High Court of KeralaSingle JudgeDisposed of

A.MUHAMMED KUNJU v. PUTHIYAKAVU SERVICE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD & ORS

Case / Petition Number:WP(C).No. 5971 of 2014

Case Details & Bench

Court
High Court of Kerala
Hon'ble Judges
  • A.MUHAMED MUSTAQUE
Judgment Date
2016-11-18
Court Decision / Holding
Writ petition disposed of. The court held that, under Rule 19(1)(a), qualifying service must be reckoned from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund, and once the Pension Scheme-1994 was implemented, unilateral alteration of the joining date to an anterior date is impermissible. Consequently, the petitioner could not be granted full pension from 1 July 1973. However, the court directed the Pension Board to refund the excess contributions already collected from the petitioner within one month, and disposed of the petition with no costs.
Final Disposition
Disposed of

Parties to the Case

Appellants / Petitioners

  • A.MUHAMMED KUNJU, KACHERY AYYATH, K.S. PURAM P.O, KARUNGAPPALLY, KOLLAM

Respondents

  • The PUTHIYAKAVU SERVICE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD, represented by its Secretary, Karunagappally, Kollam-690544
  • The Kerala State Co-Operative Employees Pension Board, represented by its Secretary, Kala Nivas, Chinmaya Lane, Kunnumpuram, Thiruvananthapuram-695001
  • State of Kerala, represented by the Secretary, Co-operation (C) Department, Government Secretariat, Thiruvananthapuram-695001

Legal Representation & Advocates

Counsels for Petitioners

  • • SRI.V.G.ARUN
  • • SRI.T.R.HARIKUMAR
  • • SRI.JAIBY PAUL

Counsels for Respondents

  • • SRI.B.MOHANLAL
  • • SRI.K.R.SUNIL
  • • SRI.M.SASINDRAN
  • • GOVERNMENT PLEADER SMT POOJA SURENDRAN

Case Synopsis & Summary

This writ petition concerns the prescription of qualifying service for pension under the Kerala Co-operative Societies Self Financing Pension Scheme, 1994. The petitioner, A.MUHAMMED KUNJU, joined the service of the first respondent, The PuthiyaKavu Service Co‑operative Bank Ltd, on 26 January 1973 and retired on 28 February 2011. The Bank maintained a contributory provident fund under Section 61 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies Act, 1969, and the Pension Scheme-1994 was implemented with effect from 14 March 1995. Ext.P1 records that the first respondent registered three employees, including the petitioner, under the contributory fund with an anterior date of joining being altered to 1 February 1973 from 1 April 1984. The key issue is whether such alteration of the commencement date after the Pension Scheme’s introduction would change the permissible starting point for qualifying service under Rule 19(1)(a). The Rule provides that qualifying service is the length of service from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund, with various provisos regarding pre-existing funds, part-time service, probation, and other conditions. The court holds that, irrespective of the society’s date of joining the Pension Scheme, the length of service must be computed from the employee’s date of joining the Provident Fund and effectively as of the date of implementation (14.3.1995). Unilateral alteration to an anterior joining date post-implementation is impermissible, as statutes have overriding effect. The judgment cites Sukumaran N. v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board (2010 (4) KHC 859) to illustrate the principle that the relevant factor is the employer’s contribution. Consequently, the petition is disposed of: the court declines the relief of full pension from 1 July 1973, and directs the Pension Board to refund the excess amount collected from the petitioner within one month; the petition is disposed of with no costs.

Provisions of Law Cited

Kerala Co-operative Societies Act, 1969 - Section 61Kerala Co-operative Societies Self Financing Pension Scheme, 1994 - Rule 19(1)(a)

Legal Doctrines & Maxims

  • Overriding effect of statute

Submissions & Arguments

Contentions of Appellants / Petitioners

The petitioner argues that the qualifying service under Pension Scheme-1994 must be computed from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund. Altering the joining date after the Scheme’s implementation changes the statutory starting point and violates the overriding provisions of the Scheme. The petitioner seeks recognition of longer service to qualify for pension, including relief attempted from 1 July 1973; he relies on Rule 19(1)(a) and the pre-existing provident fund arrangements.

Contentions of Respondents

The respondents contend that Rule 19(1)(a) fixes the qualifying service from the date the employee joined the Contributory Provident Fund (and as applicable on the date of implementation of the Pension Scheme). They emphasize that the Pension Scheme’s operation from 14 March 1995 fixes the starting point for computation and that unilateral retroactive changes to joining dates are impermissible, as evidenced by the governing authorities and the Sukumaran N. decision cited. They rely on the statutory framework to deny the relief sought and to direct refunds of any excess contributions where applicable.

Cited Precedents (1)

Case NameCitationTreatmentExplanation
Sukumaran N. v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board, Trivandrum & Anr.2010 (4) KHC 859PositiveReferenced to underscore that the qualifying service is determined by the employee's contributions to the provident fund and that unilateral backward adjustments are not allowed; supports the statutory override principle.

