High Court of KeralaDivision BenchAppeal allowed; enhanced compensation; deposit ...

K.C. Mary v. P.V. George and National Insurance Co. Ltd.

Case / Petition Number:MACA.No.1805 of 2009
Neutral Citation:/

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • T.R. Ramachandran Nair
  • P.V. Asha
Judgment Date
2015-02-12
Court Decision / Holding
The appeal is allowed as modified. Enhanced compensation totals Rs. 7,84,300 with interest at 9% per annum from the petition date. The insurer is directed to deposit the entire amount, less any already deposited, within three months. Costs in the appeal to be borne by the parties.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; enhanced compensation; deposit within three months; costs in appeal to be borne by the parties.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • K.C.Mary

Respondents

  • P.V. George
  • Johnny
  • National Insurance Co. Ltd.

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri. Grashious Kuriaokose

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri. Mathews Jacob (Sr.)
  • • Sri. P. Jacob Mathew

Case Synopsis & Summary

Appellant K.C. Mary, a 52-year-old aided school teacher, sustained serious injuries in a motor-vehicle collision on 29 April 2001 when the jeep she was travelling in was struck from behind by a lorry, causing the jeep to overturn and the lorry to overturn as well. The Tribunal held negligence against the lorry driver and awarded Rs. 4,61,100 for a 29% permanent disability, pain and suffering, loss of amenities, medical expenses, loss of income, bystander expenses and other heads. The appellant challenges the award as inadequate for permanent disability, pain and suffering, and loss of amenities and seeks recognition of transportation and bystander expenses. She contends the Tribunal erred in using a low notional income (Rs. 2,500/month) and a short multiplier. The Insurance Company counters with a different calculation framework, noting pension eligibility would reduce earning power and urging the use of an appropriate multiplier in line with age and service left. The Kerala High Court reassesses: fixing monthly income at Rs. 6,500, applying 29% disability and a multiplier of 11, so permanent disability is Rs. 2,48,820; bystander Rs. 17,000; transport Rs. 15,000; pain and suffering Rs. 75,000; loss of amenities Rs. 60,000; extra nourishment Rs. 10,000. Medical expenses remain Rs. 1,66,000; total compensation becomes Rs. 7,84,300. Interest at 9% from petition date, deposit within three months, costs in appeal borne by parties. The bench also cites Apex Court principles, including Kumari Kiran through her father Harinarayan v Sajjan Singh (2015) 1 SCC 539, to support enhanced compensation.

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that the Tribunal erred in under-compensating for permanent disability, pain and suffering, and loss of amenities; she seeks recognition of transportation and bystander expenses that were not awarded. She argues the notional income of Rs. 2,500 per month is too low and the multiplier used undervalues future earning capacity, especially given her age and two years of treatment. She relies on Apex Court guidance, including Kumari Kiran v. Sajjan Singh, to urge a more substantial assessment of damages, including higher compensation for permanent disability and associated heads.

