High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeAppeal allowed; lower court decree set aside; p...

E. C. Joseph v. The Manager, M/S United India Insurance Company Limited

Case / Petition Number:A.S.No.617 of 1995

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • P. Bhavadasan
Judgment Date
2011-07-18
Court Decision / Holding
The appeal is allowed. The impugned judgment and decree of the lower court is set aside; a decree is issued in favor of the plaintiff for Rs 75,750 with 6% interest from the date of suit till realisation and costs.
Final Disposition
Appeal allowed; lower court decree set aside; plaintiff awarded Rs 75,750 with 6% interest and costs.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • E. C. Joseph

Respondents

  • The Manager, M/S United India Insurance Company Limited

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri. S. Vidyasagar

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Siby Mathew
  • • Wilson Urmese

Case Synopsis & Summary

This Kerala High Court judgment concerns a fisherman who insured his fishing boat with United India Insurance for Rs 3,25,000 under a valued policy (Ext. A1). After the vessel capsized, the insured pursued payment and signed Ext. B1, accepting Rs 2,50,000 in full settlement, allegedly under undue influence and fraud. He claimed a balance was due and sought relief to recover it. The insurer contended Ext. B1 was voluntarily executed and that the policy value fixed at Rs 3,25,000 was conclusive in the absence of fraud. The trial court dismissed the suit as insufficiently pleaded and for adopting a hypertechnical approach, while the plaintiff’s evidence (PW1; Exts. A1–A9) and the insurer’s (DW1; Exts. B1–B6) were examined. The appellate court rejected the trial court’s reasoning, noting that Sec. 29(3) of the Marine Insurance Act makes the policy value conclusive absent fraud, and that Ext. B4 was unproved. It concluded Ext.B1 was not proven to be voluntarily executed and that fraud/undue influence could not be ruled out; hence the appeal was allowed. The court awarded Rs 75,750 with 6% interest from suit date and costs, setting aside the lower decree.

Provisions of Law Cited

Marine Insurance Act, Section 29(3)

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Valued policy doctrine: in the absence of fraud, the value fixed by a valued policy is conclusive between insurer and assured.
  • Constructive total loss concept: policy values relate to total or partial loss as per policy terms.
  • Fraud and undue influence can vitiate execution of documents and the validity of settlement agreements.

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellant contends that Ext. B1 was not voluntarily executed but procured under duress, coercion and fraud by the insurer's conduct, especially given the unresponsive handling of the claim and the dire financial distress of the insured. He submits that Sec. 29(3) of the Marine Insurance Act fixes the value at Rs 3,25,000, creating a burden on the insurer to prove fraud to negate that value; Ext. B4 is unproved and Ext. B1 cannot be used to short-circuit the rights under the policy. The suit seeks to set aside Ext. B1 and recover the balance due, arguing that the trial court erred by not appreciating the evidence and by applying a hypertechnical approach; the entire record (A1–A9 vs B1–B6) must be considered to determine the true facts and any undervaluation must be resolved in favor of the insured where fraud is not established.

Contentions of Respondents

The insurer contends Ext. B1 was voluntarily executed and that there was no fraud, coercion, or undue influence in obtaining it. It argues that the policy value (Rs 3,25,000) is conclusive absent fraud and that the suit is not maintainable since there is no prayer to set aside Ext. B1. It relies on the survey and policy documents to show the value, and submits Ext. B4 (photostat) as the basis for a lower valuation, though it concedes the document is unproved and not properly proved.

