Johnson Mathew v. Joby, Sunil Kumar and The United India Insurance Co. Ltd.
Case Details & Bench
- Court
- High Court of Kerala
- Hon'ble Judges
- Ziyad Rahman A.A.
- Judgment Date
- 2024-03-14
- Court Decision / Holding
- Appeal allowed; enhanced compensation of Rs. 1,02,580 awarded; the award dated 31.01.2013 in O.P. (M.V.) No.734/2009 modified accordingly. The 3rd respondent directed to deposit the enhanced amount with interest at the rate fixed by the Tribunal, within three months from the date of receipt of a copy of this judgment, with proportionate costs. The delay of 127 days in filing the appeal is condoned, but the claimant will not be entitled to interest for the delay period. The claimant must furnish PAN, Aadhar, and bank details within two months for deposit purposes; if details are not provided, the insurer may deposit before the Tribunal.
- Final Disposition
- Appeal allowed; modified award; enhanced compensation directed to be deposited by insurer within three months, with condonation of delay and other conditions.
Parties to the Case
Appellants / Petitioners
- Johnson Mathew
Respondents
- Joby
- Sunil Kumar
- The United India Insurance Co. Ltd.
Legal Representation & Advocates
Counsels for Petitioners
- • Abraham Mathew (Vettoor)
- • Elizabeth Oliver
Counsels for Respondents
- • S. Arun Raj
Case Synopsis & Summary
Johnson Mathew, the petitioner in MACA No. 1965 of 2013, challenged a Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal, Pala award dated 31 January 2013 that granted Rs. 1,26,516 as compensation for injuries sustained in a 23 April 2009 accident, where he was travelling in a goods lorry and claimed to be a passenger. The Tribunal found the driver negligent and held the 3rd respondent insurer liable but, on account of policy violations, permitted the insurer to recover the amount from the vehicle owners. The High Court, while admitting the appeal, found the quantum of compensation inadequately low in several heads. It reasoned that the Tribunal adopted a monthly income of Rs. 4,500 despite evidence suggesting a higher earning capacity; relying on Ramachandrappa v. Manager and Syed Sadiq v. Divisional Manager, the Court fixed Rs. 8,000 as monthly income for 2009 for an ordinary worker and rejected a reduction of disability percentage from 7% to 5%; the latter had been based on a Medical Board certificate. Reassessing disability at 7% and applying the revised income, the Court computed disability compensation at Rs. 94,080 and adjusted loss of earnings, pain and suffering, and loss of amenities to yield an additional Rs. 1,02,580. Consequently, the appeal was allowed and the award modified accordingly, with the insurer directed to deposit the enhanced amount within three months, subject to condonation of a 127-day delay and other administrative directions.
Submissions & Arguments
Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners
Appellant submits that the Tribunal under-compensated him for disability and loss of earning capacity. It adopted a monthly income of Rs. 4,500 despite his claim of Rs. 13,000 and evidence suggesting he functioned as a commission agent; documents Ext.A10–A11 were not proved adequately. Relying on the principles in Ramachandrappa v. Manager and Syed Sadiq v. Divisional Manager, the appellant contends that for 2009, an ordinary worker's income should be higher, and, considering his role as a commission agent, Rs. 8,000 per month is justified. The 7% disability certificate issued by the Medical Board should not have been reduced to 5% without justification; G. Manikantan v. Janardhanan Nair enjoins caution against lowering disability percentages absent serious discrepancies. Consequently, with a revised monthly income of Rs. 8,000 and 7% disability, disability compensation should be Rs. 94,080 (8,000 x 12 x 14 x 7/100). Additional loss of earnings should be Rs. 14,000; pain and suffering Rs. 20,000; loss of amenities Rs. 15,000, totaling Rs. 1,02,580 more than the trial award. The appellant prays for the enhanced amount to be deposited by the insurer within three months, with the condoned delay not attracting interest, and for necessary details to enable deposit.
Contentions of Respondents
Respondents contended policy coverage does not extend to the appellant, who was a passenger in the goods vehicle; the insurer admitted the existence of a valid policy but asserted that, as a passenger inside a goods vehicle, coverage for the risk did not apply, limiting liability. The respondents did not challenge the fact of the accident or negligence but contended that since the claim falls outside the insured risks, the Tribunal’s quantum could not be increased beyond policy terms. They argued the insurer’s liability should be constrained by policy conditions and that the liability should be allocated according to policy terms. While not disputing the injuries, they urged maintaining the Tribunal’s assessment within policy guidelines and resisting any enhancement beyond the original Rs. 1,26,516 award.
Cited Precedents (3)
| Case Name | Citation | Treatment | Explanation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd | (2011) 13 SCC 236 | Positive | Cited as controlling authority for determining monthly income in disability claims. |
| Syed Sadiq v. Divisional Manager, United India Insurance Company | (2014) 2 SCC 735 | Positive | Used to justify higher income assessment for ordinary workers. |
| G. Manikantan v. Janardhanan Nair | (2021) 6 KLT SN 362 | Positive | Affirms not to reduce disability percentage without serious discrepancies. |
Diagnostic Tool
Does this judgment govern your specific facts?
Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Johnson Mathew v. Joby, Sunil Kumar and The United India Insurance Co. Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.
Extracted Judgment Text
Exact text extracted from official judgment records.