High CourtDivision BenchAppeal allowed; case remanded to Insurance Cour...

Employees' State Insurance Corporation, Bhopal v. Central Press & Anr.

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeals Nos. 325-329 of 1977
Neutral Citation:1977 SCR 3

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • M. H. Beg
  • A. C. Gupta
  • P. S. Kailasam
Judgment Date
1977-02-21
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal allowed and case remanded to the Employees' Insurance Court for determination in accordance with law as explained above.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; case remanded to Insurance Court for determination in accordance with law.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • Employees' State Insurance Corporation, Bhopal

Respondents

  • Central Press & Anr.

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • L. N. Sinha, Sol. Genl.
  • • Girish Chandra

Counsels for Respondents

  • • J. P. Goyal
  • • Shreepal Singh

Case Synopsis & Summary

This special appeal challenges the proper interpretation of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 as it applies to contributions recoverable from employers who failed to maintain wage records. The ESIC filed five applications under Section 75 for recovery of contributions due under Section 39 for periods from 27 September 1959 to 31 March 1965, claiming that the employers should pay contributions on an ad hoc basis based on an assumed wage of Rs. 100 per month per employee, as fixed by a central notification under Section 99A. The Insurance Court dismissed the claims on the ground that there was no provision for determining such disputes on an ad hoc basis. The Madhya Pradesh High Court (Jabalpur Bench) allowed the first appeals, relying on the 99A notification and a 1968 notification to justify the ad hoc calculation. The Letters Patent Appeals were then allowed by the Division Bench holding that the Central Government's directions under 99A are not absolute, may not override the Act, and that Section 45A provides a special mechanism for determining contributions where records are missing. The Supreme Court, however, clarifies the statutory scheme: the Corporation must determine the amount of contributions where records are lacking, and the Insurance Court must ultimately determine the basis of calculation under Section 75(1)(c) and (2). It cannot be supplanted by 99A for adjudication. The matter is remanded for determination in accordance with law. The decision emphasizes the cooperative role of the Court and ESIC and rejects reliance on ad hoc wage schedules as a substitute for statutory procedure.

Provisions of Law Cited

Section 75(1)(c)Section 75(2)Section 39Section 44Section 45ASection 99ASection 78

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant argues that under Sections 75(1)(c) and 75(2) the Insurance Court must determine the rate of contribution and decide the claim for recovery; Section 45A authorizes the Corporation to determine contributions where employers fail to maintain records and to issue demands; 99A cannot be used to fill gaps in adjudication; the Insurance Court should be directed to perform its duty, and a wage basis should be determined under law rather than relying on ad hoc central wage notifications.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend that the wage basis can be fixed using the Central Government's notification under Section 99A and that ad hoc fixation is permissible to determine contributions in absence of maintained records.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against Employees' State Insurance Corporation, Bhopal v. Central Press & Anr. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

