High CourtDivision BenchWrit Petition dismissed. No order as to costs.

Kamal Singh Ghugtyal v. Union of India & Ors.

Case / Petition Number:Writ Petition No. 1702 of 1986
Neutral Citation:/

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • A.P. Sen
  • B.C. Ray
Judgment Date
1987-11-03
Court Decision / Holding
Writ Petition dismissed.
Final Disposition
Writ Petition dismissed. No order as to costs.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Kamal Singh Ghugtyal

Respondents

  • Union of India
  • Ors.

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • K. M. M. Khan (Amicus Curiae)

Counsels for Respondents

  • • O. P. Sharma
  • • Mrs. Subhadra
  • • P. Parmeshwaran

Case Synopsis & Summary

Kamal Singh Ghugtyal, a Havaldar, sought pension under the Army Pension Rules, contending that his combined army service exceeded the qualifying period of 15 years and that his later service in the Lok Sahayak Sena (LSS) should be counted as regular army service. He claimed service in three spells: Kumaon Regiment from November 1939 to August 1947; Army Supply Corps (MT) from July 1948 to July 1953; and the Kumaon Regiment/Lok Sahayak Sena from July 1953 to July 1956, asserting that the LSS period should count toward pension as part of his military service. The respondents disputed his calculations, stating he was originally enrolled in 1940 and discharged in 1946, re-enrolled in ASC (MT) in 1948 and discharged in 1952, and later re-enrolled in the Kumaon Regiment for LSS until 1957. They maintained that the LSS service did not count as army service for pension and that the petitioner’s service in the first two spells amounted to 10 years and 54 days, making him ineligible for pension under the applicable rules; further, documentation and dates were inconsistent with the records. The Court examined the records, noted inconsistencies, and ultimately held that the petitioner had not rendered 15 years of army service, including the contested LSS period, and dismissed the petition with no costs awarded.

Provisions of Law Cited

Regulation No. 132 of Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961Regulation No. 126 of Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961Army Pension RulesArticle 32 of the Constitution of India

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The petitioner contends that his service in three spells—Kumaon Regiment (1939–1947), Army Supply Corps (1954–1953), and Lok Sahayak Sena (1953–1957)—should be counted toward pension. He asserts that his total army service exceeded 15 years and that the Lok Sahayak Sena period is part of regular army service. Although police actions affected his paper trail, he relied on record entries (P-2, annexures) and the CDA(P) clarifications suggesting that long service should be recognised for pension. He requests retroactive pension benefits and inclusion of LSS service as qualifying service, arguing for a broad interpretation of service credit under the Army Pension Rules.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend that LSS service cannot be counted as army service for pension purposes. They argue that the petitioner’s first two spells total 10 years and 54 days, and even if LSS training is added, the aggregate remains short of 15 years. They point to inconsistent statements and lack of documentary proof, including a key February 3, 1987 letter denying pension eligibility due to failure to meet the 15-year threshold. They maintain that members of LSS were not treated as regular army personnel, and the official records counter the petitioner's claims. Consequently, the petition should be dismissed on the merits, with no entitlement to pension under the prevailing Army Regulations.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Kamal Singh Ghugtyal v. Union of India & Ors. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