Cited Precedents (3)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Raja Shiba Prasad Singh v. Tincouri BanerjiAIR 1939 Patna 477Mentioned OnlyCited by the defendant to argue that details of fraud and undue influence need not be pleaded; the court did not adopt or rely on their reasoning.
Kamal Kant Paliwal v. Smt. Prakash Devi PaliwalAIR 1976 Rajasthan 79Mentioned OnlyCited in the context of arguments on fraud/undue influence; not adopted by the court.
Afsar Shaikh v. Soleman BibiAIR 1976 SC 163Mentioned OnlyCited regarding pleading details of fraud; not used as controlling authority by the court.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against E. C. Joseph v. The Manager, M/S United India Insurance Company Limited and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** **PRESENT :** **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE P.BHAVADASAN** **MONDAY, THE 18TH JULY 2011 / 27TH ASHADHA 1933** **AS.No. 617 of 1995()** **---------------------------** **OS.148/1992 of ADDL.SUB COURT, N. PARAVUR** **....................** ## **APPELLANT(PLAINTIFF):** **--------------------------------------** **E.C.JOSEPH, SON OF E.V.CHEEKU, ELLATHUPARAMBIL, KUNJITHAI P.O., VADAKKEKARA VILLAGE, PARAVUR TALUK.** **BY ADV. SRI.S.VIDYASAGAR** **RESPONDENT(DEFENDANT):** **----------------------------------------THE MANAGER, M/S.UNITED INDIA INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITED, MUNICIPAL BUILDING, MAIN ROAD, N.PARAVUR** **ADV. SRI.SIBY MATHEW, WILSON URMESE** **THIS APPEAL SUITS HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 18/7/2011, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** ## **JUDGMENT** ## **TODAY, WHEN THIS APPEAL SUIT CAME UP FOR HEARING, NEITHER THE** **APPELLANT NOR HIS COUNSEL PRESENT. HENCE, THE APPEAL SUIT IS DISMISSED FOR DEFAULT.** ## **SD/-** **18.07.2011 P.BHAVADASAN, JUDGE** **/TRUE COPY/** **P.A. TO JUDGE.** **ln** **P. BHAVADASAN, J.** ........................................... A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 ............................................. Dated this the 10[th] day of August, 2011. ## **JUDGMENT** This case tells tale of a poor fisherman who happened to insure his vessel to the insurance company and had been cleverly duped by the company. 2. The plaintiff had insured his fishing boat with the defendant for a sum of Rs.3,25,000/=. The vessel capsized during fishing. The matter was reported to the insurance company. The company kept mum. According to the plaintiff, he had to run from pillar to post for getting the amount insured. Ultimately he got fed up. He executed Ext.B1 document agreeing to receive a lower sum of Rs.2,50,000/= in full and complete settlement of the claim made by him. He assails that on the ground that he was forced to execute Ext.B1 document by undue influence and fraud. On the basis of this allegation, he claimed for the balance amount. 3. The defendant resisted the plea. According to them, Ext.B1 was voluntarily executed and it is a good A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 2 : document. They denied the allegation in the plaint and pointed out that the suit is not maintainable either in law or on facts. The plaintiff was not constrained to execute the undertaking as alleged in the plaint. The undertaking was not obtained by exercising fraud, threat or coercion and it was voluntarily given by the plaintiff with full consent. Suffice to say that the defendant denied the liability to pay any further amount. 4. On the above pleadings, the issues were raised. The evidence consists of testimony of PW1 and Exts.A1 to A9 were marked on his side . On the side of the defendant DW1 was examined and Exts. B1 to B6 were marked. 5. The lower court had dismissed the suit taking a hyper technical view. The lower court was of the view that in the plaint, fraud, undue influence and coercion have not been specifically pleaded and that there is no prayer to set aside Ext.B1 document. 