High CourtDivision BenchAppeal allowed; High Court judgment set aside; ...

Issac T M v. Idukki District Co-operative Bank Ltd & Ors.

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No.5430 of 2019
Neutral Citation:[2019] 10 S.C.R. 551

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • Dr. Dhananjaya Y. Chandrachud
  • Indira Banerjee
Judgment Date
2019-07-12
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal allowed. The impugned judgment of the Kerala High Court is set aside. The Bank is directed to pay arrears of pension from 1 February 2007 to 1 November 2013 (and interest on delayed remittance if applicable) to the second respondent Board, and the first respondent Bank shall remit the amount to the second respondent within a specified time. The arrears due shall be paid within two months of receipt of a certified copy of this order. No order as to costs. Pending applications, if any, stand disposed of.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; High Court judgment set aside; pension arrears and timely remittance ordered; no costs.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • ISSAC T M

Respondents

  • IDUKKI DISTRICT CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD
  • KERALA STATE EMPLOYEES PENSION BOARD

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Abir Phukan, M/s KMNP LAW AOR

Counsels for Respondents

  • • P. V. Surendranath, Sr. Adv.
  • • Ms. Resmitha R. Chandran
  • • Lekha Sudhakran
  • • P.V. Dinesh
  • • Mukund P.
  • • T. P. Sindhu

Case Synopsis & Summary

Issac T M, an employee of the Iduki District Co-operative Bank in Kerala, retired on 31 January 2007 after nearly 29 years of service. The Government of Kerala had formulated the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative Bank Employees Self Financing Pension Scheme 2005 for employees retiring on or after 1 May 2005. Although the appellant conveyed willingness to join the Pension Scheme, the Bank did not forward pension records to the Kerala State Employees Pension Board, which administers the Scheme. A Sub-Committee found no merit in the allegations against the appellant and recommended payment of terminal dues including pension, but disbursement remained withheld. The High Court dismissed the writ petition seeking pension sanction from 1 February 2007 and arrears through 2013. The Supreme Court held that the appellant’s eligibility to pension under the Scheme is not in dispute, and para 19 provides that superannuation pension shall commence from the beginning of the month following retirement; thus the appellant is entitled to pension from 1 February 2007. Para 5(2) was noted as ultra vires in a Kerala High Court decision (TK Jayan v State of Kerala), which the Court relies on to support arrears for delayed remittance. The Court ordered payment of arrears from 1 February 2007 to 1 November 2013, with interest if applicable, and directed timely remittance. The impugned High Court judgment is set aside; appeal allowed; no costs.

Provisions of Law Cited

Paragraph 3 of the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative Bank Employees Self Financing Pension Scheme 2005Paragraph 5(1)(i)Paragraph 5(2)Paragraph 7Paragraph 19Paragraph 29

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Ultra vires
  • Ends of justice

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that eligibility to pension under the Pension Scheme is not in dispute; he retired after 31 March 2005 and is covered by para 5(1)(i). Para 19 provides that superannuation pension shall commence from the beginning of the month after retirement, hence from 1 February 2007. He argues that para 5(2) cannot justify withholding pension due to the bank’s disciplinary proceedings and delayed forwarding of pension records; TK Jayan v State of Kerala held para 5(2) ultra vires, requiring transfer of the employer’s contribution with interest under para 29, so retirees should not be penalized for delays. In exoneration on 28 September 2013, the bank’s failure to forward papers violated the entitlement; the appellant seeks arrears from 1 February 2007 with interest and immediate remittance by the Board, with pension payments released in a timely manner.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents submit that pension eligibility is governed by para 5(2) and that pension is payable only from the month following remittance of the full employer’s contribution. Disciplinary proceedings and pendency before the High Court justified withholding pension; the bank’s delay cannot amount to an entitlement to back-pay; the Board’s actions and scheme terms require compliance with established procedures, including the remittance of employer’s contributions and processing through the Pension Board. They rely on the Bank’s entitlement to withhold pension until remediation and on para 29 for transfer of employer’s contribution with interest, while opposing back-pay beyond the remittance period and challenging high-rate interest claims. The respondents emphasize procedural compliance and the need for orderly administration of the Pension Scheme.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
T K Jayan v State of Kerala & Ors: nullPositiveKerala High Court decision holding para 5(2) ultra vires; Supreme Court cites it to support entitlement to arrears and to strike down para 5(2) in the present context.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Issac T M v. Idukki District Co-operative Bank Ltd & Ors. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