Diagnostic Tool

Beta

Does this judgment govern your specific facts?

Don't risk relying on a distinguishable precedent. Enter your facts or proposition below. We will test it against A.MUHAMMED KUNJU v. PUTHIYAKAVU SERVICE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD & ORS and instantly map out authorities that support, challenge, or govern your position.

Extracted Judgment Text

Exact text extracted from official judgment records.

## **IN THE HIGH COURT OF KERALA AT ERNAKULAM** ## **PRESENT:** **THE HONOURABLE MR. JUSTICE A.MUHAMED MUSTAQUE** **FRIDAY, THE 18TH DAY OF NOVEMBER 2016/27TH KARTHIKA, 1938** **WP(C).No. 5971 of 2014 (V) ---------------------------** **PETITIONER:** - **-----------** **A.MUHAMMED KUNJU, KACHERY AYYATH, K.S. PURAM.P.O, KARUNGAPPALLY, KOLLAM.** **BY ADVS.SRI.V.G.ARUN SRI.T.R.HARIKUMAR SRI.JAIBY PAUL** **RESPONDENT(S):** - **--------------** **1. THE PUTHIYAKAVU SERVICE CO-OPERATIVE BANK LTD, NO. 1240, REPRESENTED BY ITS SECRETARY, K.S. PURAM, KARUNAGAPPALLY, KOLLAM-690544.** **2. THE KERALA STATE CO-OPERATIVE EMPLOYEES PENSION BOARD, REPRESENTED BY ITS SECRETARY, P.B. NO. 85, KALA NIVAS, CHINMAYA LANE, KUNNUMPURAM, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM-695001.** **3. STATE OF KERALA, REPRESENTED BY THE SECRETARY, CO-OPERATION,(C) DEPARTMENT, GOVERNMENT SECRETARIAT, THIRUVANANTHAPURAM-695001.** **R1 BY ADV. SRI.B.MOHANLAL R2 BY ADVS. SRI.K.R.SUNIL,SC SRI.M.SASINDRAN, SC R3 BY GOVERNMENT PLEADER SMT POOJA SURENDRAN** **THIS WRIT PETITION (CIVIL) HAVING BEEN FINALLY HEARD ON 18-11-2016, THE COURT ON THE SAME DAY DELIVERED THE FOLLOWING:** **K.V.** ## **WP(C).No. 5971 of 2014 (V)** ## **---------------------------** ## **APPENDIX** ## **PETITIONER(S)' EXHIBITS** - **-----------------------** - **P1. COPY OF THE REQUISITION FOR REGISTRATION DATED 21-7-1995 SUBMITTED BY THE FIRST RESPONDENT.** - **P2. COPY OF THE COMMUNICATION NO. PB/OR-1/95-96 20 DATED 28-7-1995 ISSUED BY THE 2ND RESPONDENT.** - **P3. COPY OF THE PAY-IN-SLIP NO.1 DATED 5-12-1995 EVIDENCING THE REMITTANCE CO CONTRIBUTION TO THE 2ND RESPONDENT.** - **P4. COPY OF THE PAY-IN SLIP NO.2 DATED 5-12-1995 EVIDENCING THE REMITTANCE CO CONTRIBUTION TO THE 2ND RESPONDENT** - **P5. COPY OF THE DEMAND NOTICE NO. P1 9257/10 DATED 19-2-2011 ALONG WITH ANNEXURES ISSUED BY THE 2ND RESPONDENT.** - **P6. COPY OF THE PAY-IN-SLIP EVIDENCING THE REMITTANCE OF CONTRIBUTION TO THE 2ND RESPONDENT DATED 23-2-2011.** - **P7. COPY OF THE STATEMENT FOR THE REMITTANCE OF PENSION FUND CONTRIBUTION OF THE 1ST RESPONDENT DATED 23-2-2011.** - **P8. COPY OF THE PENSION PAYMENT ORDER NO. PB PP.668/KLM DATED 24-10-2011 ISSUED BY THE 2ND RESPONDENT.** - **P9. COPY OF THE REPRESENTATION FILED BY THE PETITIONER BEFORE THE 2ND RESPONDENT DATED 11-11-11.** - **P10. COPY OF THE LETTER NO. PB/P1/1984/KLM DATED 15-12-11 ISSUED BY THE 2ND RESPONDENT.** - **P11. COPY OF THE LETTER NO. PB/PPO/668/KLM 2-4-12 ISSUED BY THE 2ND RESPONDENT.** - **P12. COPY OF THE GO (ORD) NO. 389/2013/CO-OP DATED 19-6-2013.** **RESPONDENT(S)' EXHIBITS NIL** **-----------------------** **/TRUE COPY/** **P.A.TO JUDGE** **K.V.** **A.MUHAMED MUSTAQUE, J.** ========================= ## **W.P.(C).No.5971/2014** ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ Dated this the 18[th] day of November, 2016 ## **J U D G M E N T** The short issue in this writ petition arises in the context of prescription of qualifying service under the Kerala Co-operative Societies Self Financing Pension Scheme, 1994 (hereinafter referred to as the “Pension Scheme-1994”). 2. The petitioner joined the service of the first respondent/Society on 26.1.1973 and he retired on 28.2.2011. The Society had a contributory provident fund constituted in terms of Section 61 of the Kerala Co-operative Societies Act, 1969. The petitioner joined the contributory provident fund with effect from 1.4.1984. The Pension Scheme-1994 was implemented with effect from 14.3.1995. The first respondent/Society by Ext.P1 dated 21.7.1995 registered three employees including the petitioner under the contributory provident fund with an anterior date. The date of ## **`W.P.(C).No.5971/2014`** ## **-:2:-** joining the Pension Scheme by the petitioner was thus altered to 1.2.1973 from 1.4.1984. The first respondent Society joined the Pension Scheme-1994 with effect from 28.7.1995. 