High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeRemand for a limited reconsideration on limitat...

Jyothindranath v. Ashwin

Case / Petition Number:MFA.No.64 OF 2019

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • Devan Ramachandran
Judgment Date
2020-02-14
Court Decision / Holding
The appeal is allowed to the extent of remanding the issue of limitation under Section 10 ECA for fresh consideration by the Commissioner; in all other respects, the impugned order is confirmed; no costs awarded.
Final Disposition
Remand for a limited reconsideration on limitation under Section 10 ECA; otherwise, the order of the Commissioner is upheld; no costs awarded.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Jyothindranath

Respondents

  • Ashwin

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Shri Prabhu K.N.
  • • Shri Manumon A.

Case Synopsis & Summary

This is a Miscellaneous First Appeal (MFA No. 64 of 2019) filed by Jyothindranath, the employer/opposite party, challenging the Employees' Compensation Commissioner (Industrial Tribunal), Thrissur's order in ECC No. 139 of 2016. Ashwin, the respondent/employee, claimed compensation for injuries sustained on 20 June 2002, with the Commissioner directing the employer to pay Rs. 2,67,252 along with interest. The appellant contends that there was no established employer–employee relationship, and that the claim was time-barred under Section 10 of the Employees’ Compensation Act, 1923; Ext. R1 muster roll is unauthenticated and cannot prove employment. The High Court scrutinizes the evidence, noting that Ext. R1 cannot defeat the Commissioner's finding of employment, as it is not authenticated. The judge acknowledges inconsistencies in PW1’s testimony but treats them as non-fatal given the fifteen-year gap since the accident. Importantly, the Court remands solely on the issue of limitation under Section 10 ECA, directing the Commissioner to reconsider this aspect while upholding the rest of the order. The court also upholds the Medical Board’s finding of 40% permanent disability and 50% loss of earning capacity, citing well‑established jurisprudence (Selvaraj and Prasanna). Costs are left to the parties. The decision is delivered by Justice Devan Ramachandran.

Provisions of Law Cited

Employees' Compensation Act, 1923Section 10, Employees' Compensation Act, 1923Section 36, Employees' Compensation Act, 1923Schedule 1 Part II(9) read with Section 36, Employees' Compensation Act, 1923

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that there is no established employer–employee relationship; Ext. R1 muster roll is unauthenticated and cannot prove employment; the claim is time-barred under Section 10 ECA; the Commissioner failed to consider limitation and erred in relying on Ext. R1; seeks reversal and remand for a fresh consideration limited to the question of limitation.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondent contends that the Commissioner rightly found an employer–employee relationship; Ext. R1 cannot override the Commissioner's findings as it is unauthenticated; the medical board's report supporting disability and loss of earning capacity is credible; the appeal should not disturb the findings except on the limited issue of limitation.