551 # [2019] 10 S.C.R. 551 ISSAC T M A v. THE IDUKKI DISTRICT CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD & ORS. (Civil Appeal No.5430 of 2019) JULY 12, 2019 B ## **[DR DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD AND INDIRA BANERJEE, JJ.]** _Service Law – State Co-operative Bank and District Cooperative Bank Employees Self Financing Pension Scheme 2005 – First respondent-co-operative bank decided to implement the 2005 Pension Scheme, formulated by the Government of Kerala, for the employees retiring on or after 1[st] May, 2005 – Disciplinary proceedings initiated against the appellant, employee of the Bank – Appellant retired on 31 Jan. 2007 – His pension was held up – Bank called upon the appellant to indicate his willingness to join the Pension Scheme – Appellant indicated his willingness and was enrolled in the Pension Scheme – Grievance of the appellant that, despite him having conveyed his willingness to join the Pension Scheme, the pension records were not forwarded by the Bank to the second respondent-Board which administers the Pension Scheme – Committee constituted by the Bank to look into the allegations levelled against the appellant, opined that there was no merit in the allegations and he was entitled to his terminal dues including pension – However, disbursement of the retiral dues was being held up – High Court dismissed appellant’s writ petition_ inter alia _seeking sanction of his pensionary dues w.e.f 1[st] February, 2007– On appeal, held: Eligibility of the appellant to pension under the Pension Scheme is not in dispute – Pension Scheme stipulates that superannuation pension shall commence from the beginning of the month succeeding the month in which the employee retires from service after attaining the age of superannuation – Appellant is entitled to pension w.e.f 1[st] February, 2007 – Bank did not forward the pension papers to the Board purportedly because of the disciplinary proceedings – It was only after the appellant was exonerated that he was finally intimated of the remittance which was required to be made, which the appellant did on the same day –_ C D E F G H 551 552 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2019] 10 S.C.R. - A _No reason for the Bank to hold up the disbursal of the pensionary dues at the material time by not forwarding all the connected papers and information to the Board – Entitlement of the appellant cannot be denied – Ordered accordingly – Impugned judgment set aside._ - **The first respondent-co-operative bank decided to** - B **implement the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative Bank Employees Self Financing Pension Scheme 2005, formulated by the Government of Kerala for the employees of the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative banks, for its employees retiring on or after 1[st] May 2005. The appellant was an employee of the bank in the State of Kerala, who entered** - C **service in 1978 and rendered nearly 29 years of service before attaining the age of superannuation on 31[st] January, 2007. Disciplinary proceedings were initiated against the appellant and payment of his pension was held up. The bank in March 2007 called upon the appellant to indicate his willingness to join the** - D **Pension Scheme. The appellant indicated his willingness. As per the appellant, the pension records of the appellant were not forwarded by the Bank to the Board which administers the Pension Scheme. The Bank constituted a Sub-Committee to look into the allegations levelled against the appellant. The Committee opined that there was no merit in the allegations against the** - E **appellant and he was entitled to his terminal dues including pension. However, the disbursement of the retiral dues was being held up. The appellant instituted writ petition before the High Court seeking sanction of his pensionary dues w.e.f 1[st] February, 2007 and the payment of arrears together with interest until** - F **1[st] November, 2013, when eventually the pensionary dues were paid. The High Court dismissed the writ petition.** ## **Allowing the appeal, the Court** - **HELD: 1.1 The eligibility of the appellant to pension under** - **the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative Bank** - G **Employees Self Financing Pension Scheme 2005 is not in dispute. The appellant is an employee who retired from service after 31 March 2005 and is eligible under para 5(1)(i) of the Pension Scheme. Para 19 of the Pension Scheme stipulates that superannuation pension shall commence from the beginning of** - H ISSAC T M v. IDUKKI DISTRICT CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD 553 **the month succeeding the month in which the employee retires from service after attaining the age of superannuation. In terms of the provisions contained in paragraph 19 of the Pension Scheme, the appellant is entitled to pension with effect from 1 February 2007. The entitlement of the appellant to receive pension with effect from 1 February 2007 was denied on the basis of para 5(2) of the Pension Scheme by the Single Judge and in