High CourtDivision BenchAppeal dismissed.

DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. M/S. TECHNOCRAFT TOOLINGS

Case / Petition Number:Civil Appeal No. 8155 of 2014
Neutral Citation:[2015] 3 S.C.R. 921

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court
Hon'ble Judges
  • Dipak Misra
  • Prafulla C. Pant
Judgment Date
2015-03-19
Court Decision / Holding
Appeal dismissed. No costs.
Final Disposition
Appeal dismissed.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS

Respondents

  • M/S. TECHNOCRAFT TOOLINGS

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sandeep Singh Tiwari
  • • Yogendra Kumar Dubey
  • • Shiv Sagar Tiwar

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Shashibhushan P. Adgaonkar
  • • Rana Sandip B.

Case Synopsis & Summary

Dhropadabai and others, the legal heirs of Ambadas Lahane, filed a compensation claim under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 before the Labour Court at Aurangabad after Lahane died on 2 April 2005 while on duty. The employer resisted, contending that the heirs were not entitled to WCA compensation since Lahane was an insured person under the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 (ESI Act), and further that the death did not occur in the course of employment due to a coronary disorder. The Labour Court found Lahane had died in the course of employment and awarded Rs. 4,07,700 to the legal heirs, with a provision that if the employer failed to pay within a month, the heirs could file under Section 4(a) of the WCA. The High Court affirmed, applying A. Trehan and holding that the heirs were not entitled to WCA compensation simply because Lahane was insured under the ESI Act. On special leave, the Supreme Court examined Section 53 of the ESI Act and the relationship between WCA and ESI. While acknowledging the factual finding of death in the course of employment, the Court ultimately held that once an employee is an "insured person" under Section 2(14) of the ESI Act, neither the employee nor his dependents are entitled to compensation under the WCA, endorsing the view that ESI benefits pre-empt WCA relief. The appeal was dismissed with no costs order.

Provisions of Law Cited

Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948Section 53 of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948Section 2(14) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948Section 4(a) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923Section 2(1)(n) of the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The appellants argued that though Lahane was an insured person under the ESI Act, 1948, the heirs remain entitled to compensation under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 because the death occurred during the course of employment. They contended that the ESI regime provides welfare benefits but does not automatically extinguish a separate WCA remedy accruing on an employment injury. They also argued that the amount already withdrawn by the heirs should not be recovered by deducting future payments. The appellants relied on prior findings that death occurred in the course of employment and urged that Section 53 cannot be read to nullify a vested compensation remedy under the WCA when there is a factual link to employment.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contended that an insured person under Section 2(14) of the ESI Act, 1948 and his dependents are barred from receiving compensation under the WCA by Section 53 of the ESI Act; they further argued that the death’s cause (coronary disorder) was not an employment-related injury, and thus WCA compensation was not payable. They relied on the ESI framework to argue preemption of the WCA remedy and sought to retain the ESI benefits provided to Lahane’s heirs.

Cited Precedents (6)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Jyothi Ademma v. Plant Engineer, Nelore & Another2006 (3) Suppl. SCR 400; (2006) 5 SCC 513PositiveThe Court cites this case as supporting the finding that the deceased died in the course of employment, a factual basis used by the Labour Court and upheld at the appellate level.
A. Trehan v. Associated Electrical Agencies and Another1996 (2) Suppl. SCR 728; (1996) 4 SCC 255PositiveCited for the interpretation that the ESI Act is broader and that benefits under ESI can supersede or preclude WCA remedies, aligning with the Court’s ultimate conclusion on Section 53.
Regional Director, ESIC Corporation v. Francis De Costa1992 (3) SCR 23; (1993) Supp. 4 SCC 100DistinguishedThe Court distinguishes this decision rather than following it, in the context of the interplay between ESI and WCA.
P. Asokan v. Western Indian Plywoods Ltd., CannanoreAIR 1987 Kerala 103; (2002) (5) Suppl. SCR 642; (2003) 2 SCC 138OverruledOverruled the Kerala Full Bench decision, aligning with newer two-judge bench principles regarding insured status and WCA relief.
Bharagath Engineering v. R. Ranganayaki and Another2002 (5) Suppl. SCR 642; (2003) 2 SCC 138PositiveCited as supporting that ESI benefits would be extended to eligible persons and that insured status is crucial to determining WCA entitlement.
National Insurance Co. Ltd. v. Hamida Khatoon and Others2009 (8) SCR 248; (2009) 13 SCC 361PositiveReferenced to show consistency with Trehan and Bharagath lines of reasoning on ESI preemption of WCA rights.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. M/S. TECHNOCRAFT TOOLINGS and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

