ARUN P.S. v. Ranganathan K.P., Vadivel, and The National Insurance Company Ltd.
Case Details & Bench
- Court
- High Court of Kerala
- Hon'ble Judges
- Ziyad Rahman A.A.
- Judgment Date
- 2024-03-14
- Court Decision / Holding
- This appeal is allowed; the award dated 25.03.2013 in OP(M.V) 2184/2005 is modified by granting an additional compensation of Rs. 55,420. The third respondent insurer shall deposit the total enhanced amount with interest at the rate ordered by the Tribunal, within three months. The delay of 50 days is condoned, with the rider that interest will not accrue for that period. The claimant shall furnish PAN, Aadhaar and bank details to enable deposit; if not furnished, deposit may be made by the insurer. The insurer retains the right to recover the enhanced amount from the second respondent. The judgment notes that the appeal is decided by a Single Judge (Hon’ble Mr. Justice Ziyad Rahman A.A.).
- Final Disposition
- Appeal allowed; enhanced compensation of Rs. 55,420; deposit of enhanced amount with interest within three months; delay condoned; insurer may recover the enhanced amount from the second respondent; claimant to furnish PAN/Aadhaar and bank details for deposit; insurer may deposit if details not furnished.
Parties to the Case
Appellants / Petitioners
- ARUN P.S.
Respondents
- Ranganathan K.P.
- V. Vadivel
- The National Insurance Company Ltd.
Legal Representation & Advocates
Counsels for Petitioners
- • Sri C Harikumar
- • Smt. Anuroopa
Counsels for Respondents
- • Smt. P.K. Santhamma
Case Synopsis & Summary
ARUN P.S., the appellant in MACA 1710/2013, challenged an award passed by the Motor Accidents Claims Tribunal, Thrissur in OP(M.V) 2184/2005 relating to a 18 May 2005 accident in which he was a pillion rider on a motorcycle that collided with a container lorry. The Tribunal held the third respondent insurer liable and, as owner and insurer of the lorry, directed payment with a right of recovery against the second respondent. The appellant contends that the compensation awarded by the Tribunal was unduly low in several heads and that the Tribunal erred in assessing income and disability. The High Court notes that the accident occurred in 2005 and that the Tribunal fixed the claimant’s monthly income at Rs. 3,000, a figure the appellant attacks in light of Ramachandrappa v. Manager (2011) 11 SCC 236 (reported as (2011) 13 SCC 236 in some references), which supports using Rs. 4,500 per month for a young employee in similar circumstances. The Court accepts Rs. 4,500 as a plausible monthly income for 2005 and upholds the 4% disability certified (Ext. A9) without reducing it for want of doctor examination evidence. Reassessment yields Rs. 38,880 for disability and loss of earning capacity (4,500 x 12 x 18 x 4/100). Additional awards for loss of earnings (Rs. 4,500), extra nourishment (Rs. 1,000), clothing (Rs. 1,000), pain and suffering (Rs. 12,000), and loss of amenities (Rs. 11,000) total Rs. 55,420. The appeal is allowed; the award is enhanced accordingly and the insurer’s obligation to deposit the enhanced amount within three months, with interest at the Tribunal rate, is specified. A delay of 50 days is condoned with a condition that interest does not accrue for that period. The claimant must furnish PAN, Aadhaar and bank details for deposit; the insurer may deposit if these details are not furnished. The insurer retains the right to recover the enhanced amount from the second respondent.
Legal Doctrines & Maxims
- Well settled principle that the percentage of disability certified by a competent doctor shall not be scaled down by the Tribunal in the absence of serious discrepancy.
- Relying on Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Co. Ltd., (2011) 13 SCC 236, the court may adopt a higher monthly income for compensation when direct evidence is lacking.
Submissions & Arguments
Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners
The appellant contends that the Tribunal erred in fixing monthly income at Rs. 3,000 and failed to reflect the earning capacity properly. Citing Ramachandrappa v. Manager, (2011) 13 SCC 236, the court should adopt Rs. 4,500 per month for a 2005 accident. The 4% disability (Ext. A9) should be accepted without reduction unless a serious discrepancy is shown. The Tribunal did not adequately compensate for non-pecuniary losses and loss of earning capacity, and failed to award amounts for inpatient treatment (23 days), nourishment, clothing, pain and suffering, and loss of amenities. The appellant urged that the insurer’s right to recover the enhanced amount from the second respondent be preserved and that a condonation of delay (50 days) should not negate the entitlement to interest on the enhanced portion. The relief sought is an outright enhancement of the award.
Contentions of Respondents
The respondents contend that the policy was valid and the insurer is liable to pay as per the Tribunal’s findings; negligence on the part of the lorry driver is established and the accident cannot be attributed to the rider; policy conditions were not violated. The Tribunal’s calculation is reasonable; there is no basis to enhance the compensation beyond what was awarded. The evidence does not justify adopting Rs. 4,500 per month in this case, and the heads of compensation already awarded are proper and in line with established jurisprudence.
Cited Precedents (1)
| Case Name | Citation | Treatment | Explanation |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ramachandrappa v. Manager, Royal Sundaram Alliance Insurance Company Ltd. | (2011) 13 SCC 236 | Positive | Used to justify accepting Rs. 4,500 as monthly income for a 2005 accident in absence of direct evidence. |
Diagnostic Tool
Does this judgment govern your specific facts?
Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against ARUN P.S. v. Ranganathan K.P., Vadivel, and The National Insurance Company Ltd. and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.
Extracted Judgment Text
Exact text extracted from official judgment records.