appeal. The provisions contained in paragraph 5.2 have been held to be ultra vires in a judgment of a Single Judge of the Kerala High Court in T K Jayan vs State of Kerala & Ors .The Single Judge held that Banks which are governed by the Pension Scheme are under an obligation in terms of para 29 of the Pension Scheme to transfer the employer’s contribution together with interest accrued thereon. Any delay on the part of a Bank cannot result in detrimental consequences for the retirees. [Paras 15, 16] [588-B-E]** **1.2 The Bank did not forward the pension papers to the second respondent-Board purportedly because of the disciplinary proceedings. Evidently, it was only after the appellant was exonerated on 28 September 2013 that on 12 October 2013 that he was finally intimated of the remittance which was required to be made, which the appellant did on the same day. No reason or justification is found for the Bank to hold up the disbursal of the pensionary dues at the material time by not forwarding all the connected papers and information to the second respondent. Since the entitlement of the appellant cannot be denied, the following order will meet the ends of justice: (i) The second respondent shall within a period of four weeks from today, pay over to the appellant, the arrears of pension between 1 February 2007 and 1 November 2013; (ii) In the event that any interest is required to be paid on account of the delayed receipt of the contribution by the Bank, this shall be computed within a period of four weeks from the date of the receipt of a certified copy of this order and intimated to the first respondent; (iii) Within one week of the receipt of the communication referred to in clause (ii) above, the first respondent shall remit the amount to the second respondent; and (iv) The arrears that are due and payable to the appellant shall be paid over within a period of two months of the receipt of** A B C D E F G H 554 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2019] 10 S.C.R. - A **a certified copy of this order. The impugned judgment of the High Court is set aside. [Paras 17-19] [558-G; 559-A-G]** _T K Jayan v. State of Kerala & Ors_ **Decision of Kerela High Court dated 11[th] April, 2017 in Writ Petition (Civil) No. 29901/2012 – referred to.** B CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION: Civil Appeal No.5430 of 2019 From the Judgment and Order dated 06.08.2018 of the High Court of Kerala at Ernakulam in W.A. No. 2681 of 2015 C Abir Phukan, M/s. KMNP LAW AOR, Advs. for the Appellant. P. V. Surendranath, Sr. Adv., Ms. Resmitha R. Chandran, Lekha Sudhakran, P.V. Dinesh, Mukund P., T. P. Sindhu, Advs. for the Respondents. The Judgment of the Court was delivered by ## D ## **DR DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.** 1. Leave granted. 2. This appeal arises from a judgment dated 6 August 2018 of a Division Bench of the High Court of Kerala[1] by which the order of the E learned Single Judge dismissing the Writ Petition filed under Article 226 of the Constitution of India has been affirmed. 3. The appellant was an employee of the first respondent, a cooperative bank in the State of Kerala. He entered service in 1978 and rendered nearly 29 years of service before attaining the age of F superannuation on 31 January 2007. The Government of Kerala formulated a self-financing pension scheme called the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative Bank Employees Self Financing Pension Scheme 2005[2] for the employees of the State Co-operative Bank and District Co-operative banks. ## G 4. Para 3 of the Pension Scheme constituted a pension fund. Para 5 provided for eligibility to receive pension in the following terms:- > 1Writ Appeal No. 2681 of 2015 > 2“Pension Scheme” H ISSAC T M v. IDUKKI DISTRICT CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD. [DR DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.] 555 **“5. Eligibility for Pension.** (1) Subject to the provisions of the A Scheme, the following persons shall be eligible for pension, namely :- (i) Every employee of a bank; - (ii) Employees who have retired from the service of a Bank in between 1[st] January, 1974 and 31[st] March, 2005: Provided that in respect of the employees who have retired in between 1[st] January, 1974 and 31[st] March, 1993, only those who are alive on the date of publication of the scheme in the official Gazette shall be eligible for pension: B C Provided also that an employee who has received the Contributory Provident Fund and is in receipt of pension from any other pension scheme shall be eligible for pension only on the remittance of entire portion for the employers contribution to him, to the corpus of the fund. D (2) In respect of Persons mentioned in clause (i) and (ii) of subparagraph (1) pension shall be payable only from the succeeding month of the month on which the remittance of entire portion of the employers’ contribution to pension fund is made and no arrears of pension shall be payable to the month of such remittance. (3) Persons retired from the service of a Bank in between 