A ## [2015] 3 S.C.R. 921 ## DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. ## M/S. TECHNOCRAFT TOOLINGS > (Civil Appeal No.8155 of 2014) MARCH 19, 2015 ## [DIPAK MISRA AND PRAFULLA C. PANT, JJ.] - _Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 Compensation_ C _under_ - _Entitlement to_ - _Employee dying in the course of employment- Said employee insured under the 1948 Act_ - - _Claim of compensation by his legal heirs Held: Once an employee is an insured person under section 2(14) of_ 0 _the 1948 Act, neither he nor his dependents entitled to get_ · _any compensation or damages from the employer under the 1923 Act- Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948- s. 2(14)._ ## Dismissing the appeal, the Court E HELD: 1.1 Once an employee is an "insured person" under Section 2(14) of the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948, neither he nor his dependents would be entitled to get any compensation or damages from the employer under the Workmen's Compensation F Act, 1923, as the plain language used in the Act clearly conveys so. Therefore, there is no flaw in the view expressed by the High Court that the legal heirs would not be entitled to get compensation under the 1923 Act as he was an insured person. [Para 12] [928-C-D, F-G] G > 1.2 While granting leave, this Court directed the respondent to deposit Rs.4 lacs in the Registry of this 921 H 922 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2015] 3 S.C.R. - A Court within four weeks and permitted the appellants to withdraw the said sum on furnishing a personal bond. The amount has been deposited by the employer and also has been withdrawn by the legal heirs of the deceased employee. Though the respondent is getting - B the benefits under the 1948 Act, yet it is not intended that the amount that has already been withdrawn by the legal heirs of the deceased-employee, should be recovered by the employer by way of deducting the periodical sum that is paid to the family members of the - C deceased employee. [Para 12] [928-E-G] - _Jyothi Ademma vs. Plant Engineer, Ne/lore_ & _Another_ - 2006 (3) Suppl. SCR 400: (2006) 5 SCC 513; _A. Trehan vs. Associated Electrical Agencies and Another_ 1996 (2) - D Suppl. SCR 728 : (1996) 4 SCC 255; _Regional Director, ES/ Corporation vs. Francis De Costa_ 1992 (3) SCR 23: (1993) Supp. 4 SCC 100; _P. Asokan vs. Western Indian Plywoods Ltd., Cannanore_ AIR 1987 Kerala 103; _Bharagath Engineering vs. R. Ranganayaki and Another_ 2002 (5) - E Suppl. SCR 642: (2003) 2 SCC 138; _National Insurance Company Ltd. vs. Hamida Khatoon and Others_ 2009 (8) - - SCR 248:(2009) 13 SCC 361 referred to. ## Case Law Reference F G 2006 (3) Suppl. SCR 400 Referred to. Para 4 1996 (2) Suppl. SCR 728 Referred to. Para 5 1992 (3) SCR 23 23 Referred to. Para 9 1996 (2) Suppl. SCR 728 Referred to. Para 5 1992 (3) SCR 23 23 Referred to. Para 9 AIR 1987 Kerala 103 Referred to. Para 9 2002 (5) Suppl. SCR 642 Referred to. Paras 10, 11 2009 (8) SCR 248 Referred to. Para 11 H 923 # DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. TECHNOCRAFT TOOLINGS CIVIL APPELLATE JURISDICTION: Civil Appeal No. A 8155 of 2014. From the Judgment and Order dated 16.07.2012 of the High Court of Bombay Bench at Aurangabad in FA No. 462 of 2011. B Sandeep Singh Tiwari, Yogendra Kumar Dubey and Shiv Sagar Tiwar, for the Appellants. Shashibhushan P. Adgaonkar, Rana Sandip B. (for S- iegal Association) for the Respondent. C The Judgment of the Court was delivered by **DIPAK MISRA, J.** 1. The present appeal, by special leave, is directed against the judgment and order dated 16th D July, 2012, passed by the High Court of Bombay Bench at Aurangabad in First Appeal No.462 of 2011, whereby the High Court has allowed the appeal and set aside the award passed by the Commissioner under the Workmen's . Compensation Act, 1923, (for short, 'the 1923 Act'). E 2. The facts which are requisite to be stated are that the appellants, the legal heirs of Ambadas Lahane, filed an application for grant of compensation under the 1923 Act before the labour Court, Maharashtra at Aurangabad, F forming the subject matter of Application No.51 of 2006. It was asserted in the application that the appellant No.1, Dhropadabai, is the wife and the other respondents were minor children of the deceased-employee, who had suffered a chest pain at the work place about 8.30 a.m. on 2nd April, G 2005. He was immediately taken to the Medical College Hospital, Ghati, Aurangabad, where he was declared dead. After the death took place, the appellant No. 1 approached the authorities of the respondent-employer for grant of compensation. As the same was not granted, she along with H [2015] 3 S.C.R. ## . 