3. The question is whether alteration of commencement of date of joining the contributory provident fund after the implementation of Pension Scheme-1994 would change the commencement of date of joining contributory fund as referred under Rule 19(1)(a) of Pension Scheme-1994. Rule 19(1)(a) provides as follows: **“19. Qualifying Service:-** Qualifying service for granting pension under the Scheme shall be- (1)(a) in the case of an employee who was in the service of a society on the date of application of this Scheme to that society the length of service commencing from the date of joining the Contributory Provident Fund: Provided that the qualifying service shall be limited to the period for which the employer's contribution towards the Provident Fund has been fully paid by the Society in respect of that employee. In the case of part-time contingent employees, commission agents, employees ## **`W.P.(C).No.5971/2014`** ## **-:3:-** not in the regular posts, but who were absorbed in regular service, qualifying service shall be reckoned by counting 50% of the part-time/other services. Provided further that where the was a employee subscriber to any pre-existing Provident Fund Scheme implemented in that Society and contribution made thereon has been transferred to the Pension Fund, such period will also qualify for pension. Provided also that an employee who was on probation and on whose behalf the Contributory Provident Fund contribution has not been remitted at the time of implementation of the scheme, such period of probation shall also qualify for pension, if proportionate employers' contribution together with interest thereon has been credited to the Pension Fund: Provided also that in the case of an employee who was in the service of a society coming under the purview of functional Registrars as on the date of application of this Scheme to that society, the length of service shall commence from the date from which the society resolves to contribute the amount towards Pension Fund in respect of each of the employees, at the time of enrolment in the Pension Scheme.” ## **`W.P.(C).No.5971/2014`** ## **-:4:-** Going by the language of Rule 19(1)(a), irrespective of the date of joining of the Society in the Pension Scheme-1994, the length of service of an employee would be reckoned from the date of the employee joining the contributory fund. Thus, the moment the scheme was implemented and the moment the Society joined the scheme, the length of service of the petitioner would be reckoned based on the status of the length of service of the petitioner as on 14.3.1995, the date on which the Pension Scheme-1995 was implemented. After implementation of the Pension Scheme-1994, any employee or any employer cannot unilaterally change the commencement of length of service under the Pension Scheme-1994 to an anterior date by altering joining date of contributory fund, as this would militate statutory provision. The statute would have an overriding effect and would prevail all actions of the individual. Once the statute fixes a date, fixing the date of joining the contributory fund as the date of joining Pension Scheme-1994, that date comes into force when the Pension Scheme-1994 is implemented. In this case it is clear that the date of joining has been altered to an anterior ## **`W.P.(C).No.5971/2014`** ## **-:5:-** date after the implementation of the Pension Scheme-1994. Therefore, parties cannot by their own act, obliterate statutory provision. In fact, this issue is covered against the petitioner in **Sukumaran N. v. Kerala State Co-operative Employees Pension Board, Trivandrum & Anr. [2010 (4) KHC 859]** wherein it was held as follows: “13. As stated earlier, the relevant factor is what is the employers' contribution standing to the credit of the employee, for the purpose of remitting the same to the pension fund. For the purpose of computing the qualifying service, the length of service commencing from the date of joining the contributory provident fund is the relevant factor. If so, a unilateral act on the part of the employee paying the arrears of employees' contribution from 1.7.1974 would not compel the employer to pay the employers' contribution retrospectively, for the period for which the employee was not a member of the contributory provident fund.” However, it is seen that the petitioner remitted the entire contribution from 1973 onwards. In appeal, the Government ordered refund of such excess amount paid by the petitioner. Accordingly, ## **`W.P.(C).No.5971/2014`** ## **-:6:-** declining relief of full pension from 1.7.1973, there shall be a direction to the Pension Board to refund excess amount collected from the petitioner within one month. The writ petition is disposed of as above. No costs. Sd/- ## **A.MUHAMED MUSTAQUE, JUDGE** ms