2004 5 relevant date for computing the length of qualifying service is the date on which the employee joined the contributory fund. The reason is obvious. Only a person who joins the fund is entitled to the benefit of the fund subsequent to his requirement. The contributions to the fund will fetch interest and the same would help to a considerable extent in giving pension to the members subsequent to the retirement. If the argument of the petitioner is accepted, it will only pave way to create artificial eligibility by making contributions at the fag end of the service with the connivance of the Co-operative Society or Bank under which the employee is working. If such a course is permitted, the whole purpose sought to be achieved by the Pension Fund Scheme would be defeated. 10. The argument advanced by the learned counsel for the petitioner that the respondent board has accepted the contribution does not hold good because as rightly pointed out by the learned counsel for the first respondent, these contributions are made on the basis of the calculations made by the concerned society or the bank. WPC No.23731 of 2004 6 11. As pointed out in the counter filed by the first respondent, if the Pension Board has sanctioned any excess amount to any pensioner in the sanction order, there is a specific provision for refund of future adjustments of such excess, if any. On a consideration of the entire facts and circumstances of the case, this Court is of the definite view that the petitioner is not entitled to obtain the relief as prayed for in this writ petition. Therefore, this writ petition is dismissed. **sd/- A.V.RAMAKRISHNA PILLAI JUDGE** css/ TRUE COPY P.S.TO JUDGE