High Court of KeralaSingle JudgePetition disposed of in part; writ petition dis...

C. Puspham v State of Kerala, Kerala State Co-operative Employees' Pension Board, and The Aluva Desabhivardhini Service Co-Operative Bank Ltd.

Case / Petition Number:WP(C).No. 11978 of 2009 (N)

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • Dama Seshadri Naidu
Judgment Date
2015-08-21
Court Decision / Holding
Writ petition dismissed as devoid of merit; however, it is held that the petitioner is entitled to admitted monthly pension under the self-financing scheme from 21.03.1988. No order as to costs. The court clarified that qualifying service for pension under the self-financing scheme is to be reckoned from the CPF joining date.
Final Disposition
Petition disposed of in part; writ petition dismissed; petitioner entitled to pension under self-financing scheme from 21.03.1988.

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • C. Puspham

Respondents

  • State of Kerala
  • Kerala State Co-operative Employees' Pension Board
  • The Aluva Desabhivardhini Service Co-Operative Bank Ltd.

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • Sri M. Paul Varghese
  • • Sri Desi Matthai

Counsels for Respondents

  • • Sri M. M. Monaye
  • • Sri M. K. Ginash
  • • Sri G. Gopakumar
  • • Sri K. R. Sunil
  • • Sri P. V. Mohanan

Case Synopsis & Summary

The issue before the Kerala High Court is whether the benefit of Provident Fund should be extended to the petitioner, an employee who joined service in 1981 and later came under a Contributory Provident Fund Scheme and the self-financing pension scheme. Petitioner C. Pushpam served as Secretary of the Aluva Desabhivardhini Service Co-operative Bank Ltd. Her service record shows initial appointment in 1981, an approved appointment in 1982, followed by study leave from 1986 to 1988, after which she rejoined as a Junior Clerk in 1988. Upon retirement in 2014, her pension claim did not include the period from 01.09.1981 to 21.03.1988. The Bank passed a resolution to include this period, but the Kerala State Co-operative Employees’ Pension Board rejected the claim under the Pension Scheme. The petitioner contends that there was no break in service and the pre-1988 period should count towards pension, arguing that the leave was sanctioned and continuity of service should be maintained. The respondents rely on Clause 19 of the Co-operative Societies Employees’ Pension Scheme, 1994, which restricts qualifying service to the period from joining the Contributory Provident Fund Scheme, with the inspector’s report indicating joining occurred on 21.03.1988. The court examines Clause 19 and cites Purushothaman v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees’ Pension Board to interpret qualifying service. The court ultimately dismisses the writ petition as devoid of merit but clarifies that the petitioner is entitled to admitted monthly pension under the self-financing scheme from 21.03.1988.

Provisions of Law Cited

Section 61 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies ActRule 58 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies RulesClause 19 of the Co-operative Societies Employees’ Pension Scheme, 1994