1[st] January, 1974 and 31[st] March, 1993, and who are alive on the date of publication of the scheme in the official Gazette shall be eligible for monthly pension only and no family pension shall be payable on the death of such person.” Para 7 provided for qualifying service. Para 19 which provided for the payment of pension is extracted below:- E F “ **19. Payment of Pension** – Pension under the Scheme shall be payable per mensum which shall commence, - (i) In the case of superannuation pension, from the beginning of the month succeeding the month in which the employee retires from the service of the Bank after attaining the age of 58 years. G H 556 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2019] 10 S.C.R. - A B - (ii) In the case of retiring pension, from the date succeeding the date on which the employee retires voluntarily from the service of Bank; and - (iii) In the case of family pension, from the date succeeding the date of death of the employee or the pensioner, as the case may be.” 6. By a communication dated 30 May 2006, the first respondent informed its employees of the decision which was taken by the Bank to implement the Pension Scheme for its employees retiring on or after 1 May 2005. A week before the appellant was to retire from service, the C bank issued a show cause notice to him on 24 January 2007 in pursuance of which disciplinary proceedings were initiated. As a result of the disciplinary proceedings, a liability of Rs 6.76 lakhs was fastened upon the appellant on 5 October 2007 and he was intimated that his retiral dues will be released after deducting the amount. D 7. As a result of the disciplinary proceedings, the payment of pension was held up in spite the appellant’s letter dated 19 October 2007 addressed to the Board, raising objections[3] . On 15 March 2007, the first respondent called upon the appellant to indicate his willingness to join the Pension Scheme and to remit an amount of Rs 8,30,651 inclusive of interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum between February 2007 E and March 2010. 8. While indicating his willingness, the appellant by a letter dated 30 March 2010 objected to the payment of interest computed at the rate of 12 per cent on the employer’s share, stating that he would be willing to pay interest at the standard rate on which interest is computed on the F provident fund. 9. On 16 April 2010, the appellant was enrolled in the Pension Scheme and was allotted a docket number. The grievance of the appellant is that, despite him having conveyed his willingness to join the Pension Scheme, the pension records were not forwarded by the Bank to the G Board which administers the Pension Scheme, consequent upon which, he addressed a letter on 15 January 2011 to the Bank and the Board. On 31 January 2011, the first respondent informed the appellant that his application for pension would be decided only after the disposal of the cases pending before the High Court of Kerala. - H 3The Kerala State Employees Pension Board is the second respondent. ISSAC T M v. IDUKKI DISTRICT CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD. [DR DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.] 557 10. Despite repeated representations, the appellant’s efforts failed A to bear fruit. The appellant filed a writ petition before the High Court which was disposed of with a direction to the Bank to consider his representation. Following the order of the Kerala High Court dated 27 August 2013, the first respondent constituted a Sub Committee to look into the allegations which were levelled against the appellant. The B Committee opined that there was no merit in the allegations against the appellant and that he was entitled to his terminal dues including pension. Upon the decision of the Committee which was rendered on 28 September 2013, the first respondent informed the appellant of the decision to disburse his retiral dues and to recommend the payment of pension. The appellant was called upon to deposit an amount of Rs 6,48,565 which he did on the C same day. 11. Since the disbursement of the retiral dues was being held up, the appellant moved the Registrar of Co-operative Societies. By his order dated 17 May 2014, the Secretary, Kerala State Co-operative Employee Pension Board directed the payment of interest with effect from 1 November 2013. Subsequently, by an order dated 18 March 2015, the Joint Registrar of Co-operative Societies directed the payment of interest on the retiral dues. 12. The appellant instituted a writ petition before the Kerala High Court seeking sanction of his pensionary dues with effect from 1 February 2007 and the payment of arrears together with interest until 1 November 2013, when eventually the pensionary dues were paid. The Writ Petition was dismissed by the learned Single Judge of the High Court on the ground that para 5(2) of the Pension Scheme stipulated that pension shall be paid only from the month succeeding the month in which remittance of the employer’s contribution is made. The learned Single Judge held that in view of the pendency of the disciplinary proceedings, the disbursal of the employer’s contribution has been held up and in consequence, para 5 disabled the appellant from the benefit of pension with effect from the date of his retirement. This view of the learned Single Judge has been upheld by the judgment of the Division Bench in the Writ Appeal. D E F G 13. Assailing the judgment of the Division Bench, a Special Leave Petition was filed under Article 136 of the Constitution of India. 