KAMAL SINGH GHUGTYAL A _v._ UNION OF INDIA & ORS. NOVEMBER 3, 1987 [A.P. SEN AND B.C. RAY, JJ.] B --.( _Pension Regulations for the Army,_ _1961_ _(Part I): Regulations_ _Nos._ _132_ & _126:_ _Entitlement to pension-Havaldar rendering less_ _than_ _qualifying_ servic~Held _not entitled to pension._ Regulation No. 132 of Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 # _qualifying_ servic~Held _not entitled to pension._ ####,( (Part Regulation No. I) prescribes minimum qualifying colour service of fifteen years 132 of Pension Regulations for the Army, 1961 c for earning service pension. Regulation No. 126 provides for counting of former service. The petitioner's representation for pension was rejected on the ground that he had not beeb in the Army service for a period of 15 years D as required under the Army Pension Rules. In the writ petition the petitioner claimed that he had served in the Army from November 1939 to August 1948, when he was released in the rank of Havaldar, that he was again recalled and served in the -~ Army Supply Corps (MT) from July 1948 to July 1953 in the rank of E Havaldar, when he was again recalled by the Kumaon Regiment and served in the Lok Sahayak Sena from July 1953 to July 1956 in the rank of Havaldar. He further stated that service rendered by him in the "" LSS (third spell) should be treated as services in the army and he having served for more than 15 years in the army was entitled to pension. His claim that he was in the army service for over 19 years, was F ' contested by the respondents, who stated that the petitioner was enrol###### -\ led in the Army on November 24, 1940 and discharged from service with effect from October 26, 194', that he was subsequently re-enrolled in ASC (MT) with Army on March 8, 1948 and discharged from there on May 20, 1952, and that he was re-enrolled with the Kumaon Regiment on March 2, 1955 for Lok Sahayak Sena and discharged from G there on September 2, 1957. It was further stated that the service rendered by him in LSS was not countable towards pension and that his ~ service in the first two spells was 10 years and 54 days only. The petitioner could not produce relevant documents in support of his statement. H 769 A 770 SUPREME COURT REPORTS ( 1988) I S.C.R. Dismissing the writ petition, HELD: The petitioner has not rendered 15 years of army service to be able to get the benefit of army pension as required under the army rules. (772F] B The statements of the petitioner regarding the periods of service rendered by him in the first and the second spell are inconsistent with his record of service produced by the respondents at the hearing. (772D·EI >- His service in the National Volunteer Force (LSS) cannot be treated as army service countable towards pension. [7720) c ORIGINAL JURISDICTION: Writ Petition No. 1702 _,A \ of !986. (Under Article 32 of the Constitution of India) D K.M.M. Khan Amicus Curiae for the Petitioner. 0.P. Sharma, Mrs. Subhadra and P. Parmeshwaran for the Respondents. The Judgment of the Court was delivered by E B.C. RAY, J. The petitioner who was a HavaWar in the Army (No. 4142276) has moved this writ petition praying for an order direct· ing the respondent Nos. 1 to 3 to give pensionary benefit to the petitioner as he has served about 19 years in the army as a Havaldar. The petitioner has stated that in the first spell he has served in F Kumaon Regiment from November, 1939 to August, 1947 during the second world war. He was released from the army service in August, 1947 in the rank of Havaldar (No. 16235). The petitioner was again recalled during Kashmir operations, in the Kumaon Regiment and he served in the Army Supply Corps (MT) from July, 1948 to July, 1953 in the rank of Havaldar (DUR-No. 6556074). The petitioner further G stated that he was recalled from Army Supply Corps (MT) by Kumaon Regiment and transferred to impart training in the Lok Sahayak Sena of K.R.C. Platoon No. 28 where he served from July, 1953 to July, 1956 in the rank of Havaldar. As his job was to impart military training to Lok Sahayak Sena which is like NCC, he retained a regular army No. 4142276. The petitioner stated that in an alleged incident of stor· H ing illicit arms in his house, there was a police raid and all his papers I ##### _)·_ K.S. GHUGTYAL _v._ U.O.l. (RAY, J.] 771 ## ### _J_ were taken away by the police and as such he had no papers left with A him to prove his service in the regular army except a statement of accounts QE 11/56, a copy of which has been annexed as annexure P-2. It has been stated that the petitioner was intimated by a letter dated 27.9,1983 issued by the District'Sanik Welfare and Resettlement Office, Almora in reply to his representation for pension that he has not been in the army service for a period of 15 years as required, to be B entitled to get pension according to Army Pension Rules. His claim for army pension was, therefore, rejected. This letter has been annexed as annexure P-5 to the writ petition. The petitioner has stated in the writ petition that his service rendered in the LSS (third spell) should be treated as service in the army and he having served for more than 15 years in the army is entitled to pension, B c An affidavit-in-opposition has been filed on behalf of the respondents sworn by Capt. P .E. Joseph. In para 1 of the said affidavit it has been stated that the petitioner was originally enrolled with the Kumaon Regiment on 24th November, 1940 and discharged from D service with effect from 26th October, 1946. He was subsequently re-enrolled in ASC (MT) with Army No. 6556074 on 8th March, 1948 and discharged from there on 20th May, 1952. It has been further stated that in the third spell of service he was re-enrolled with the . _j_ Kumaon Regiment on 2nd March, 1955 for Lok Sahayak Sena and allotted Army No. 4142276. He was discharged from there on 2nd E September, 1957, It has been further stated in para 3 of the said affidavit that the claim of the petitioner that he was in army service for ~ over 19 years was not based on facts. It has been further stated that his service in the first two spells is 10 years and 54 days only and even if his service with 29 LSS is counted towards qualifying service his total , service would be less than 15 years. So he will not be entitled to F \ pension as per the extent army rules. The petitioner on the other hand ·was unable to produce relevant documents in support of his statement regarding the period of his service in the army rendered both in the first and second spell of service. It appears from a letter dated 21st October, 1982 issued by the Lieutenant, Sahayak Abhilekh Adhikari, Asstt. Record Officer for OIC Records that the service rendered by G the petitioner in LSS cannot be counted towards pension as the mem' hers of that unit are not treated as army personnel. This letter has been ·-{ annexed as annexure 'D' to the counter-affidavit. It has been further stated in the affidavit that since the individual has not served in the army as an incumbent for more than 15 years, he is not entitled to any pension as contemplated under the army rules. H A B c \ 772 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [1988] 1 S.C.R. A supplementary counter-affidavit on behalf of the respondents \,. verified by 2nd Lieutenant Jagdish Singh, Records Kumaon Regiment, Ranikhet has been filed wherein it has been stated in para 9 that the petitioner having not completed the required 15 years of service, was not entitled to pension as per prevalent rules. It ~o appears from the letter dated 3rd February, 1987 issued under the signature of Major, Senior Record Officer for Officer-in-Charge addressed to the Organisation Directorate, Adjutant General's .Branch, Army Headquarters that since the petitioner had not completed 15 years pensionable service in both the spells, he was not entitled to service pension as per the existing orders. It has been further stated therein that the petitioner's service in 28 National Volunteer Force (LSS) training team was not countable towards pension for which necessary clarification had al- \ ready been given by the CDA(P), Allahabad vide letter dated 21st _jA,_ October, 1982. The respondents at the time of hearing produced the relevant records wherefrom it appears that the petitioner has not completed 15 D years of army service as his service in the LSS can not be treated as army service. It is also evident that the statements of the petitioner regarding the periods of service rendered by him in the first and the second spell are inconsistent with his record of service as mentioned in the letter dated February 3, 1987, annexed as annexure 'B' to the E F supplementary counter-affidavit filed on behalf of the respondents as well as from the letter issued under the signatures of Sahayak Abhilekh Adhikari, Asstt. Record Officer for OIC Records dated October 16, 1981, annexed as annexure P-4 to the writ petition. The army regulation Nos. 126 and 132 were also placed before us in this connection. We are constrained to hold that the petitioner has not rendered 15 years of army service to be able to get the benefit of army pension as required under the army rules. Writ Petition is therefore, __)_ dismissed. There will however, be no order as to costs. _ P.S.S. Petition dismissed.