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The petitioner’s counsel contended that under Section 61 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies Act read with Rule 58, and Clause 19 of the Pension Scheme, the service period prior to joining the Contributory Provident Fund (CPF) should be considered for pension eligibility, since there was no break in service due to sanctioned leave for education. It was argued that the petitioner had continuous service from 01.09.1981 and that retroactive pension benefits should be available under the self-financing scheme because the leave period did not terminate the period of service, and the period should count toward pension entitlement. The petitioner pointed to the bank’s resolution (Exhibit P4) and contended that the Pension Board’s refusal (Exhibit P5) was inconsistent with the prior recommendations and the overall statutory scheme.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents argued that qualifying service for pension under the self-financing scheme is defined by the CPF joining date. Clause 19 of the Pension Scheme fixes that service length begins from the date the employee joined the CPF, with the proviso that the period is limited to the employer’s contributions paid. They relied on the inspector’s finding that the petitioner joined the CPF only on 21.03.1988, and cited Purushothaman to support that the period before CPF joining cannot be counted for pension purposes. The Board maintained that the employee’s actual service date is immaterial for pension qualification; instead, pension qualification is tied to CPF joining date, and the leave period cannot retrospectively alter that date.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Purushothaman v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees' Pension Board2011 (3) KLT 250PositiveThe Court uses Purushothaman to interpret Clause 19, holding that qualifying service for pension under the self-financing scheme begins from the date the employee joined the Contributory Provident Fund, rather than the initial date of service.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against C. Puspham v State of Kerala, Kerala State Co-operative Employees' Pension Board, and The Aluva Desabhivardhini Service Co-Operative Bank Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM PRESENT: THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE DAMA SESHADRI NAIDU FRIDAY, THE 21ST DAY OF AUGUST 2015/30TH SRAVANA, 1937 WP(C).No. 11978 of 2009 (N) -------------------------------------- PETITIONER : - ---------------------- C.PUSHPAM, AGED 52 YEARS, W/O MUTHAYYAN, ASSISTANT SECRETARY, THE ALUVA DESABHIVARDHINI SERVICE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD. NO. 946, BYE PASS ROAD, ALUVA - 683 101, RESIDING AT RUGMA, DESOM.P.O, ALUVA. BY ADVS.SRI.M.PAUL VARGHESE SRI.DESI MATTHAI RESPONDENTS : - -------------------------- 1. STATE OF KERALA, REPRESENTED BY ITS SECRETARY, DEPARTMENT OF CO-OPERATION, GOVERNMENT SECRETARIAT, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM. 2. KERALA STATE CO-OPERATIVE EMPLOYEES' PENSION BOARD, KERALA NIVAS, TC 27156, 157, CHINMAYA LANE, KUNNUMPURAM, TRIVANDRUM-1, REPRESENTED BY ITS SECRETARY. 3. THE ALUVA DESABHIVARDHINI SERVICE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD. NO. 946, BYE PASS ROAD, ALUVA - 683 101, REPRESENTED BY ITS SECRETARY. R3 BY ADV. SRI.M.M.MONAYE R3 BY ADV. SRI.M.K.GINASH R1 BY GOVERNMENT PLEADER SRI. G. GOPAKUMAR R2 BY ADV. SRI.K.R.SUNIL,SC,CO-OP.EMP.PENSION BOARD BY SRI.P.V.MOHANAN,SC,K.ST.CO.OP.EMP.PENSION BOARD THIS WRIT PETITION (CIVIL) HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 21-08-2015, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING: WP(C).No. 11978 of 2009 (N) -------------------------------------- ## **APPENDIX** ## PETITIONER'S EXHIBITS : - EXHIBIT P1 : COPY OF THE ORDER DATED 29.5.1982 OF THE JOINT REGISTRAR OF CO-OP SOCIETIES, ERNAKULAM. - EXHIBIT P2 : COPY OF THE ORDER DATED 10.11.1986 OF THE JOINT REGISTRAR OF CO-OP. SOCIETIES ERNAKULAM. - EXHIBIT P3 : COPY OF THE REPRESENTATION DATED 20.8.1988 SUBMITTED BY THE PETITIONER. - EXHIBIT P4 : COPY OF THE DECISION No. 619 DATED 12.8.2008 ALONG WITH THE COVERING LETTER DATED 25.8.2008 OF THE 3rD RESPONDENT TO THE 2[nd] RESPONDENT. - EXHIBIT P5 : COPY OF THE LETTER OF REJECTION DATED 5.9.2008 ISSUED BY THE 2[nd] RESPONDENT. - EXHIBIT P6 : COPY OF THE CIRCULAR No.2/2009 12.2.2009 OF THE 2[nd] RESPONDENT. - EXHIBIT P7 : COPY OF THE RESOLUTION No. 621 DATED 12.8.2008 OF THE COMMITTEE OF THE 3[rd] RESPONDENT. EXHIBIT P8 : ENGLISH TRANSLATION OF EXHIBIT P7. ## RESPONDENTS' EXHIBITS : NIL. // TRUE COPY // ## P.A. TO JUDGE DMR/- ## **C.R.** ## **DAMA SESHADRI NAIDU, J.** --------------------------------------- ## **W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009** ---------------------------------------- Dated this the 21[st] day of August, 2015 ## JUDGMENT The issue in the writ petition is whether the benefit of Provident Fund should be extended to an employee retroactively, i.e., beyond the date when she joined the then existing Contributory Provident Fund Scheme. 2. On 01.09.1981 the petitioner joined the service of the third respondent Society as a Secretary on a consolidated pay. In due course, she got her appointment approved with effect from 08.05.1981, through Exhibit P1 proceedings dated 29.05.1982. 3. Later, with a view to pursuing higher studies, the petitioner went on leave from 01.04.1986 to 20.03.1988 on an undertaking that she would rejoin her service in a lower cadre. Accordingly, after exhausting her sanctioned leave, the petitioner did rejoin the service on 21.03.1988 as a W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 2 Junior Clerk. 4. As the record bears out, the petitioner, having served the third respondent society in different capacities, eventually in 2014 retired as an Assistant Secretary after attaining the age of superannuation. When her pension claim was settled, the initial period of her service from 01.09.1981 to 21.03.1988 had not been included. Aggrieved, the petitioner submitted Exhibit P3 representation, in response to which the third respondent Society passed Exhibit P4 resolution accepting the petitioner’s claim. 5. Though the third respondent Society forwarded the Exhibit P4 resolution with a positive recommendation to include the petitioner’s initial period of service, the second respondent, the Pension Board, however, through Exhibit P5 Order rejected the claim. Under these circumstances, the petitioner has filed the present writ petition. 6. The learned counsel for the petitioner has submitted that in terms of Section 61 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies Act (the 'Act' for brevity), read with Rule 58 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies Rules (the 'Rules' for brevity), the third respondent Society has initially established the W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 3 Contributory Provident Fund. He has also submitted that in 1993 when the self-financing pension scheme was introduced, the third respondent society took advantage of it and joined the said scheme. As a result, all the existing employees, including the petitioner, have been extended the benefit of pension under the self-financing scheme. 