6. The question that arises for consideration is whether the court below was justified in dismissing the suit. A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 3 : 7. After hearing both sides and going through the records, I feel that the court below has come to the wrong conclusion on facts and law and has wrongly dismissed the suit. 8. Admittedly, Ext.A1 is the policy issued to the plaintiff. It is a valued policy. One may refers to Section 29 of the Marine Insurance Act which reads as follows: “29. Valued policy:- (1) A policy may be either valued or unvalued. (2) A valued policy is a policy which specifies the agreed value of the subjectmatter insured. (3) Subject to the provisions of this Act, and in the absence of fraud, the value fixed by the policy is, as between the insurer and assured, conclusive of the insurable value of the subject intended to be insured, whether the loss be total or partial. (4). Unless the policy otherwise provides, the value fixed by the policy is not conclusive for the purpose of determining whether there has been a constructive total loss”. 9. Section 29(3) had some relevance in this context. It mentions that in the absence of any fraud, the value shall be conclusive of the value of the policy. The value A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 4 : admittedly fixed under Ext.A1 is Rs.3,25,000/=. That be so, the burden is on the insurance company to show that the value was vitiated due to fraud. Prima facie that value is conclusive. The plaintiff would say that he had to run from pillar to post to get the amount from the company. He was in dire need of money and was in dire circumstances. The circumstances compelled him and on demand made by the insurance company, he happened to execute Ext.B1 document. 10. The plaintiff says that it was not voluntarily executed and it was executed under compelling circumstances. According to the defendant, it was voluntarily done and there was no vitiating elements in the execution of Ext.B1. The other contentions taken are even assuming that there are vitiating elements, it is necessary for the plaintiff to seek to have Ext.B1 set aside and unless and until that relief is sought, the plaintiff cannot succeed. 11. In support of the contention that elements of undue influence and fraud are not established, the learned counsel for the defendant had relied on the decisions A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 5 : reported in **Raja Shiba Prasad Singh v. Tincouri Banerji** ( AIR 1939 Patna 477) and in **Kamal Kant Paliwal v. Smt. Prakash Devi Paliwal** ( AIR 1976 Rajasthan 79). In support of the submission that unless and until details of fraud and undue influence are pleaded, the plaintiff cannot succeed, the counsel relied on the decision report in **Afsar Shaikh v. Soleman Bibi** (AIR 1976 SC 163). 12. In the case on hand the plaintiff had detailed the circumstances under which he was forced to execute Ext.B1 document. The question is whether that constituted any vitiating circumstances. PW1 has given evidence with regard to his case. He has spoken to the circumstances under which he had to execute Ext.B1 and the reasons for the same. DW1 who is examined on behalf of the company had little knowledge about the true state of affairs that led to the issuance of Ext.A1 policy. It is also significant to note that in the survey conducted by the insurance company, value of the boat was assessed. Ext.A1 policy was issued based on Ext.A2 survey report which clearly shows that the value of the boat is Rs.3,25,000/=. The company relied on A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 6 : Ext.B4 to contend for the position that the value is much less. 13. Ext.B4 cannot be relied for two reasons. One it is only a photostate copy. The other reason is that the person who has prepared the document had not been examined. Even assuming that since no objection had been taken at the time of admitting the document, objection cannot be taken regarding admissibility later, still the document remains unproved. It is one thing to say that the document is admitted in evidence but quite another thing to say that it is proved. The person who prepared the report was not examined and it is not shown that report was prepared with notice to the plaintiff. 