Contentions of Respondents

The insurer contends for a recalibrated framework, arguing pension eligibility would reduce net loss of earnings and that the multiplier should reflect age and remaining service. It challenges the notional income level and the calculation of damages, while urging careful partitioning of medical expenses and future loss of earning capacity; it also disputes excessive compensation on heads such as transport, bystander, and extra nourishment, advocating restraint consistent with the evidence and judicial precedents.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Kumari Kiran through her father Harinarayan v Sajjan Singh and others(2015) 1 SCC 539PositiveCited to support principles for determining just compensation, including considerations of permanent disability and related heads, underpinning the enhanced award.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against K.C. Mary v. P.V. George and National Insurance Co. Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT: THE HONOURABLE MR.JUSTICE T.R.RAMACHANDRAN NAIR & THE HONOURABLE SMT. JUSTICE P.V.ASHA THURSDAY, THE 12TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2015/23RD MAGHA, 1936 MACA.No. 1805 of 2009 ( ) -------------------------- AGAINST THE AWARD IN OPMV 102/2002 of ADDL.MACT,THALASSERY DATED 30-01-2009 APPELLANT(S):CLAIMANT ------------------------ K.C.MARY, W/O BABY, CHIRAKKALPURAYIDAM, P.O.KOLAYAD, KANNUR DISTRICT. BY ADV. SRI.GRASHIOUS KURIAKOSE RESPONDENT(S): ---------------------------- 1. P.V.GEORGE, PAYYAPPILLIL HOUSE, P.O.OKKAL, PERUMBAVOOR. 2. JOHNY, S/O GEORGE, KATHALIPARAMBIL VEEDU, GANDHIGRAM, P.O.IRINGALAKKUDA. 3. NATIONAL INSURANCE CO. LTD., KANNUR. (NAME OF R1 AND R2 DELETED FROM THE PARTY ARRAY AS PER ORDER IN IA 176/2014 DATED 28.1.2014) R,R3 BY ADV. SRI.MATHEWS JACOB (SR.) R,R3 BY ADV. SRI.P.JACOB MATHEW THIS MOTOR ACCIDENT CLAIMS APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 12-02-2015, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: ## **T.R. RAMACHANDRAN NAIR & P.V. ASHA, JJ.** **- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -** ## **M.A.C.A.No.1805 of 2009** **- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -** ## **Dated this the 12th day of February, 2015** ## **JUDGMENT** ## **Ramachandran Nair, J.** The injured claimant is in appeal before this Court aggrieved by the inadequacy of compensation. As against the claim for Rs.10 Lakhs for the personal injuries sustained by her, an amount of Rs.4,61,100/has been awarded by the Tribunal. A summary of the details is necessary to go into the contentions of the respective parties. 2. The accident occurred on 29.4.2001 while the appellant was travelling in a jeep bearing Reg. No.KL-13/D/6167. The offending vehicle is a lorry bearing Reg. No.KL-7/D/8224 which, while coming through the rear side of the jeep, hit the same causing the jeep to overturn. The lorry also got overturned and fell over the jeep. The appellant sustained serious injuries including fracture. 3. The appellant was an aided school teacher working in St. MACA 1805/2009 2 Cornelius High School, Kolayad, getting a monthly salary of Rs.11,650/-. 4. The Tribunal found negligence as against the driver of the lorry. Before the Tribunal, the appellant was examined as P.W.1 and Exts.A1 to A12 have been marked. Ext.X1 is the disability certificate issued by the Medical College, Pariyaram wherein the disability is shown as 29%. 5. Going by the wound certificate, the appellant had sustained Type III fracture left femur, right fibula, etc. To prove the details of the accident she has produced Ext.A1 copy of F.I.R. and Ext.A2 case summaries from the Co-operative Hospital, Thalassery and Specialist Hospital, Ernakulam. It is submitted by the learned counsel for the appellant tht she was treated in Co-operative Hospital, Thalassery as well as Specialist Hospital, Ernakulam and had to be under treatment for a period of two years. The inpatient treatment is for a period of 113 days. In between, she was treated in Al-Shifa Hospital, Perinthalmanna which is evidenced by Exts.A4 cash bill and A5 I.P. Card. To prove her salary, she has produced Ext.A10 series. MACA 1805/2009 3 6. The following are the major injuries sustained by the appellant: - “1. Type III open fracture left femur with vascular injury; 2. Type III open fracture right fibula; 3. Laceration skull 4. Laceration right ankle; 5. Fracture right ischium; and 6. Fracture Metatarsels. It is the contention of the appellant that because of the injuries she could not get the promotion as Headmistress, but regarding the same there is no other evidence before the Tribunal. The Tribunal has granted compensation in the following manner: 1. Permanent disability : Rs. 69,600/- 2. Pain and suffering : Rs. 20,000/- 3. Loss of amenities : Rs. 10,000/- 4. Medical expenses : Rs.1,66,000/- 5. Loss of income : Rs.1,92,500/- 6. Other eligible counts : Rs. 3,000/ Total : Rs.4,61,100/========== 7. The contention raised by the learned counsel for the appellant MACA 1805/2009 4 is regarding the inadequacy of compensation for permanent disability, pain and suffering and loss of amenities and non grant of amount towards transportation charges as well as bystander's expenses. 