924 SUPREME COURT REPORTS A her children, was compelled to move the labour Court. · 3. Before the labour Court, the employer, the respondent herein, took two fold stand, namely, (i) that the legal heirs of the deceased-employee were not entitled to B get any compensation under the 1923 Act as the deceasedemployee was an insured person under the Employees' State Insurance Act, 1948 (for short, 'the 1948 Act'), and (ii) the accident did not occur during course. of his employment as the death took place due to coronary C disorder, which has nothing to do with the work place. The labour Court framed two principal issues, namely, whether the accident had occurred during course of employment of the deceased-employee, and whether the legal heirs were entitled for grant of compensation amounting to Rs.3 lacs D along with 50% penalty and interest at the rate of 18% per annum on the total amount of compensation from the date of accident till realization of compensation amount as per law. E 4. The labour Court considering the material brought on record and the decision of this Court in _Jvothi Ademma_ vs. _Plant Engineer. Ne/lore_ & _Anothert,_ came to hold that the deceased-employee had died in course of employment while remaining on duty with the respondent-employer. F Thereafter, it referred to the applicability of the 1923 Act in the backdrop of Section 53 of the 1948 Act and came to hold that there was no justification to deny the compensation under the 1923 Act solely because the G employee was an insured person under the 1948 Act. Being of this view, the labour Court directed that a sum of Rs.4,07,700/- shall be awarded towards the payment of compensation on the death of deceased Ambadas Lahane H 1 (2006J 5 sec 513 DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. TECHNOCRAFT 925 TOOLINGS [DIPAK MISRA, J.] to his legal heirs. It also stipulated that if the employer failed A to pay such compensation within a stipulated period, that is, one month, it will be open to the legal heirs of the deceased-employee to file an application under Section 4(a) of the 1923 Act. B 5. Being grieved by the aforesaid award, the employer moved the High Court and reiterated both the contentions. The High Court analyzing the evidence on record and the stand put forth by the employer affirmed the view expressed by the labour Court that the deceased was an employee C under the respondent-firm and he has breathed his last during the course of employment. As far as the applicability of the 1923 Act is concerned, the learned Single Judge opined on the basis of the decision rendered by this Court in _**A. Trehan**_ vs. _**Associated Electrical Agencies and**_ **D** _**Another-**_ that the legal heirs would not be entitled to get compensation under the 1923 Act as he was an insured person. 6. We have heard Mr. Sandeep Singh Tiwari, learned E counsel for the appellants and Mr. Shashibhushan P. Adgaonkar, learned counsel for the respondent. 7. The status of the employee and the factum of his breathing last during the course of employment, cannot be **F** called in question as it hinges on the facts and we find that the approach of the labour Court, as well as of the High Court on this score is absolutely infallible. Therefore, the only question that remains for consideration is whether the High Court is justified in denying the benefit under the 1923 G Act. In this context, we may refer to Section 53 of the 1948 Act, which reads as under: 2 (1996) 4 sec 255 H 926 (2015] 3 S.C.R. ## SUPREME COURT REPORTS > A "53. _Bar against receiving or recovery of compensation or damages under any other law.-_ An insured person or his dependents shall not be entitled to receive or recover, whether from the employer of the insured person or from any other person, any compensation B or damages under the Workmen's Compensation Act, 1923 (8 of 1923), or any other law for the time being in force or otherwise, in respect of an employment injury sustained by the insured person as an employment injury sustained by the insured person as c an employee under this Act." c 8. The aforesaid provision came to be interpreted by a two-Judge Bench in _A. Trehan's_ case, wherein the Court after reproducing the said provision and taking note of the D definition of workman as provided under Section 2(1)(n) of the 1923 