14. Technically speaking, it is true that elements of undue influence and fraud as such may not have been elaborately pleaded. But the fact remains that it was under vitiating circumstances Ext.B1 came to be executed. At any rate, one is left in no doubt that Ext.B1 was not a voluntary act done by the plaintiff. To be more clear about this aspect, it is relevant to quote the clauses in Ext.B1, A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 7 : which read as follows: ബ��ട�ന� യഥ�ര� മ�ല�വ�ല അത� ഇന� �ര ന�യ�ത�ര�ക �ന 3,25,000/യ�ല ത�ന%യ�ന&ന�' 2.50,000/- ര�പയ�&� ബപ�ള�സ� എട�ക�ന സമയ' അത�ന� പരമ�വധ� മ�ല�വ�ല എന�'; 3,25,000/- ര�പക� ഇന��ര ന�യ�തത� വസ�ത�തകനള മറച� ഞ�ന നതറ�യ� നലക�യ വ�വരങള പപക�ര' ആന&ന�' സമത:ച� നക�ണ�2,50,000/- ര�പ (രണ� ലകത� അനപത�ന�യ�ര' ര�പ ) നഷപര�ഹ�രമ�യ� സB:കര�ച� ന�ര �പ�ധ�ക' ഒര � അവസ�നത:രD�ന� എന� പ�രEഉതരവ�ദ�തBത�ല ഞ�ന ഇത�ന�ല സമത�ക�ന�. ബമല�ല ഇബത അപകടനത സ'�ന�ബച� എ '.എഫ�.വ�.സ�.ആര നസ�� പ:റര , 380 എന മത��നന ബ��ട� ക�&�ത�യത� സ'�ന�ബച� യ�നത�ര�വ�ധ തരകങനള�, അവക�ശ വ�ദങബള� ന�ങളനകത�ര�നയ� മറ�രനകങ�ല�' എത�ര�നയ� ഉനയ�ക�കബയ� സB:കര�ക�കനയ� ന�യ�നതനNന� ഞ�ന ഇത�ന�ല പ�രE ഉറD � നലക�ന�. 15. One may recall here that the mishap occurred on 2.2.1991 and Ext.B1 was executed on 7.3.1991. The company had not produced any evidence to show that in the meantime they had done anything with regard to the application filed by the plaintiff. It is in this context the allegation of the plaintiff will have to be appreciated. He had clearly stated that the company was unresponsive to his claim and he was in dire need of money to pay off his debts ## A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 8 : and meet other requirements. He has specifically stated in the pleadings and evidence that under those circumstances, he happened to execute Ext.B1. He as PW1 says:- “Boat മ�ങ�യത�ന�ബശ�' ഞ�ന പല പപ�വശ�' പപത�യ�നട office കള�ല ബപ�യ�. എന�ട� പപത�യ�നട ഉബദ��ഗസര എബന�ട�ഈ 2,50,000 ര�പക� settle ന�യ&നമന� ന�രRന�ച�. അങ�നന സമത�ച�നNങ�ല papers Madras ല�ള H.Q ല അയക&നമന�' അബD�ള വളനര ന�ള ക%�നT ക�ര�ങള ത:ര� എന�' മറ�' പറT �. അങ�നന വനബD�ള ഈ ത�ക വ�ങ� settle ന�യ�ന ഞ�ന സമത�ച�. പപത�യ�നട ഉബദ��ഗസര ആവശ�നDടപപക�ര' ഇപപക�ര' ബരഖ നക�ട�ക�ബന� claim ഈ ത�കക� settle ന�യ�ബന� എന�ക� സമതമN�യ�ര�ന�. പബക എന� അബD�%നത അവസ ഇങനന എ% �ത�നക�ട�ക�ന എനന ന�രRന�തന�ക�. ” It shows the pitiable circumstance in which the plaintiff was placed and the exploiting and deceitful attitude of the company. There is no contra evidence at all. The evidence of DW1 is unsatisfactory. The insurance company has not been able to show that they had either processed the claim or that the claim was being processed. 16. After having insured the vessel for Rs.3,25,000/= the plaintiff is made to say that he has made a false A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 9 : representation and that the amount was only Rs.2,50,000/=. 17. The conduct of the insurance company is nothing other than fraud. Fraud may be different types. The definition in the Contract Act need not be exhaustive. It depends on the facts of each case. Viewed from that angle, it is necessary for the plaintiff to set aside that document. The fact remains that the plaintiff had received only Rs.2,50,000/=. In view of Section 29(3) of the Marine Insurance Act and in the absence of cogent and convincing evidence on behalf of the defendant there is nothing to show that policy was vitiated by fraud as contemplated under the said provision. 18. It is therefore difficult to accept the view of the lower court since there were no pleadings. 19. In the result, this appeal is allowed. the impugned judgment and decree is set aside and a decree is passed in the following terms. (i). The plaintiff will be entitled to realise a sum of Rs.75,750/= with 6% interest from the date of suit till realisation. A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 10 : (ii). The plaintiff is entitled to costs throughout. **P. BHAVADASAN, JUDGE.** **cl** A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 : 11 : ## **P. BHAVADASAN, J.** ........................................... A. S.NO.617 OF 1995 ............................................. 10[th] day of August, 2011. ## **JUDGMENT**