35 EMPLOYEES STATE INSURANCE CORPORATION, BHOPAL I'. CENTRAL PRESS & ANR. _Febrnary_ 21, 1977 [M. H. BEG, C. J., A. C. GUPTA AND P. S. KAILASAM, JJ.] _E1nployees State Insurance_ _Act_ _(Act_ 34 _of_ 1948), _1948-Sections_ _45A,_ 75(I)(c), and 75(2) _mid 99A.,-Scope of._ A B ### • ' ## \. Section 75(1)(c) of the Employees State Insurance Act 1948 makes it obligatory on the Insurance Court to decide "the rate of contribution payable by a principal employer in respect of any employees'', if such question or dispute C arises. Section 75(2) also provides that "the claim for the recovery of contributions from the principal employer'" shall be deckh:d by it. 1'he appellant .Corporation filed five applicatLJns under s. 7 5 of the En1ployces State Insurance _Ac(_ before the Insurance Court, Bhopal (Civil Judge First Class) for recovery from the respondent of employees' contributions pay· able under s. 39 of the Act for different periods from 27·9·1959 on· wards, ¥.'orking out the contribution payable on an "ad hoc basis" by taking the wages at Rs. 100/· per erpployce per month as _D_ indicated by the Central Government by their notification SRO 224 dated 1'5·1·1957 issued in exercise of their po·n>ers under s. 99A of the Act. The Insurance Court disallowed the claims on the ground that the claims have been made on an "ad hoc basis". The first appeals against that order V.'ere allowed by a single Judge of the Madhya Pradesh High Court (Jabalpur Bench) relying on s. 99A of the Act an<l on a further notification dated 16·1·1968 issued by the Central Government under s. 99A. The Letters Patent Appeals filed by the respondent were allo, .. ved by the Division Bench which held : ( 1) 'fhe power of the Central Government of issuing directions is not absolute and E the directions cannot be inconsistent with the Act (22). When under section 45A of the Act a special procedure is prescribed regarding the method of cal· culation of the employees' contribution, no notification or order can be issued by the Central Government prescribing any other method on ad hoc basis which obviously becomes inconsistent ·with the other provisions of the Act, namely, section 45A. Remanding the matter to the Insurance Court, the Court, HELD: _(_ 1) The nature of the proceedings under the Employees State Insurance Act 1948 was not properly understood either by the Employees Insura·nce Court or ·by the H'igh Court when the matter was taken before these authorities. [37D] (2) The scheme of the Act is that the Corporation itself should, in a case where there is omission on the part of the employer to maintain records in accordance with s. 44 of the Act, ·determine the amount of contribution on the strength of such information as it may collect, make a demand and upon refusal come up before ·the Insurance Court under s. 75 of the Act. The Court should give the Corporation a direction to perform its duty where it considers that this should be performed by the Corporation. It cannot decline to per· form its own duty because the Corporation has failed to discharge its function. The Insurance _Court is under a duty to determine the basis of calculation itself. [36F-H] F G (3) The notification of the Central Govern1nent under s. 99A of the Act ff was intended to overcome difficulties in determining the wages of the employees. This provision cannot be· availed of for the purpose of supplying a defect or over· coming a difficulty in adjudication of a dispute for which the Emplovees Insu· ranee Court is given ample powers under s. 75(1)(c) and 75(2). [37A-B] 36 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [1977] 3 S·C.R. **A** CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION Civil Appeals Nos. 325-329 of 1977. (Appeals by special leave from the Judgment and Order dated l.12.1971 of the Madhya Pradesh High Court in LP.A. Nos. 13-17 of 1969). , -----~ # J **B** ## **c** **D** **E** **F** **G** **H** _L._ _N._ _Sinha, Sol. Genl._ and _Girish Chandra_ for the appellant. _J._ _P._ _Go}al_ and _Shreepal Singh,_ for the respondent. The Juugment of the Court was delivered by BEG, C.J.-This appeal by special leave arises out of the proceedings initiated on 12.7.1961 by the appellant Corporation, under section 75 of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 (hereinafter referred to as the Act), claiming contributions from the respondents for various periods between, 27.9.1959 and 31.3.1965, which they are liable to pay under section 40 of the Act. It appears that the respondents-employers failed to maintain the **registers or records and to submit** **re_turns** **of wages paid** **as** **required** under sectivn 44 of the Act. Hence, the Insurance Court, which was called upon to adjudicate under Section 75 (I) ( c) of the Act, on the matter in dispute, found itself unable to decide the question in issue. It dismissed the application on the ground that there was no provision **for deciding such a dispute** **on** **an** **"ad** **hoc** **basis."'** **We** **fail** **to** ur.derstand what is precisely meant by "ad hoc basis." We find that Section 75 (2) of the Act provides, _inter alia,_ that a claim for the recovery of contributions shall be decided by the Employees' Insurance Court. i\ot only as the mandatory duty·cast upon it to decide such disputes, but it is armed with the powers of a Civil Court, including sununc,ning and enforcing the attendance of witnesses, compelling the discovery and production of documents and material objects, under **section 78** **of** **the Act.** The powers of the Corporation are given in Section 45A of the Act, infroduced by Act 44 of 1966, whereby the Corporation may, on the baoIS of the information available to it, determine the amount of contributions payable and make necessary demands. Apparently, the scheme of the Act, after the amendment, is that the Corporation itself should, in a case where there is omission on the part of the employer to maintain records in accordance with Section 44 of the Act,· determine the amount of contributions on the strength of such information as it may collect. It can then make the demand. If the employer refuses to comply with the demand so made, the matter can come up before the Employees' Jnsurance Court under ~,ection 75 of the Act. The Court should give the Corporation a direction to perform its duty where it considers that this should be performed by the Curporation. It cannot decline to perform its own duty because the Corporation has failed to discharge its function. The. matter having come up before that Court, the claim by the Corporation was rejected erroneously merely on the ground that there ___ .,., ., E.S.I. CORP. V. CENTRAL PRESS _(Beg,_ C.J.) 37 was difficulty in detennining .the basis of wages in a particular factory **A** so as tc c,,;,ble a calculation of the amount of contributions to be made by the employer. It seems that the notification of the Central Government under section 99A of the Act, also introduced by Act 44 of 1966, was intended to overcome such a difficulty in determining the v:ages of the ePooloyces. After having considered the provisions oi section 99A of tho Act, we doubt whether this provision can be availed of for the 1mrpose of supplying a defect or overcoming a difficulty in **B** adjudication of a dispute for which the Employees' Insurance Court is given ample powers. Moreover, the Corporation has itself to collect the ;nformation initially and make a provisional demand on the basis of that information under section 45A in such a case. The learned single Judge, before whom the matter went up in ## appeal, thought that the notification of the Central Government fixing c wages, presumably on the strength of some notion as to what prevailing wag>s i;; such cases arc, could be used for this purpose. The Corporation. itself should have gathered information under section 45A. T:1e Employees' Insurance Court should be apprised of this information and is under a duty to detennine the basis of calculation itself. It cannot expect the Central Government to overcome such a diJ:icully by an order or direction under section 99A of the Act. We **D** think that the nature of the proceedings was not properly understood either by the Employees' Insurance Court or by the High Court when the matter was taken before these authorities. Hence, the Division Bench, w;,ich accepted the appeal from the decision of the sii:igle Judge haJ, W'h1le invalidating the notification under section 99A of the Act, failed tL give a direction that the Employees' Insurance Court should itself perform its duties. E In the light of the foregoing statement of the legal position, we allow this appeal, set "~side the judgments of the Division Bench as well as of the learned single Judge and orders of the Employees Insurance Court. We remand the matter to the Employees' Insurance Court for determination in accordance with law as explained by us **above.** Parties will bear their own costs. S.R. _Appeal allowed and_ _case_ _remanded._ F