Act, came to hold as follows: "A comparison of the relevant provisions of the two Acts makes it clear that both the Acts provide for E compensation to a workman/employee for personal injury caused to him by accident arising out of and in the course of his employment. The ESI is a later Act and has a wider coverage. It is more comprehensive. It also provides for more compensation than what a F workman would get under **the** Workmen's Compensation Act. The benefits which an employee can get under the ESI Act are more substantial than the benefits which he can get under the Workmen's Compensation Act. The only disadvantage, if at all it G can be called a disadvantage, is that he will get compensation under the ESI Act by way of periodical payments and not in a lump sum as under the Workmen's Compensation Act. If the Legislature in its wisdom thought it better to provide for periodical G H DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. TECHNOCRAFT 927 TOOLINGS [DIPAK MISRA, J.] payments rather than lump sum compensation its A wisdom cannot be doubted. Even if it is assured that the workmen had a better right under the Workman's Compensation Act in this behalf it was open to the Legislature to take away or modify that right. While enacting the ESI Act the intention of the Legislature B could not have been to create another remedy and a forum for claiming compensation for an injury received by the employee by accident arising out of and in the course of his employment." c 9. Be it noted, the Court distinguished the decision rendered in _**Regional Director, ES/ Corporation**_ **vs.** _**Francis De Costa1,**_ and overruled the Full Bench decision of the High Court of Kerala in _**P. Asokan vs. Western Indian Plywoods Ltd., Cannanore!.**_ **D** 10. In _**Bharagath Engineering vs. R. Ranqanayaki pnd Another-,**_ a two-J:.idge Bench has ruled thus: "The deceased employee was clearly an 'insured E person', as defined in the Act. As the deceased employee has suffered an employment injury as defined under Section 2(8) of the Act and there is no dispute that he was in employment of the employer, by operation of Section 53 of the Act, proceedings **F** under the Compensation Act were excluded statutorily. The High Court was not justified in holding otherwise. We find that the Corporation has filed an affidavit indicating that the benefits under the Act shall be G 3 (1993) Supp. 4 sec 100 4 AIR 1987 Kera la 103 5 (2003) 2 sec 138 H > 928 SUPREME COURT REPORTS [2015] 3 S.C.R. - A extended to the persons entitled under the Act. The benefits shall be worked out by the Corporation and shall be extended to the eligible persons." 11. In _**National Insurance Company Ltd.**_ **vs.** _**Hamida**_ **B** _**Khatoon and Others•,**_ reference has been made to _A. Trehan's_ case, as well as _Bharagath Engineering's_ (supra) and as it appears to us, the later Bench has concurred with the view expressed in the earlier case. c 12. The aforesaid authorities make it eminently clear that once an employee is an "insured person" under Section 2(14) of the 1948 Act, neither he nor his dependents would be entitled to get any compensation or damages from the employer under the 1923 Act. We are D obliged to hold so as the plain language used in the Act clearly conveys so. Therefore, we do not find any flaw in the view expressed by the High Court. At this juncture, we may state that while this Court granted leave on 22"d February, 2014, had direc~ed the respondent to deposit E Rs.4 lacs in the Registry of this court within four weeks and permitted the appellants to withdraw the said sum on furnishing a personal bond. We have been apprised that the amount has been deposited by the employer and also has been withdrawn by the legal heirs of the deceased F employee. Though the respondent is getting the benefits under the 1948 Act, yet we do not intend that the amount that has already been withdrawn by the legal heirs of the deceased-employee, should be recovered by the employer G by way of deducting the periodical sum that is paid to the family members of the deceased employee. We have passed this order as we are compelled to feel that the cause of justice should be best sub-served as the H 6 (2009J 13 sec 361 # DHROPADABAI AND OTHERS v. TECHNOCRAFT 929 TOOLINGS [DIPAK MISRA, J.] appellants have been fighting the litigation since a decade. A 13. Consequently, the appeal, being devoid of merit, stands dismissed. However, there shall be no order as to costs. B Nidhi Jain Appeal dismissed.