14. We have heard Mr. Abir Phukan, learned counsel appearing on behalf of the appellant, Mr P V Surendranath, learned Senior Counsel H 558 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2019] 10 S.C.R. - A appearing on behalf of the first respondent and Mr P V Dinesh, learned counsel appearing on behalf of the second respondent. 15. The eligibility of the appellant to pension under the Pension Scheme is not in dispute. The appellant is an employee who retired from service after 31 March 2005 and is eligible under para 5(1)(i) of the B Pension Scheme. Para 19 of the Pension Scheme stipulates that superannuation pension shall commence from the beginning of the month succeeding the month in which the employee retires from service after attaining the age of superannuation. In terms of the provisions contained in paragraph 19 of the Pension Scheme, the appellant is entitled to pension with effect from 1 February 2007. C 16. The entitlement of the appellant to receive pension with effect from 1 February 2007 was denied on the basis of para 5(2) of the Pension Scheme by the learned Single Judge and in appeal. The provisions contained in paragraph 5.2 have been held to be ultra vires in a judgment of a Single Judge of the Kerala High Court in **T K Jayan vs State of** D **Kerala & Ors[4]** .The learned Single Judge has held that Banks which are governed by the Pension Scheme are under an obligation in terms of para 29 of the Pension Scheme to transfer the employer’s contribution together with interest accrued thereon. Any delay on the part of a Bank cannot result in detrimental consequences for the retirees. The substantive E relief which has been granted in the judgment of the learned Single Judge is in the following terms:- “I, therefore, strike down sub-paragraph (2) of paragraph 5 to such extent and declare that the employees of Banks, who were in service as on 01.04.2005 will be entitled to arrears of pension, F provided the respective Banks had remitted the employer’s contribution to the pension corpus with eligible interest and additional interest of 25%, if attracted, under paragraph 29 of the Scheme.” 17. During the course of the hearing, it has emerged before the G Court that while the Bank, informed the appellant by its letter dated 15 March 2010 of the amount which was required to be deposited by him (Rs 8,30,651), this was inclusive of interest at the rate of 12 per cent for the period 2007-2008. Evidently, the appellant had objections to the demand of interest at the rate of 12 per cent per annum. The Bank did - H 4 Writ Petition (Civil) No. 29901/2012 decided on 11 April 2017 559 ISSAC T M v. IDUKKI DISTRICT CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD. [DR DHANANJAYA Y CHANDRACHUD, J.] not forward the pension papers to the second respondent-Board A purportedly because of the disciplinary proceedings. On 31 May 2011, the Bank informed the appellant that his application for pension would be considered only after the disposal of the cases which were initiated by the appellant against the Bank. Evidently, it was only after the appellant was exonerated on 28 September 2013 that on 12 October 2013 that he B was finally intimated of the remittance which was required to be made, which the appellant did on the same day. We find no reason or justification for the Bank to hold up the disbursal of the pensionary dues at the material time by not forwarding all the connected papers and information to the second respondent. 18. Since the entitlement of the appellant cannot be denied, we are of the view that the following order will meet the ends of justice: - (i) The second respondent shall within a period of four weeks from today, pay over to the appellant, the arrears of pension between 1 February 2007 and 1 November 2013; C D - (ii) In the event that any interest is required to be paid on account of the delayed receipt of the contribution by the Bank, this shall be computed within a period of four weeks from the date of the receipt of a certified copy of this order and intimated to the first respondent; E - (iii Within one week of the receipt of the communication referred to in clause (ii) above, the first respondent shall remit the amount to the second respondent; and - (iv) The arrears that are due and payable to the appellant shall be paid over within a period of two months of the receipt of a certified copy of this order. - F 19. The appeal is allowed in the above terms. The impugned judgment of the High Court is set aside. There shall be no order as to costs. 20. Pending application(s), if any, shall stand disposed of. G Appeal allowed. H Divya Pandey