Cited Precedents (2)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
United India Insurance Company Limited v. Selvaraj2016 (4) KHC 302PositiveCited as a well‑settled principle supporting acceptance of medical evidence and related aspects; used to justify how medical board conclusions were treated.
Joseph K.S. v. Prasanna2012 (4) KHC 595PositiveCited to support the court’s approach to appreciating medical evidence and disability assessments in ECA matters.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Jyothindranath v. Ashwin and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** ## **PRESENT** ## **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE DEVAN RAMACHANDRAN** **FRIDAY, THE 14TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2020 / 25TH MAGHA, 1941** ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019** **AGAINST THE ORDER IN ECC 139/2016 DATED 29-11-2018 OF THE COURT OF EMPLOYEES COMPENSATION COMMISSION (INDUSTRIAL TRIBUNAL), THRISSUR** ## **APPELLANT/OPPOSITE PARTY:** **JYOTHINDRANATH AGED 65 YEARS, S/O SURENTRANATHAN, PROPRIETOR, JYOTHI RUBBERS, P.O. VILAVATTOM, THRISSUR DISTRICT, PIN 680124, RESIDING AT CHAITHANYA PURATHATTIL (H), KONATHUKUNNU, THRISSUR DISTRICT.** **BY ADVS. SHRI.PRABHU K.N. SHRI.MANUMON A.** ## **RESPONDENT/APPLICANT:** **ASHWIN** **AGED 24 YEARS, S/O, THEKEPOLLUVATH ANANDA KRISHANAN, ANANDA SADANAM, P.O. PULLUT, NOW RESIDING AT THEKKEPOLLUVATH HOUSE, P.O. PERINJANAM, THRISSUR DISTRICT - 680686** **THIS MISC. FIRST APPEAL HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 14.02.2020, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 2** ## **JUDGMENT** The appellant is the opposite party in E.C.C.No.139 of 2016 on the file of the Court of the Employees Compensation Commissioner (Industrial Tribunal), Thrissur, and he impugns the final order of the said Court, as per which, he has been mulcted with the liability to pay an amount of Rs.2,67,252/-, along with interest, to the respondent herein, finding that the latter was employed under him when he met with an accident on 20/06/2002. 2. The appellant says that the impugned order is unsustainable in law, since the employer-employee relationship between the parties has not been established; and further that the specific contention raised by him that the claim itself is hit by limitation under the provisions of Section 10 of the Employees Compensation Act, 1923, has not been adverted to by the Compensation ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 3** Commissioner, nor considered. The appellant thus prays that this appeal be allowed and the impugned order be set aside. 3. Even though notice from this Court has been validly served on the respondent, he has chosen not to be present before this Court or to be represented through counsel, constraining this Court to dispose of this appeal in his absence. 4. I have examined the order of the Compensation Commissioner and have also evaluated the evidence and the materials available, copies of which have been handed over by the learned counsel for the appellant across the Bar. 5. The evidence on record would show that denial of the employer-employee relationship by the appellant was made on the strength of Ext.R1 Muster Roll, but, as rightly found by the Compensation Commissioner, this is not an authenticated ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 4** document and is not signed by any competent Authorities. It might as well, therefore, be a document prepared by the appellant for the purpose of this case and I cannot, resultantly, find the conclusion of the Compensation Commissioner, that Ext.R1 cannot come to the aid to the appellant, to be in error. 6. That said, Shri.K.N.Prabhu, learned counsel for the appellant, took me extensively through the evidence of respondent/claimant while he deposed as PW1, to show that there are inconsistencies as regards the time when the shift of the work in the Unit began; the names of the co-employees who were employed at that time; the period during which he worked under the opposite party; the identity of the person who took him to the hospital after the accident; and description of the machinery in the Unit and contended vehemently that, therefore, this Court ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 5** should find the conclusions of the Compensation Commissioner to be without merit. 7. However, when I examine the evidence, including the testimony of the witnesses, am drown to certain opinion that the inconsistencies now pointed out by Shri.K.N.Prabhu can, at the best, be only on account of the short-fall in memory of the respondent, which is normal on account of the lapse of more than fifteen years between the date on which the accident occurred and the date on which the testimony was recorded in the year 2018. I cannot, therefore, find these small inconsistencies to be fatal to the case of the claimant/respondent and consequently, repel the contentions of Shri.K.N.Prabhu on these issues. 8. That apart, as I have already said above, the appellant has not produced any ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 6** evidence on record to show that the respondent was not employed by him except Ext.R1 and since this document cannot be accepted by this Court, I find no reason to disturb any of the findings of the Compensation Commissioner as regards the employer-employee relationship between the parties. 9. That said, the issue as to whether the claim is hit by limitation under Section 10 of the Employees Compensation Act, is certainly one that engages my mind because, even though the objections filed before the Compensation Commissioner by the appellant show without doubt that he had raised this specifically, for some reason, the Court did not frame it as an issue nor was this considered at any point of time, as is evident from the impugned order. 10. This is relevant because, as per the case of the appellant, the accident ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 7** occurred on 20/06/2002, while the claim was preferred by the respondent herein only in July 2005, which is much more than three years thereafter. Going by the provisions of Section 10 of the Employees Compensation Act, no claim for compensation shall be entertained by the Commissioner unless notices to the accident had been given in the manner provided as soon as practical after the accident and unless the claim is preferred within two years of the occurrence of the accident. The contentions of the appellant that the claim was preferred after three years of the accident certainly, therefore, is an issue that the Compensation commissioner ought to have considered. In the absence of any such consideration being done by the said Court, I am of the view that this matter requires to be reconsidered by it, however, on this specific issue and nothing else. Resultantly, this appeal is allowed to ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 8** the afore extent; and I consequently remand this matter for fresh consideration to the Court of the Compensation Commissioner, however, solely on the issue as to whether the claim of the respondent herein is hit by limitation under the provisions of Section 10 the Employees Compensation Act. In all other respects the impugned order of the Compensation Commissioner is confirmed, subject to its view to be arrived at on the aspect of limitation. At this time, Shri.K.N.Prabhu interjected to assert that his client has also raised a contention against the percentage of disability which the Compensation Commissioner has found as being 50%, but which the appellant asserts cannot be more than 20%, going by Schedule 1 Part II(9) read with Section 36 of the Employees Compensation Act. The submission of Shri.K.N.Prabhu on this aspect is that, even assuming that all facts are admitted, ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 9** the Court could not have taken 50% to be the percentile applicable, since, as per the mandate of Schedule 1 Part II(9), read with Section 36 of the Employees Compensation Act, the disability could have been taken to be only 50%. However, as is evident from Ext.A12, which is the opinion of the Medical Board consisting of three Doctors from three different branches of Medicine, the respondent has been found to have sustained a permanent disability of 40% and a loss of earning capacity of 50%. Further, as has been rightly found by the Compensation Commissioner the appellant has not been able to point out any reason why the report of the Medical Board should not be accepted and no evidence was led by him to establish to the contrary. Hence, since Ext.A12 has not been contested by the appellant in any manner nor its genuineness disputed, I cannot find any error in the Compensation Commissioner having accepted ## **MFA.No.64 OF 2019 10** it, going by the well settled principles of law established by this Court in a catena of judgments including _**United India Insurance Company Limited v. Selvaraj [2016 (4) KHC 302** ]_ and _**Joseph K.S. v. Prasanna [2012 (4) KHC 595]** ._ I cannot, therefore, find these contentions of Shri.K.N.Prabu to be worthy of the favour of this court and consequently repel the same. In the nature of the facts and circumstances seen above, I deem it appropriate not to make any order as to costs and thus direct the parties to suffer their respective costs. It is so ordered. ## **Sd/-** ## **DEVAN RAMACHANDRAN** ## **JUDGE** **MC/17.2.2020**