8. As far as the age of the appellant is concerned, she was aged 52. She had 3-4 years of service in the school. It is seen from the award of the Tribunal in paragraph six that her thigh bone and head were fractured and right ankle was also fractured. Steel rod was fixed on her leg and she was using crutches. She was taking physiotherapy and even at the time of examination before the Tribunal she was getting the said treatment. According to learned counsel for the appellant, the appellant had to take two years continuous treatment to recover and there is difficulty to travel. This is also a case where the disability has not affected her career. 9. For assessing the compensation, learned counsel for the appellant submitted that split multiplier cannot be taken. Learned counsel for the insurance company pointed out that the appellant had only 3 years of service left. Since the appellant was aged 52 at the time of accident, the multiplier will be 11. The Tribunal has taken a notional MACA 1805/2009 5 income at the rate of Rs.2,500/- per month which appears to be too low. In a case where there is no loss of earning power, this Court will have to consider various aspects including the claim for compensation for permanent disability, coupled with due compensation for pain and suffering and loss of amenities and enjoyment of life. The above principles have been declared by the Apex Court in various judgments including the recent decision in **Kumari Kiran through her father Harinarayan v Sajjan Singh and others {** (2015) 1 SCC 539}. 10. The serious dispute is regarding the notional income taken. Learned counsel for the insurance company submitted that as the appellant is entitled to draw pension, there will not be any reduction of pension due to the disability. For assessing just and fair compensation, we will have to balance various aspects. The pension she will be entitled, will be nearly 50% of the salary. Therefore, to arrive at a just and reasonable figure after considering the imponderables also, we are of the view that for the purpose of assessing compensation for permanent disability an amount of Rs.6,500/- can be fixed as the monthly income. The percentage of disability is 29. Therefore, the MACA 1805/2009 6 compensation for permanent disability will be Rs.2,48,820/- (Rs.6500 x 12 x 11 x 29/100). As far as bystander's expense is concerned, nothing has been granted by the Tribunal. She was treated as inpatient for a period of 113 days. We grant amount at the rate of Rs.150/- per day, viz. Rs.16,950/- (rounded off to Rs.17,000/-). The next item is transportation expenses. As regard the said item and also for medical expenses, the total claim is for Rs.3 lakhs. It is seen that she was treated in hospitals at Thalassery, Ernakulam and Perinthalmanna. She had to attend 15 reviews also. It is seen that she was advised physiotherapy for a long time and the period of treatment extended upto 2 years and she had availed commuted leave as well as leave on loss of pay. In that view of the matter, according to us, a reasonable amount ought to have been granted towards transportation expenses. Considering the length of treatment and the number of times she had to visit the hospitals, we find that an amount of Rs.15,000/- will be reasonable under this head and we grant the same. 11. As far as pain and suffering is concerned, what is awarded is only a sum of Rs.20,000/- The evidence is to the effect that she MACA 1805/2009 7 sustained serious injuries, had undergone different procedures including surgeries and had been under treatment for a period of two years. It is submitted by the learned counsel for the appellant that the appellant had to suffer much physical pain and agony during this period. We find that an amount of Rs.75,000/- will be an adequate compensation under the head of pain and suffering. 12. As far as loss of enjoyment and amenities in life also, since the disabilities are of 29% it will affect her much. Therefore, we grant an amount of Rs.60,000/- towards compensation for loss of amenities and enjoyment in life and shortened expectation. No amount has been granted towards extra nourishment and the last item granted by the Tribunal is Rs.3,000/- under the head “other eligible counts”. Since the period of treatment extends two years, we are of the view that she will be entitled for an amount of at least Rs.10,000/- under the head of extra nourishment, which we grant. Therefore, the total compensation will be refixed as follows: MACA 1805/2009 8 |**_Head of claim_**|**_Amount awarded by_**<br>**_the Tribunal (Rs)_**|**_Modified award_**<br>**_passed by this_**<br>**_Court (Rs)_**| |---|---|---| |Permanent disability|69600|248820| |Pain and suffering|20000|75000| |Loss of amenities|10000|60000| |Medical expenses|166000|166000| |Loss of income|192500|192500| |Bystander expenses||17000| |Other eligible counts|3000|10000 (extra<br>nourishment)| |Transportation charges||15000| |Total||784320 (rounded off<br>to 784300)| (Rupees Seven lakhs eighty-four thousand and three hundred only) The appeal is allowed as above. The enhanced amount will carry interest at the rate of 9% per annum from the date of petition and the insurance company is directed to deposit the entire amount of compensation, less the amount already deposited before the Tribunal, within a period of three months. The parties will bear their costs in the appeal. ## **(T.R. RAMACHANDRAN NAIR, JUDGE.)** ## **(P.V. ASHA, JUDGE.)** ## **kav/**