7. The singular contention of the learned counsel for the petitioner is that the petitioner had been in service since 1981. She cannot, for whatever reason, be denied the benefit of having her service from 01.09.1981 to 21.03.1988 reckoned for the purpose of pension. The petitioner’s going on a sanctioned leave would not, according to the learned counsel, amount to any break in service. 8. On the other hand, the learned Standing Counsel for the second respondent Board has, in fact, not contradicted the factual position as presented by the learned counsel for the petitioner. He has, nevertheless, submitted that in terms of Clause 19 of Co-operative Societies Employees’ Pension Scheme, 1994, the qualifying service shall be reckoned from the date when the employee joined the Contributory Pension Fund Scheme. An employee’s actual date of joining the W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 4 service, contends the learned Standing Counsel, has nothing to do with the reckoning of the period for extending the pensionary benefit. 9. According to the learned Standing Counsel, the inspecting officer has found that the petitioner joined the then existing Contributory Provident Fund Scheme only from 21.03.1988. In other words, the petitioner is deemed to have joined the Contributory Provident Fund Scheme only from the date of her rejoining the service after availing herself of the sanctioned leave for educational purposes. In support of his submissions, the learned Standing Counsel has placed reliance on _**Purushothaman v. Kerala State Co-operative Employee's Pension Board**[1]_ . 10. Heard the learned counsel for the petitioner, the learned Standing Counsel for the Employees’ Pension Board, and the learned Government Pleader, as well as the learned counsel for the third respondent. 11. As has been rightly contended by the learned Standing Counsel for the second respondent Pension Board, there is no factual controversy; the issue, in fact, lies in a 1 2011 (3) KLT 250 W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 5 narrow compass. 12. The bone of contention is whether the petitioner is entitled to the benefit of pension under the Self-Financing Scheme retroactively from the date of her joining the service, i.e. from 01.09.1981, rather than from 21.03.1988, when she actually joined the Contributory Pension Scheme, the then existing scheme. 13. Since there is no break in service despite the petitioner’s going on leave, in the ordinary circumstances, the petitioner's service could have been reckoned from the date of her initial appointment. However, Clause 19 imposes a condition concerning the manner of reckoning the qualifying service. It is profitable to extract, to the extent relevant, Clause 19, which reads as follows: “19. Qualifying Service: - Qualifying service for granting pension under the Scheme shall be - (1)(a) in the case of an employee who was in the service of a society on the date of application of this Scheme to that society the length of service commencing from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund: [Provided that the qualifying service shall be limited to the period for which the employer's contribution towards the Provident Fund has been fully paid by the Society in respect of that employee. [In the case of part-time contingent employees, commission agents, employees not in the regular posts, but who were absorbed in regular service, qualifying service shall be reckoned by counting 50% of the parttime/other services.] W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 6 Provided further that where the employee was a subscriber to any pre-existing Provident Fund Scheme implemented in that society and contribution made thereon has been transferred to the Pension Fund, such period will also qualify for pension. …” 14. It is evident that if the petitioner had joined the then existing contributory pension scheme in 1981 itself, she would have been entitled to the benefit of pension even under self-financing scheme retroactively, for the leave cannot be treated as a break in service. The petitioner has, nevertheless, failed to demonstrate before the Court that she joined the contributory pension scheme at the very inception. On the other hand, the contention of the learned Standing Counsel is that the petitioner joined the Contributory Pension Fund only on 21.03.1988; that is, on her readmission to service as a Junior Clerk. It has, in fact, not been seriously controverted by the learned counsel for the petitioner. 15. The principal contention of the learned counsel for the petitioner, still, remains that the third respondent Society has approved the claim of the petitioner and passed a resolution. According to him, the second respondent ought to have abided by the recommendations. I am afraid the W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 7 ## said contention cannot be countenanced. 16. Clause 19 of the Scheme clearly mandates that the reckoning period of service for the benefit of a pension under the self-financing scheme shall be the date when the said person joined the Contributory Provident Fund Scheme, rather than his or her very entry into the service. This Court in _**Purushothaman**_ (supra) has held as follows: “Clause (1)(a) of paragraph 19 stipulates that in the case of an employee who was in the service of a society on the date of application of the Scheme to that society, the length of service commencing from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund shall be the qualifying service for the purpose of grant of pension. The first proviso however stipulates that the qualifying service shall be limited to the period for which the employer's contribution towards the provident fund has been fully paid by the society in respect of that employee. The Pension Scheme came into force with effect from 03.06.1993. The petitioners entered service in the second respondent bank long before that date. Therefore, in accordance with the stipulations contained in clause (1)(a) of paragraph 19 of the Pension Scheme, the length of service which the petitioners had commencing from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund alone can be treated as service qualifying for pension…” 17. In the light of the clear statutory mandate and also the binding judicial pronouncement of this Court referred to above, I do not see any merit in the case, and accordingly dismiss the writ petition as devoid of merit. No order as to costs. W.P.(c) No. 11978 of 2009 8 It is made clear that as regards the petitioner's claim for the admitted monthly pension under the self-financing scheme from 21.03.1988, she is, without a doubt, entitled. **DAMA SESHADRI NAIDU JUDGE** DMR/-